We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mirande Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bristol Hotel(Avignon)
$138
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel de l'Horloge(Avignon)
$106
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$126
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$180
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa(Le Pontet)
$231
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$277
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Le Magnan Hotel(Avignon)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$268
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
323
77
21
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
77
21
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef's tablecooking classpope's palacecooking schoolwine cellarbasement kitchenthe palais des papespublic roomsgourmet restauranthistoric buildingwonderful hoteloverlooking the gardenold world charmfavorite hotelbedroom and bathroomour honeymoonluxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 450 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

La Mirande deserves six stars out of five. Except for the somewhat harsh towels, this hotel excels in every respect. It has the best location in Avignon, facing the back of the Papal Palace, the center of Avignon's historic universe. It has the best staff I have met in a hotel. They spoke perfect English, without a trace of an accent. They were always cheerful and helpful, anticipating one's needs. We stayed there 6 nights, so they were able to notice our pattern of leaving the room or asking for our car. When we asked for restaurant recommendations, they gave us options which met our desires rather than suggesting their favorites. We did dine at the hotel on our first night, and we loved it, but we were looking for variety as well on the other nights.

We booked the cheaper of the two room types we were offered at 450 euros per night. The room was exquisite, absolutely huge for a room in medieval Europe. The air conditioning was efficient and cooled the room without being noisy or blowing on the bed. The bathroom was large with two sinks and a separate rainhead shower and bath. Two luggage racks were provided (they anticipated that two people would be staying in the double room!) and the minibar was stocked daily with free bottled water, a real pleasure for any tourist. Also, there was a central control bedside that allowed all the lighting in the room to be raised or lowered as desired. The free Wi-Fi worked continuously and flawlessly.
For an additional 15 euros, breakfast was provided for 2 people, as part of the hotel's bed and breakfast plan, in a lovely high-ceilinged room or out on the flower-decked patio. The breakfast is a buffet, but one can also order eggs cooked to order ay no extra cost. There is a tempting assortment of every conceivable breakfast food. My favorite was the poppy seed cake. The staff noticed that I liked it day after day, and as I was checking out of the hotel, the young breakfast server came out to the Reception area with a surprise piece of the cake wrapped up and ready for our drive to Aix. What a nice gesture. What a great staff. What a great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for these very nice and exhaustive comments.
Our team always aims to make our guests feel at home at La Mirande. Hearing that we have been that successful, is always for us a great pleasure.
We now know that our "poppy seed cake" will be your Avignon proustian "Madeleine" and we are looking forward to sharing another piece of it with you in the next future.

Warmst regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I love this Hotel! It is located in the best location of Avignon.The decoration is very French, cozy and chic.The service was grat. The room has a terrace where we could see all the old roofs of town and the Pope Palace... I love it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank juliana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Cara Senhora Deputada,

thank you very much for having taken the time to write on your stay at La Mirande.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the time spent with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the next future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late and had a wonderful stay only for one night. We were passing through from Paris and ended up here. Great choice we ended up with the chef telling us stories of all his guests that have sat at this table very entertaining. Breakfast in the garden was a highlight. So close to all the sights would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear guests,

we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed this short stay at La Mirande and that the dinner you shared with our chef at the guest table suited your expectation.
Jean-Claude Altmayer is not only a local figure ; as you said, he also had the opportunity to cook for very famous people from the politics and the show business. It is always a nice experience (and great fun) to listen to his stories.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again, would you be traveling again to Avignon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

despite attractive hotel images, the room was very small, very dark. Just one window facing the wall. nice interiors of the hotel but only outside the room. great location. Unfriendly reception service: rude, in our opinion, lady at the front desk. manager hotel, francis lacoste, with whom we were talking about room size and lack of windows said the hotel is always right and was not friendly, of course after we paid for the room and extras.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ravau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Sir,

thank you for the time taken to write on your stay at La Mirande.
We are sorry to hear that our property did not suit your expectation. The room you were staying in (room 23) is facing a wall, that is true... But it is not just a wall, as you were overlooking the Pope's Palace, the architectural highlight of Avignon, part of the Unesco Mondial Heritage.
You stayed for several nights at the hotel. When you left the hotel and informed us about your concerns, Mr Lacoste told you that every room of our property is different (we are located in an historical monument). We would have been more than happy to offer you another room if you would have told us before, that you were not happy with the one you booked.
The satisfaction of our guests is our aim and we would be very pleased to welcome you again and ensure your complete trust.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very nice location right behind the Palace Des Papes. It really is like staying in a museum. Our room was smallish but had a large bathroom and also a cosy balcony with a view of the rooftops of Avignon. A difficult place to drive to so I would recommend taking a cab (the streets in the old city are extremely narrow). The main floor rooms and restaurant are really nice. The breakfast buffet was very nice -- although the staff seemed a little overwhelmed at the number of people they were trying to serve at breakfast time. Front desk and all staff provided a high level of professional service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RozennLeGoff, Responsable commercial at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear guests,

thank you very much for these nice comments. It is always a great pleasure for us to get a feedback on the quality of our services and we are very happy to read that you will keep your stay by us in good memories.

Warmst regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews