We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, spacious clean room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avignon Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Avignon Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Avignon Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34, Blvd Saint-Roch, 84000, Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious clean room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hotel is just opposite the old city. The shuttle bus from TGV station stops in front of the Avignon post office which is opposite the hotel. There are many eateries, shops, a Macdonald and Supermarket inside the old city. The hotel has an underground parking and costs 15 euros per day . The reception staff are extremely friendly and were able to handle all our queries without problem Tthe double room I had was extremely spacious with two queen size beds. There is also a spacious sitting area in the room. The bathroom is spacious but the shower area has no place for shower gel or soap. Overall this is a good and convenient hotel with spacious room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RinaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Avignon Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear customer, we thank you for your glowing review at Grand Hotel.
Your acknowledgment and satisfaction fills our work and our goal to meet our customers' expectations. We are delighted that you enjoyed the superficy of our room (40 m²), the comfort, and the possibility ti have 2 queen size bed, and a smal private lounge.
After the various comments that we have read, we are pleased to inform you that we are starting to install soap holders in our rooms. The shower will make it more comfortable and convenient for our customers.
Finally I would like to thank on behalf of the reception team to raise their kindness and profesionnalism.
We hope to welcome you next time, Kind Regards - AAB Customers relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    278
    124
    58
    31
See reviews for
153
274
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed for two nights here and loved it. The suite we had had two bedrooms and two bathrooms plus a large lounge area and outdoor patio. Close to the centre of twon about 10-15 min walk to the Popes Palace and some good eateries. The hotel may be old but it suited us perfectly. There is a laundromat within walking distance, Breakfast was good not perfect but sufficient for our needs. I would stay at this hotel as my first choice in Avignon.

PS. Make sure you get to visit the wineries at Chatteaunaf de Papes and sample some Provencial nectar

Room Tip: Ask for a single level suite as that will save carrying your bags up a set of stairs in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at this facility for the first time in late July, through early August. Initially, it was difficult to find parking when first checking in to the hotel. Is NOT clearly marked, especially when one is unfamiliar with the area. There is a paid underground car park which was nice and secure, but this should clearly be explained to every guest prior to checking in to the hotel. Especially, when the main street, Blvd Saint-Roch, is congested during peak hours.

The staff was helpful and friendly upon check in and throughout my stay. Our room had been upgraded to a suite which was nice. However, the room definitely had a distinct odor which was not pleasant. Once checked in and vehicle parked, I was happy with the location, but not the smell which housekeeping continually tried to mask with an orange scent air freshener which made it worse. Centrally located and very good for walking into the City Center for the evening as one would definitely not be able to find parking if driving. The room price was good and overall, would probably stay here again if I didn't have to contend with the smell in the room.

Room Tip: There appeared to be a remodeled section and a much older section of the hotel. I would suggest the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Grand several times while on business trips. It is my hotel of choice, due to its large modern rooms, location and helpful staff
The standard "single" has always turned out to be a suite, in the new section of the hotel , with queen size double bed and separate sitting room. The bathrooms have always been modern and obviously new. Powerful shower and bath tub.
The rooms have always been clean.
Breakfast is served in the large restaurant. Other reviewers intimate that the restaurant is not open at other times. I don't know whether this is true as I have always eaten out at one of the numerous excellent restaurants within easy walking distance
The hotel is next to the city walls, so in an excellent location., meaning that the entire city is within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StowawayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

There are so many choices...even next door at the Novotel - go elsewhere. In its day, I am sure this was a fine establishment. Not any more...our hallway had a horrible stench to it and the lights in it didn't work. The room had been heavily doused with air freshner. It is just in terrible need of refurbishing. Not worth the price. The reason I have it as a rating of two is the staff. They are most cordial and accommodating. The sister hotel is great; Cloitre St Louis.

Room Tip: There are other good options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avignon hotels

Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

As you may know, the star rating system in France is a government rating as to the amenities offered by the hotel. It is not an indicator of quality, and in the case of the Avignon Grand you will be severely disappointed if you're expecting 4 star quality. Rooms are shabby and smelly. The facilities people were coming in and out of our room doing maintenance on the shower. Our garden-facing supreme room had a patio with very low walls to the neighbors, and we were concerned about security. For $250 I expect a decent place, even in Europe. This was not one of them.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamthewhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condom, France
Level Contributor
203 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Don't be fooled by the somewhat grand entrance with an Arab feel, this hotel is anything but grand! The overal look is cold, tired and impersonal, despite the best efforts of the young lady at the reception who, poor thing, was dressed in a terrible black suit, completely unsuitable for a hot day! The room was some kind of suit, if you can call it that: big but like a box with sliding doors and wooden partition walls! I wouldn't call it a suit, more a storage with partition walls! The bedroom bit (and a bit it was too, tiny...) was completely white, a bit like a hospital, no decoration whatsoever, just white, very white too! There must have been a TV on a corner piece of furniture but not anymore so if you want to watch TV you have to sit on the polyester sofa (tiny one...) in the living room. The floors are made of cheap wood, meaning... you can hear all the noise from upstairs! The bathroom was very much like what you would expect in a hospital, white, very white and most of all very tired! More sliding doors, noisy, cheap sliding doors you have trouble opening and closing! The corridors, as you can see on some of the photos on this site, are very tired too and you can see that the cleaning ladies don't care about scratching the walls with their trolleys! The location was good, near the train station (but you do hear the trains....) and not far from the centre. The view was ugly, the back and roofs of some buildings. Such a lovely town, such an ugly hotel, too bad..... PS - If you ask for a double bed (in French Grand Lit) you get a bed with two mattresses which don't really connect so you are left with a gap of a few cm between both mattresses, not very comfortable...).

Room Tip: I would just go to another hotel..... but that is my opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciscaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#9 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#2 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#19 of 70 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Property: Avignon Grand Hotel
Address: 34, Blvd Saint-Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 122 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing