We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of La Mirande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mirande Hotel
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Once you master the narrow roads of historic downtown of Avignon, you arrive in this little gem of the city. Very good location just steps from the historic part of town. Beautiful lobby, bar and restaurant. Rooms are nice. I wouldn't call them spectacular but they are comfy. Decor is traditional French and not exactly my favorite but ok. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast service was mediocre and food too. Service otherwise was great. I really enjoyed the bar and the proximity to downtown. Would come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiatraveler1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    71
    18
    16
    8
See reviews for
57
224
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Quite, stylish hotel right in the old town of Avignon. Immediately across a narrow street from the Palace des Popes. Perfect location for walking old town. For a vacation highlight attend the famous cooking school in the hotel's restaurant. Pay a little more and book the larger room category.

Room Tip: Book the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 418billn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We loved this hotel for many of the reasons stated in other reviews. I would also like to add that the staff was very helpful and friendly without being over the top or intrusive. We were worried about the decor being too "tuttie fruttie" for our taste, but it worked and did not seem over the top either. And the view from our room window of the pope's palace... Lets just say I took way too many photos of that view! Driving in Avignon and to the hotel was a challenge, especially the first time we went through the ballustrades, but once you get the hang of it, it was no problem. If you are a runner or walker, it is a quick jaunt through the old city walls to a path alongside the river. For a longer quieter walk/run, cross the river on the right side of the bridge and go down a flight of steps to a really nice river trail on the quiet island on the other side. Great to get some open space and fresh air, not to mention the killer view of the city from the other side.

Room Tip: Go for the view of the Popes Palace if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibiscus6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and another couple spent three nights here during a sixteen day tour of France, Germany, and Switzerland. This hotel was our favorite. Service was excellent but not obtrusive, the bar was a favorite, and our room, overlooking the Pope's palace was wonderful. The location in town cannot be better, and our meal at the hotel restaurant was the best of many Michelin starred dinners that we had. The concierge arranged for a driver, Cedric, who took us to Chateauneuf du Pape for the day. The front desk then watched over our wine after we left until our shipper picked it up! We only regret that we didn't arrange for the Chefs Wednesday dinner in the basement. That is for next time, hopefully soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heydoc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while traveling through Provence for our honeymoon. We took the train down from Paris and it took about 10 minutes to get to the hotel by taxi from the TGV station. We arrived late in the evening and unfortunately the hotel restaurant was closed on a Tuesday night, but the hotel staff gave us some great recommendations for dinner in town. Our room was beautiful and peaceful. We had a nice terrace with a great view of the Pope's Palace. We had a great time sitting out there for hours with some nice local wine and cheese. We enjoyed some drinks in the lovely lobby bar area. The whole feel of the hotel was very warm and comforting. I wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is not only beautiful, but central to everything in Avignon. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for anything. The only negative was that the restaurant was closed on both days of our stay (closed every Tuesday and Wednesday). If we had known this in advance, we probably would have shifted the dates of our visit so we could have experienced a dinner there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here 2nights. Enjoyed everything. Room was spacious, beautiful, clean. Restaurant was very good, breakfast and dinner. Great customer service, and very helpful staff. Incredible nighttime views of the Popes Palace. Loved the bar and library/reading room. Very nice place to relax after dinner. Definitely, would stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TabbieKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

this is a beautiful upscale hotel in a great location. we had some plumbing problems with two toilet repairs in two days and a shower that was difficult to adjust to the right temperature. on checkout i asked for a taxi two hours in advance. on arrival i saw no meter and asked and the driver said he was a private car. i went to the front desk and was told this was a taxi and the price was "normal". on arrival to the TGV station i asked at the taxi office and another taxi driver and found the "normal" price was 40 % lower than what i paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#8 of 69 in Avignon
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.5 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#15 of 69 in Avignon
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirande Hotel

Property: La Mirande Hotel
Address: 4 Place de l Amirande, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#9 Family Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mirande Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in La Mirande is an invitation to travel through the exquisite world of decorative art. Located right in the historical city center of Avignon at the foot of the Popes' Palace, it accommodates a sophisticated décor, evoking an 18th century atmosphere and the sedate style of life belonging to times of old. The charm is extended to the 26 rooms with their painted panelling, drapes, parquet floors and traditional flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mirande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirande Avignon
Hotel La Mirande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing