We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Le Lavarin
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here in August for 6 nights using it as a base for touring the villages of Provence and the city of Avignon. The location was very suitable for our needs especially with a car. It was a 10 minute drive into the city and parking was free at some venues. Avignon has much to offer visitors.
The room was clean, modern and well appointed. Breakfast was a buffet which was superb and taken in the restaurant overlooking the gardens/ restaurant.There was always a good choice and the food was of high quality.
We enjoyed a drink by the pool after our days out. The hotel restaurant looked good and busy each evening but we chose to eat out in Avignon or in one of the villages.
The hotel is walled, quiet and provides secure parking.
All the staff were professional and very helpful.
We would stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 8Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 468 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Best Western Hôtel du Lavarin. The location maybe a little too far out from the old city, but was ideal for us as we wanted to be near the TGV station (about 10 min drive away). We walked into the old city each day, which was an easy 25 minute walk. There are no eating places nearby but the food offered at the hotel was good value. We also ate in the old city.
The rooms were a very good size and the property has free car parking, a very nice pool area and the restaurant has a nice feel to it, overlooking the pool area.

The real stand out for us was the delightful, friendly and efficient staff. They were amongst the best we came across in our month stay in France.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BryanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My family recently stayed here while my husband was in the nearby hospital.The Patrons, Patricia and Simon were outstanding, ensuring our every need and comfort was met. Their kindness and friendliness meant our stay at The Laverin was exceptional.
The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, with a cosy restaurant overlooking the gardens and pool. The rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable. Would highly recommend.
The Brooke Family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Booked two nights on basis of Trip Advisor reviews. We were given a “new” room - which was well-designed and very nice. The common areas all looked newly renovated. Very clean and comfortable room and hotel. Decent size room. Very good breakfast. Very friendly, capable and professional service. Free parking in the hotel’s secure compound. The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from historic Avignon, in a modern area of hospitals and health-care facilities. There didn’t seem to be many restaurant choices nearby. We used the hotel’s dinning room for dinner for bo9th nights and were very pleased with the quality, choice and service - some of the best dinners we had in our three weeks on the road in France. Nice grounds and patio. Good secure wi-fi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esquimalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was very impressed by this hotel. I had been a bit dubious about it being a Best Western (I wouldn't set foot in my local Best Western in South London without protective clothing), but I took the Tripadvisor reviews at face value and was not disappointed. The best feature is the staff: they are unfailingly friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the terrace delivered great food in a beautiful setting. The garden with its beautiful mature trees and pool is small but idyllic. The best bit was the room. It is definitely worth paying the extra for one of the rooms with a balcony/terrace. Our room was triple aspect and arranged to make a relatively small space seem huge. The hotel is some way out of town but with easy access by car or bus. The one disadvantage is that there are no cafes or restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony/terrace. They are much more light and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 64seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

You may be alarmed by the location of this hotel... on the edge of town, close to a hospital and a Crematorium; but the Hotel Du Lavarin manages to create its own atmoshere of calm and tranquillity. The garden is not large, but skilful design and long-established trees conjure the feeling of a private resort from an unpreposessing site. A pool provides welcome relief from the sun and there is an attractive loggia in which to dine. Food is adequate; the warmth of service outstanding. Facilities are rather limited, but rooms are spacious and well-designed. Our room (145) had a small terrace overlooking the garden which made a pleasant location for reading and snoozing. Convenient (free) parking is a bonus. Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorinthianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Myself and my 3 teenage children stayed in a family room at the hotel for 6 nights in August. We travelled from UK on the Eurostar. The station is around 15 mins from the TGV station.The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. The grounds and pool are more spacious than they appear on the website. As most people were out and about during the day, we often had the pool and garden to ourselves. The breakfast has a very good selection of fresh fruit, pastries, meat and cheeses. smoked salmon, eggs. preserves etc. We had dinner at the hotel just once, and it was good quality, but the menu a little limited. There is a fridge in the room, which is for use of guests which is useful if you have children or are staying for a couple of days. There are no restaurants or shops in walking distance of the hotel.Bus journey into the town centre took around 20 mins and 1 euro each trip, there is a limited service on Thurs and Sun evening. Multiple trip tickets are available from tobacconist shops. Our room had a double and single bed and sofa bed. We put the sofa bed away during the day, and the room was sufficient in space. The room had a separate bathroom and toilet which was really great. the hotel was very modern and fresh and clean. I recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank review52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
4.4 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
2.1 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#11 of 68 in Avignon
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Le Lavarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Le Lavarin

Address: 1715 Chemin du Lavarin, 84000, Avignon, France (Formerly Best Western Le Lavarin)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: $117 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Le Lavarin 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savourez un moment de detente au calme dans notre jardin arbore d'oliviers et de platanes centenaires et profitez de notre espace piscine securise.A 5 minutes des remparts en voiture et a 10 minutes en bus, depuis l'arret situe a l'entree de l'hotel.L'hotel est situe a 1 Km de la gare Avignon TGV.Cote hebergement nos chambres climatisees offrent une gamme complete adaptee a vos attentes Chambres standards alliant confort et simplicite.Chambres superieures recemment renovees dans un esprit cosy et chaleureux.Chambres executives avec plus d'espace et d'elegance. Nous avons egalement des chambres familiales pour 4 personnes et des chambres communicantes pouvant recevoir jusqu'a 5 personnes. N'hesitez pas a nous contacter;Cote repasDecouvrez notre carte de restaurant composee essentiellement de produits frais et de nos suggestions du jour, a savourer des que le temps le permet en terrasse, ou partager notre> de restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Le Lavarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Du Lavarin
Best Western Avignon
Avignon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing