We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mirande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Mirande Hotel
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had been travelling for 5 weeks throughout England, France and Italy and thought we would spend our last night in Europe somewhere really special, so chose to stay at La Mirande. The first thing we noticed was the small dark and dingy lift. I appreciate that French lifts are small, however the lighting in it was so bad you couldn't read the menu that was displayed on the wall. Nevertheless, we got out on the 2nd floor into a corridor, badly scuffed and with chipped paint, that smelt musty and of old food. We passed the open door of the cleaners cupboard to see the filthiest mop, not too impressing. Still, arrived in our room which was decorated in the traditional french toile fashion, and was happy to find a dish of beautiful figs and nougat. The sheets on the bed were lovely, and the room, despite the earlier mop, was clean. The atmosphere in Avignon was wonderful as it was the last weekend of the festival, buskers and actors strolling the streets and singing on every corner. We asked for a recommendation for dinner, and despite the assurances of the lovely desk staff that the restaraunt was very close we were unable to find it with their directions (had managed to find the other 35 restaraunts recommended during 5 weeks of travelling!) We were just so disappointed, and at E446 for the night, felt very ripped off. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at, and we were happy to pay, but really expected better. One word of caution, do not attempt to drive into Avignon unless you are in a tiny car. It really is charming but the streets are so narrow and it causes heart failure at the damage you may do to a hire car as you scrape thru streets 5cm from your car sides! Definitely plan your trip so you use the train, far simpler

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hilmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    66
    16
    16
    8
See reviews for
53
210
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

The situation of La Mirande is unique in the centre of Avignon. This former palace of Cardinals is a metres from the Palace of the Popes. The decoration of the rooms, the lounges and the dining room is the expression of the elegance. The room was spacious and full of characterThe service is outstanding.
The restaurant was perfect.
The breakfast is a delight - a beautiful drawing room with a wonderful chantalier.
The toiletries provided by La Mirande are Dr. Hauschka and l'occitane!
We were close to shops, restaurants, and entertainment.
We receveid the breakfast and your present.
Because the hotel was completed full we not received your upgrade.
The hotel was amazing!

Room Tip: View With Papa`s Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I took my mother for her 70th birthday to this hotel in early September on the recommendation of a friend of mine who regularly comes here from Apt for a tea with her family.

Our large deluxe room was gorgeous. Beautifully appointed in 'old school style' with linen bed linen, a spacious bathroom with twin sinks, bath and separate shower and crucially for 2 light sleepers quiet. The only sound we heard was the street sweepers at 7ish every morning. The room was on the second floor - looking down we could just see into the gift shop of the Pope's Palace right opposite (at lower ground level).

However, we came away thinking a few minor things could be improved on to make this a truly outstanding experience (and I mentioned most of these on the hotel questionnaire):-

Firstly, we informed the hotel that we were arriving at 2207 at the TGV station on booking 2 months before arrival. I felt that at this stage they could have offered some sort of light snack on arrival (the kitchen closes at 2130 hrs) instead of me having to call them the day of arrival to request this. on arrival at 2230 or so they seemed very short on bar staff (or too busy looking after diners in the restaurant) and it took an age to get some water. In general throughout the stay, it seemed to take an unusually long time to get a drink other than at meals. The reception and dining areas are beautiful but quite a warren of rooms which perhaps makes it difficult to see people.

I thought the set lunch was good value and the prices for dinner on the high side but not excessive. However I thought that Euro 24 continental breakfast could be slightly improved to justify its price, not least with a selection of their delicious home made cakes and a choice of teas available. If you choose not to dine in, the helpful reception staff do have a list of local restaurants that they recommend and will book but this could have been improved by writing a short line about the merits of each.

I also thought it would also be a nice personal touch to have a list of boutiques or shops or services which previous guests have enjoyed rather than a rack of leaflets of attractions.

So I felt for the money we paid Euro 560 per might for the room, I was expecting to be looked after slightly better and a more personal experience but in general, we had a truly wonderful, easy time. Avignon is a perfect choice for a short, 3 or 4 night city break from the UK by train. It is very easy to change trains at Lille on to the excellent TGV service. In addition to the Pope's Palace, the bridge etc, we particularly enjoyed the superb collection of early Italian paintings in the Petit Palais and we dined outside every evening. We will definitely be back but as usual will be careful to request a quiet room away from the reception areas and may still a couple of nights outside town as well.

Room Tip: As usual, if you wish to rest in the afternoons, ask for a quiet room away from the reception areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Beautifully decorated building, pleasant and very comfortable rooms and the best breakfast you can have in a nice city center secluded garden. Staying here is something not to forget!
Fine dining - also in the garden, weather permitting!

Room Tip: During Festival time (July) ask for a garden facing room - all rooms are very comfortable with speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarcoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at La Mirande for 3 nights in late August 2011. We chose the 2 bedroom apartment, which is located (exactly as per the hotel's website) just a short walk from the hotel. We enjoyed a marvellous sitting room, a great master bedroom with bath, a smaller bedroom, and a superbly appointed kitchen. All to the same high standard as the public rooms in the hotel (which are splendid.

We enjoyed one dinner in the hotel's restaurant. It is expensive but not unduly so. There are many other good restaurants in Avignon. But eating in the garden of La Mirande is a real experience and we shall remember it.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WaldronofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

If you are looking for a tasty and refined genuine French cuisine restaurant
this is the adress you need.
Price are in the high range but still good value for money.
we had to sleep there as we had too much excellent french wine. Accomodation is find but not outstanding. Just find. we did not make a good deal on package.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Simply the best in Avignon. Everything about this hotel is perfect. Only ONE comment! At breakfast there should be a menu or the Waitress should inform you that eggs etc are available upon request. We stayed in Avignon, Aix en provence (Villa Gallici) and Cannes (Majestic). This was our favorite hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirande Hotel

Property: La Mirande Hotel
Address: 4 Place de l Amirande, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#9 Family Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mirande Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in La Mirande is an invitation to travel through the exquisite world of decorative art. Located right in the historical city center of Avignon at the foot of the Popes' Palace, it accommodates a sophisticated décor, evoking an 18th century atmosphere and the sedate style of life belonging to times of old. The charm is extended to the 26 rooms with their painted panelling, drapes, parquet floors and traditional flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Mirande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirande Avignon
Hotel La Mirande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing