We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, room size and staff.”
Review of Hotel de l'Horloge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de l'Horloge
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We arrived by train and a bus ride later, into town, it was a short walk down the main road to get to the hotel. Lovely staff, good sized twin room and close to everything we wanted to see. No problems with noise. Good buffet breakfast with quite a selection to choose from - great start to a day of sight-seeing. We only had one night and I wish we had longer!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranz-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Rm. 411 while visiting Avignon, and it was superb. With the windows closed, it was very quiet even tho it fronts right on Place de l'Horloge above several sidewalk cafes. This hotel is within walking distance of all the sights within the Old City area, just 1 minute from the Palace of the Popes & a 5 min. walk to Pont St. Benezet. An excellent & complete breakfast (hot & cold) is available in their little restaurant for the same price you would pay at any of the nearby cafes, so don't bother looking beyond their doors for your breakfasts unless you want fried eggs or pancakes. Our superior room with city view was roomy enough to do what we wanted with enough closet space for a 3-day stay. The bathroom is also small, but roomy enough to do what one has to do, altho the shower is a handheld one while having to sit or stand in a long tub. Heat & A/C worked very well & we had absolutely no complaints about anything. The desk clerks are quite friendly & helpful with whatever you need. If arriving by private auto, it gets a little tricky when Rue de la Republique is closed for the use of only pedestrian traffic. If that's how you plan to arrive, drive up to the barricades & tell the attendant you are a hotel guest and they will open the barricades for you to drive directly up to Place de l'Horloge & park in front of the hotel entrance. (We didn't figure this out until our third go-around trying to access the correct one-way street.) We certainly plan to return to this part of Provence someday, and when we do, we will book a longer stay at this hotel. We found it completely delightful even down to a loaner umbrella for the morning we had some early rain showers. Bed is also very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

As others mention, this hotel has a fantastic location and is in a lovely historic building. Just outside the front door is the main square with lots of cafes and bars. However, we felt this place wasn't quite up to the reviews on TA mainly due to noise. We were on the first floor and the bar under the hotel was playing VERY loud music until about 3 in the morning on both Fri and Sat nights. The other issues were small things that would be easily fixed - a hook for the showerhead, and a slightly bigger bed (small double not great). However the staff were lovely and they did move the members of our party who were the lightest sleepers away from the noise. Breakfast was excellent. We would stay here again but would ask for a room further up than the first floor....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0ssp0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We drove to the hotel situated in the middle of the pedestrian zone without any problem and parked afterwards outside the walls, below the Palais des Papes, with an pedestrian exit directly on the Place du Palais - we did not use the car for two days.
This hotel has an elevator, but as we got a room on a tower we had to take the stairs - the luggage was brought to our room by the staff. The view was not so interesting, it looked in the wrong direction, but the bathroom was well appointed and the hotel has a very good - and expensive - breakfast. There are restaurants all around on the Place, so if you want, you can have it much cheaper outside your hotel. It is an hotel worth reccomending.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjalmar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for six nights in late September early October (during the recent heatwave!) and used it as our base for day trips. This is one of the nicest 3-star hotels we've stayed at. We booked well in advance, and sent an email requesting the terrace room overlooking the Palais des Papes. They responded immediately, and we were given said room. The room itself was large, nicely decorated in beige and brown. Bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Our terrace was magnificent. On one level is a secluded outdoor shower, perfect given the heatwave. A few steps up to the actual terrace (which was almost as big as the room!) and wicker furniture, moon lights and a view to the left of the Palais des Papes, straight ahead Place de l'Horloge and to the right the rooftops of Avignon. The actual clock tower is directly to the left as well, which was a lovely view. We spent many happy evenings after dinner relaxing on our terrace with a glass of wine enjoying the spectacular surroundings. The breakfast room was bright and clean, we ate in the glassed-in veranda area. Breakfast choices were good, baguettes, croissants, eggs, various meats, yogurts, tomatoes, cheeses, etc. We arranged our own day trips, so I can't speak to the concierge side of things, but the front desk staff were always friendly and helpful when we dealt with them. We had a wonderful time in the region, we would return and we would stay here (preferably in this room!) again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ice_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

For sighseeing, this hotel is in a great location. Rooms are nicely decorated and welcoming. Only downside, the hotel is really hard to drive to as it is in a pedestrian area - GPS is useless because which roads are pedestrian-only change daily. Would be best to call the hotel and ask for specific directions or head to a parking garage and walk.
A very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We spent 4 lovely nights at this lovely quaint hotel in the heart of Avignon. Its right on Place deHorlodge near all the cafes, and activity, but is also nice and quiet at night as the room has sound proof windows. Our room was clean, small, simple decor with big white comforters and a nice bathroom with tub and ( hand held ) shower.

Breakfast was offered in the next building.You just walk out the front door to the left and up the stairs to a lovely windowed front room. Fresh fruits, cheeses, cereals, eggs, and french rolls. not bad!

We were close to all attractions, a short walk to the Plais des Papes square, Rocher des Dom park( just beautiful). Don;t miss the cute creperie on the square, very tiny place near the outside postcard stands.. a nice french lady makes fabulous sugar crepes!!!

A wondwerful stay and at provence hotel!

Room Tip: I think they will all be acceptable. they have a nice size lift/elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmck518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#12 of 68 in Avignon
917 reviews
3.5 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Horloge

Address: Entree 1 1 rue Felicien David | Place de l'Horloge, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: $90 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Horloge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Hotel de l'Horloge is a 4-star hotel with character. This beautiful 19th century stone building is in a prime location, with its doors opening directly onto the Place de l'Horloge in Avignon. From this base in the city's historic and touristic centre, you'll be able to enjoy an unforgettable break and the gentle elegance of the various rooms. Avignon and its rich and varied heritage awaits you: its legendary Bridge from where you'll be able to admire the panorama of the medieval town dominated by the Pope's Palace, and also the squares, museums, magnificent town houses, antique shops and galleries that will make your stay even more memorable. Also suitable for a business trip, the Hotel de l'Horloge offers One-Night Stopovers as well as a light, well-equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Horloge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Horloge Hotel
Hotel De l Horloge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing