We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
356
82
22
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
356
82
22
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef's table cooking class wine cellar cooking school the palais des papes papal palace wonderful hotel historic building our honeymoon beautiful room the location is perfect breakfast room south of france the main square provence century wallpaper
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 491 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019

This beautiful old building has original wood floors and fabric on the walls, something I have seen only in Europe. Our small entrance hall had the fabric pleated, unusual. The colors were very typical of provence, but a bit more formal than is usually seen. Breakfast is served in a more typical provincial room, and was lovely. Location excellent too, just next to the palace of the pope, and a bit away from the confusion of the main square and main street.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A5823HYkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

My husband and I recently stayed at La Mirande and were extremely impressed with the ambiance of the hotel itself, our room and the restaurant. They also have an elevator, which made a huge difference for us.The quality of those things was more than matched by the attentiveness of the staff. It is 2 blocks from the Place de L'Horloge, the center of Old Town Avignon, and across the street from the Palace des Papes, which makes it a perfect location from which to take delightful walking tours. They even offered to arrange transportation for us from the train station, which helped immensely. We can't say enough nice things about our experience at La Mirande, and highly recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Bunnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

This is a beautifully restored building. The guests rooms, lobby, breakfast room, salon and bar area are comfortable and inviting. When you are in La Mirande, you are in Provence. We had thought that this would be an old, stuffy hotel. Instead we found a vibrant authentically decorated piece of history.

Room tip: Room 33 is light and airy!
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

This is definitely not a 5 start hotel. The hotel is generally old and in bad condition.
The bedding is old, washed out and hard. Wallpaper is falling of the walls in several parts of the hotel. Breakfast area is charming, but again I found a hair in my scrambled eggs.

But what was the worst thing about this hotel was the service. We checked in and was taken to our room, while a hotel staff took our car to drive to the garage. The room was in poor condition, linoleum on the floor, old carpets covering parts of it. Again the wallpaper thing. We went down to the reception asking if it was possible to upgrade to another room. The receptionist seemed personally offended and said we had already been given an upgrade (since we were traveling for our honeymoon) and couldn’t understand why we weren’t happy with it. I asked what kind of room we were given, and it was the same as we booked, but it was “a nice version of that room”. This is not what I call an upgrade. Luckily the man who had taken care of our car came back, and was kind enough to show us another room. Sadly, the standard was not better, so we stayed in our original room. After the episode, the lady in the reception had a grumpy attitude towards us the rest of our stay. For 500 eur + per night, definitely not worth it.

Only positive thing about this hotel is the Chefs table they offer in the basement of the hotel. A dinner cooked in front of you, in a kitchen from the 1800. A unique experience and highly recommended! And even better, you don’t need to stay at the hotel to join the dinner!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank CharlotteYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019

There are a few hotels where the owners care more about showing that they have created a beautiful, elegant first class place to stay than making a profit. This is one of those. The common spaces are warm and well furnitured. The rooms and bathrooms are extremely comfortable, charmng and up-to date. The restaurant serves excellent food. It, too, is elegant. We had the terrific opportunity to be there New Year's Eve: our good luck. The food was superb, well served, even with a large crowd, and the hotel had booked a fun band. Those who work there are very helpful. And, it's next to the Papal Palace. We also were there when they had their special small dinner in the second kitchen - great fun.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews