We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avignon Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bristol Hotel(Avignon)
$137
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$127
$118
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa(Le Pontet)
$224
$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$787
$755
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel de l'Horloge(Avignon)
$105
$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$245
$232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Magnan Hotel(Avignon)(Great Value!)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveler rating
219
357
165
77
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
357
165
77
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationseparate lounge areasitting roomtwo double bedssister hotelgarden viewold townrooftop poolwalled cityhuge roombusy roadsuperior roomperfect locationthe ground floorminute walkmain roadunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 860 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This will be a review of not only the Hotel but also of the surrounding area, so it will be useful for anyone considering coming to Avignon.

The Hotel

The Rooms
The hotel itself is nice, the rooms are large and the bathroom is very good. Each room also has a little cooking kitchen which is a nice addition.

The "Bar"/Reception Area
Where the hotel does fall down on is the activities within the hotel. The bar is an extension of the reception and therefore not very large and not "feeling" like a bar. In addition there is never any staff behind the counter. The reception, which aims to double as a chilling out room has horrendous air circulation so it can get very hot. HOWEVER these two issues are not the end of the world, you do not have to spend your time here.

The Pool
Is very very very small, the picture on the website is done with a wide angle lense and has been stretched and is very very misleading. DO NOT come here if you intend on swimming at all, it is more the size of a hot tub.

The Staff
Cleaning staff were efficient and fast in rooms, and the staff in general were really nice, no complaints here!

Avignon in General
I WOULD NOT recommend you coming to Avignon. Although from a far (brochures) it can be made to look picturesque and beautiful once you got here that is very much exaggerated. Due to poor sewage there is often a sickly smell when one stays at restaurants and within the town once you have seen the palace of the popes, and the light show there is really very little to do. Perhaps the most signficcant factor that results in me giving Avignon a 2/5 is the fact that there are a large amount of homeless people, who are drunk and also a large number of beggars. When i say homeless people you are probably thinking, London has a lot of homeless people but seriously everywhere you go you will be in eyesight of at least 5 of them, who ask for money. Basically its uncomfortable and if you are going to go on holiday its probably not an environment you want to be in.

Conclusion
Avignon despite its glamour is dull and dirty, the Ho

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Don´t let the looks on the outside fool you... (I thought it looked a bit dull) On the inside you´ll find a fantastic hotel and large rooms! Shame we only were staying for 1 night really...
The hotel room was just as spacious as the lobby! Very comfortable bed. Great location too, just next to the train station and the city walls. Walking distance to the city centre and major attractions. Parking garage with direct access to the hotel makes it convenient for travelers with their own car. Staff at the front desk acted welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Located just alongside the Avignon centre railway station. A very good hotel and we enjoyed our stay. Good bed, refrigerator, safe, plenty of wardrobe space, good linen and towels etc, good bathroom facilities. Quiet room and can be darkened well for a good nights sleep. Air conditioned room. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but OK. A good ten minute walk gets you to a large selection of resteraunts within the walled city. All in all a good hotel and would easily return.

Room Tip: Staff are friendly and helpful just ask them for anything
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our second stay at this hotel and used it as a base to visit other places. Spacious rooms with a sitting area, air conditioning. Needs a bit of refurbishment decor wise. We didn't eat breakfast there as it was too pricey but breakfasted in the town for about 8 euros each. Location is just opposite the walls near to the train station. Avignon itself in the daytime is pleasant but in the evening it is littered with beggars and down & outs with dogs and can be quite intimidating. The town council needs to clear them out as it is not appealing to the visitor. We will not visit Avignon again based on this experience.

Room Tip: Just book a standard room as they are plenty spacious
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at the Avignon Grand Hotel for 3 nights in July. Temps were very hot in Avignon (and area) which we anticipated. I knew we needed a hotel with air conditioning and also wanted one with a pool. Our room was lovely, faced the garden and the train station (centre ville train station was handily next door). We often choose to have windows open to hear the cigale and get a breeze. TV is oddly in the bedroom side instead of sitting room side, but we didn't really use it so that wasn't an issue. Bathroom was large and very clean. Beds were a little hard and could've been softer (coming off of the Heavenly Beds at the W so noticed a real difference) but overall we were very pleased with the hotel.

We used the hotel pool two evenings. The pool is VERY tiny and we chose to go up later when others weren't there. Popped out heads up there when we first arrived and it was full of about 14 people - it looked like a pot of "people soup". Evening was quieter up there and we were able to watch the lovely sunset over Avignon.

Hotel is directly across from the city walls, and a very easy walk into many restaurants, shops and tourist sites. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun_seeker_minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews