We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so grand...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Avignon Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not so grand...”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The room was big, partition into sleep area and sitting area. Beds were clean but furnishings look tired from days gone by...The housekeeping need to focus some attention on the shower area, the TV was not working and the fridge never cold. We found the staff unreliable. I call to the reception and request for a dinner reservation to be made for us at 9pm, I was told by the male voice that he will make the reservations. When I did not receive confirmation after 20minutes, I called and was informed that reservation has not been made. Sebatian told me his colleague has not done it and that he will do it and he did. When we checked out we had to wait 10 minutes for the change to be brought to us, the longest in our last 15 days in France. While the location is good the service is not, unfortunately...It is also next to the local train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    320
    138
    66
    34
See reviews for
193
311
19
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Avignon Grand turned out to be a good place to stay with comfortable double beds, an excellent bathroom with bath and shower, a minibar and safe in the room and a welcome, refreshing, clean, if small, pool. Unfortunately, on arrival we were shown to a room with just one double bed in it , although we - 2 unrelated ladies - had booked a superior double which claimed to have 2 double beds and a sofabed. We were told the hotel was full and we would have to stay in that room for the first night. It took a lot of insistence but finally the room we had booked was made available. No apology was forthcoming. The pool on the roof is a lovely space to cool down from the summer temperatures (36C). We just wished that a 4 star hotel could have provided mattresses for the wooden chaises longues. Breakfast rather overpriced at 16 euros. However, we had a good holiday in Avignon and will keep a good memory of our time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hotel is clean and room is spacious (we had a triple room). The location of the hotel was also great - just 5 minutes walk to the historic city centre - Palais des Papes, etc.

Service is somewhat inconsistent though. About half the staff we met are friendly and helpful. The other half, although not rude, do not take as much initiative as we like. Nevertheless, the service level is still fairly acceptable. Would give it 3.5 stars.

If intending to visit during the Avignon Festival in July, do book at least 6 months in advance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jia Jia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Avignon Grand Hotel was excellent both in terms of friendly staff, organising trips etc and in terms of comfort. The room I had was large and spacious with separate sitting area. Beds were very comfortable and air conditioning just right!
Only down side was they were recommending the restaurant at their sister hotel which did do lovely food but the head waitress was downright rude. She spoilt our night totally with her attitude. Interestingly if you were french she was friendly and meeting their every need. This lady shouted at my friend and at the end of the meal our bill was thrown on the table! Needless to say we didn't go back but frequented a little traditional bistro called Love and Peace. Food was half the cost and the staff lovely.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel so the outlook wasn't too good. The downstairs rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel looks like a 70's architectural nightmare, but is actually comfortable and very well located. The wall view rooms are the best, no need to eat there although the breakfast is reasonable value, there are a lot of mainland chinese package tourists who also stay there, but they are courteous and keep to themselves. Often hotels in france lack airconditioning, but this hotel we got a good nights rest in a cool room!

Room Tip: I think the wall view rooms are better, but get the ones slightly back from the road, as it is a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Once again we are changing our travel plans so what we had booked was no longer available. The Grand was in a good location, just outside the City Wall.
The train station (not the TGV station) was right down the street a block away.
The room we had 236 was large with a sitting area but I never really felt comfortable in the room. The room had stained carpet, old scarred furniture, some ground in stains in shower caulking, dry rot on edges of doors, no head board on bed. These things did not make for a great stay. The room seemed surface clean but stained and had seen better days. The staff was friendly they did show me 2 other rooms before I decided that 236 was about as good as it was going to get. Avignon was really busy and rooms were not available elsewhere. We did have to take our own luggage to and from our room, not a big issue for us rather than a lack of service from staff. We would not stay here again. Our booking was for 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherynC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Avignon Grand Hotel is so much GRAND but more like Underwhelming. My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon. I must say that I was very disappointed with it. They first put us in a room that had a strange odor (i think it was from the extremely old furniture). The bed was hard that my husband and I woke up with backaches. The room had cracks in the bathroom. The next day we were ready to just leave, however instead I asked for a room change. The receptionist informed that she can put me in a newly remodeled room. I couldn't help but think why she didn't put us in that room in the first place. She knew we were on our honeymoon. The new room was better, but I still think that they have a way to go. The pool was very small. By far this hotel was our worst stay in Paris.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 618ObsessedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#16 of 69 in Avignon
815 reviews
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avignon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Grand Hotel

Property: Avignon Grand Hotel
Address: 34 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avignon Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Avignon remparts, the Avignon Grand Hotel provides 124 rooms and suites spacious of 40 m² and more with terrace or balcony. The hotel is also equipped with a relaxation area with a swimming-pool. It is perfectly located on the heart of the historic centre of the city and adapted for relaxing or working stay. It provides modern and traditional wide confortable spaces. You only have to get over the remaprts to reach the Cloitre Saint-Louis restaurant which is unique and full of history. All over the year, the restaurant offers you a sophisticated and light cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Avignon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing