We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of La Mirande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Mirande Hotel
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hands down - one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The rooms were gorgeous and the bathrooms the ultimate in comfort - from the huge tub with bath oils to the amazing shower. The front desk was incredibly helpful - went out of their way and arranged a last minute driver through the wine region. The only downer was the chefs dinner - for 86 euros I was certainly expecting a great deal more...maybe I was spoiled from so many excellent restaurants, but it didn't seem like you got very much for your money (dessert was roasted figs w/ whipped cream - nothing special).

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank CoalMine_Canary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 415 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stayed at the hotel a week during the new year of 2011-2012. we booked one of the apartments, it was the one that is one flight up and is in a separate building from the hotel.
even though this was an apartment the service was like a 5 star hotel, when checking in our car was parked for us and luggage was brought to the room. you could order room service, there was maid service daily, they even cleaned the dishes you had used in your kitchen and left fresh flowers, which seemed always to be perfectly timed after we had gone out for an excursion and was always done before we returned, these are small things that make a stay at a hotel special.
the interior of the apartment was beautiful Provençal, very cosy and personal. the hotels lobby, restaurant and common areas are all very cosy and nicely done. restaurant is very nice in the evening, with a fireplace.
we travel with our dog and he was allowed to dine with us in the restaurant, even on new years eve, and this is a michelin star restaurant, there was also an other dog, and it worked fine.
the service in the hotel and restaurant was very friendly and helpful.
this is place we will return to for sure. it is everything you expect of a luxury hotel in Provence.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orwellthemaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is expensive but is worth the price. Everything is perfect, beginning with the warm and professional welcome by reception staff, nicely furnished rooms with practical amenities, deluxe breakfast and beautiful patio to enjoy it. Perfectly restored building located right next to the palace of popes. Staff willing to arrange anything. Dont forget to book a dinner in the hotel restaurant, it is delicious. A very good wine offer for demanding customers. La Mirande is a perfectly managed and enjoyable hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 10, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

We we pleased to read your comments regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your brief time at La Mirande and your kind responses came as wonderful feedback to us and all the staff. Praise is as important as criticism when it comes to knowing how to improve the Hotel, whether it be general or more specific and it is gratifying to see from your comments that we are on the right track.

In the hope of welcoming you back to La Mirande on a future occasion, we thank you again for your kind comments and for having stayed with us this year.

Yours sincerely,

F. Lacoste
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

La Mirande is a very special luxury hotel. With only 26 rooms, staying at La Mirande is like staying in someone's very well-appointed and eminently elegant private home. Which just happens to be across the little cobblestone street from the Palais du Papes. This is a hotel that does not need the hype - it is about understated chic. Its your thing, or its not. La Mirande may not be for everyone, but for those extremely discriminating travelers who are looking for a rich yet comfortable, singular hotel experience that focuses on detail, tranquility and good taste, there is nothing that comes remotely close in Avignon. I concur with a previous review that the rooms on the higher floors are ideal. Room 26 on the top floor (pretty sure) was like a very well done little garrett with windows overlooking the glorious garden and restaurant, along with the Palais du Papes. Each room is a different design palate and color scheme, but all are done in a very traditional theme, with gorgeous silk wallpaper that is often echoed into the bedspreads, drapes and upholstery. The bathrooms are all double sinks and ceramic tile or marble floors. The public spaces are to die. From the central courtyard that looks like it came from a movie set, with the kilim draped on the long table and great big bowls of fruit and decorations - where afternoon tea is de rigeur - to any of the salons off the courtyard. We loved the small bar with so much character and detail and the adjoining salon with its bright striped walls and low chairs and divans. And of course, the garden is spectacular with several areas in which to dine and enjoy the sunny afternoons or warm evenings. Possibly my favorite space, though, was the kitchen where the cooking lessons and chef's table take place. This was intimate, traditional and so well done - it felt timeless - with such character anyone could imagine sitting at the expansive kitchen table and watching a chef, who is right next to you - prepare a fantastic dinner. We did not eat in the restaurant, but I was told by a friend from Avignon that it is the hands down best restaurant in town. Quel surprise!

Room Tip: My favorite was room 26, which was on a top floor and more of a little garrett with lots of light an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Battered Orange S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOBIS, Resident Manager at La Mirande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind feedback you posted after having experienced our house.

We attach great importance to what our clients tell us, in the constant hope of ever-improving the service and quality on offer at La Mirande. Your kind responses are gratyfing us and are sharing with all the team.

It will be a great honor to welcoming you back to La Mirande on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

F. Lacoste
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

When I stepped in the hotel, I was astonished if such a hotel exists in the touristic center of Avignon. What an elegant and discreet Hotel. The receptionist (a beautiful lady) welcomed me. I was lead to my room on the second floor. Not a large room but sufficient for me since I was alone. I had a terrace almost as big as my room overlooking the Palace. I had all the comfort I needed. ( I am 81 years, and been traveling all around the world). When I got to the lobby there was a gentleman ( I think his name is Mr. François), hewas as hospitable as the lady. The restaurant was full, but they led to a nice table. The meal was excellent. I had to go to my room to rest. The second day was the same treatment. Everything was perfect except for the price.

Room Tip: Any room on the highest floor, especially those facing the Pope's Palace. Although my room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The appeal of La Mirandel is apparent as soon as you see its facade, that of a supremely elegant, honey-coloured 18th century mansion with smiling faces carved into each window lintel. A warm welcome at the reception that continued the length of our four day stay. I had requested, and was given, a top floor, corner bedroom overlooking the garden with distant views of the Luberon range; it could not have been more satisfying. The hotel's decor is exquisite and oh so French. You really do feel you are staying in the home of a Provence aristocrat, and very lucky to do so. We dined twice in the elegant restaurant and send a special nod of appreciation to the gracious young woman, who along with her husband the chef, who made sure each meal surpassed our expectations. The freshness of the locally sourced produce was simply amazing. This hotel is a unique work of art and it reflects the devotion of its owners to assuring their guests an unforgettable stay in what feels more like a home than a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivingWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is almost perfection.
Avignon is an absolute gem of a city, and this hotel is the perfect spot to explore from.
Everything about this hotel is elegant and charming from the staff to the tastefully appointed rooms and comfortable beds.

Even the tv in the room is masked by a mirror so you are never pulled out of the classical charm of the decor. The views of the Palais des Papes next door adds to the atmosphere. (we had room 33 which was perfect)

The breakfast was great. I can't speak to dinner as we went out every night since we were there on a night they were sold out and two nights they were closed, but the front desk made wonderful recommendations.

Speaking of the staff, they were excellent with everything from dining to shipping a package back to the states for us.

If you are driving it is quite an adventure getting through Avignon...there were a few close calls...but don't hesitate to visit. We felt three days wasn't enough to explore the city and the neighboring area.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottyg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
1,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirande Hotel

Address: 4 Place de l Amirande, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#9 Family Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: $359 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mirande Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in La Mirande is an invitation to travel through the exquisite world of decorative art. Located right in the historical city center of Avignon at the foot of the Popes' Palace, it accommodates a sophisticated décor, evoking an 18th century atmosphere and the sedate style of life belonging to times of old. The charm is extended to the 26 rooms with their painted panelling, drapes, parquet floors and traditional flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mirande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirande Avignon
Hotel La Mirande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing