We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A welcome start to our holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A welcome start to our holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We chose the Hotel du Lavarin because it has a swimming pool & is close to Avignon. We stayed six nights which is why we wanted a pool to relax by.
Our room was modern in decor and the bathroom was a wet room. The housekeeping was excellent with the floors washed daily. The food in the restaurant was of an acceptable standard. When dining outside the mosquitoes were the only drawback.
The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, making for a very pleasant stay.
The parking at the hotel is a real benefit. Free parking at Parking des Allées de l'Oulle on the West side of the city made our daily visits easy. The access to the city is on foot through the city walls. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    194
    36
    9
    10
See reviews for
56
217
16
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Recommend you to visit: everything was nice (pool, receiption, rooms, car-parking, service, etc etc,...). It's situated a little bit far from center, but guys from receiption will tell you how to get to center in few minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncknm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed one night, travelling through Avignon.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were OK.
Nice pool and excellent breakfast buffet.
You need a car or use taxis to get in town and enjoy the old city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJLParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very frustrated hotel director: my son made some dust marks on a wall in the garden To calm the director which was very agressive, I propose to make a declaration to my insurance. But in the evenening of the 15/8, director blocked our rooms to blackmail me and to force me to give my credit card. He claimed more than 1600€. He had no trust in other country's insurance companies and even after obtaining several guarantees from my wellknown insurance company, he kept on asking documents to delay our departure (more than 3 hours) without speeking of the stress from the night before. Certainly not recommended for traveling with childeren.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank NVT31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULANDLAURA, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I read your comment and regret this situation. However, you booked 2 double bedrooms and you check in, you were 8, 3 adults and 5 children 10 to 17 years. We have executive rooms, larger and therefore more suitable to your needs. During your stay, your kids left partially unsupervised did not find anything to do better than playing climbing the wall of the property which is very dangerous.
When we perceive then it was too late, the wall was significantly degraded.
Our hotel is not a holiday club

You admitted the facts verbally but refused to assume the responsibility stating the claim with your insurance company. Unfortunately, we had to call the police. Finally you made a claim to your insurance liability stretchers and acknowledge in writing. It is only after you have completed this step that the police let you leaving in Belgium. .
I am sorry for this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Friendly and welcoming staff, our room was clean and tidy and well appointed. We stayed for one night. Hotel was good 3o minute walk to main centre. Staff did not recommend walking back at night so allow taxi money when booking this great wee hotel.

Room Tip: Allow extra money for taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaNeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here on two occasions a week apart as the start /finish of a trip in Provence. The rooms are small, but clean and updated as is the bathroom. The lack of size of the rooms is made up for by the public areas. The large tree shaded grounds and pool area are very nice.
Typical European breakfast that we have found in our travels. The only drawback to this hotel is it's location, it is not located in the beat part of town. (that being said I'm not sure where the best part of Avignon is). We were cautioned by the staff not to walk certain streets.There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which we caught the bus into the old town and felt quite safe doing so during the day. We took a taxi back in the evening which can be a very trying experience. There is only one taxi company in Avignon. It took one and one half hours to get a cab to pick us up at the restaurant after dinner, despite repeated calls by the proprietor to the cab company. Then on the day of our departure, on a Sunday morning, the taxi arrived almost one hour late causing us to miss our train. This despite reserving the taxi the night before, confirming in the morning and repeated calls by the hotel. No explanation or apologies by the driver once he arrived. Not the hotel's fault but something to keep in mind if you have tight travel connections. The staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and we enjoyed it very much. We ordered the superior room which was great. The superior rooms are completely renovated and its only 10 euros more than the standard room, but the difference is huge.The rooms are not big, but beautiful and you have everything you need. Although the hotel is not is the center of the city, if you have a car it's not a problam, it takes only 5 minutes by car. It is very convenient for exploring provance. The people at the front desk were very nice and welcoming. The garden is beautiful with a nice pool. Eating breakfast in the garden was wonderful (also a little expensive, but good). We reccomend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: on the first floor, because there is no lift and rooms that look to the pool. The superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bila v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
1.7 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#9 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
2.1 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
1.9 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin

Property: BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin
Address: 1715 Chemin du Lavarin, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savourez un moment de detente au calme dans notre jardin arbore d'oliviers et de platanes centenaires et profitez de notre espace piscine securise.A 5 minutes des remparts en voiture et a 10 minutes en bus, depuis l'arret situe a l'entree de l'hotel.L'hotel est situe a 1 Km de la gare Avignon TGV.Cote hebergement nos chambres climatisees offrent une gamme complete adaptee a vos attentes Chambres standards alliant confort et simplicite.Chambres superieures recemment renovees dans un esprit cosy et chaleureux.Chambres executives avec plus d'espace et d'elegance. Nous avons egalement des chambres familiales pour 4 personnes et des chambres communicantes pouvant recevoir jusqu'a 5 personnes. N'hesitez pas a nous contacter;Cote repasDecouvrez notre carte de restaurant composee essentiellement de produits frais et de nos suggestions du jour, a savourer des que le temps le permet en terrasse, ou partager notre << carnet d'adresses>> de restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Du Lavarin
Best Western Avignon
Avignon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing