We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit pricey for breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Cloitre Saint Louis

Hotel du Cloitre Saint Louis
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Hotel du Cloitre Saint Louis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 587 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A light and sophisticated cuisine is served in a remarkable place with impressive architecture. A unique place marked by history and serenity, Le Saint-Louis cannot be overlooked. During winter, you will be served in the glass ambulatory or in the vaulted dining rooms. When the weather is nice, the ambulatory and gardens turn into one of the city's most beautiful terraces. The light and creative cuisine will take you on a journey through a wide range of pleasant flavours throughout your entire meal. Our restaurant is open for lunch from noon to 1.30 p.m. and for dinner from 7:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. We invite to you come and enjoy our brunch served every Sunday from 11:45 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a bit pricey for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Sorry, we decided to pass on breakfast. 19 euros ($30 USD) for a continental breakfast seemed a bit reachy to us (I'm sure it would have been wonderful if you could forget what it took to earn your own fortune).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ladybug195364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    50
    28
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Like another reviewer, we went here on a recommendation from the receptionist at the Grand Hetel in Avignon. We were not disappointed, good service, excellent food, and a good ambiance.
A little pricey but overall we enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Quiet and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were recommended to have lunch at this restaurant by the receptionist at its sister Hotel, the Grand Hotel in Avignon where we were staying. It is tucked away in a quite backstreet at 20 Rue du Portail Boquier, which you are unlikely to stumble across by chance. The building was originally in the 16th century a Jesuit Noviciate and subsequently a hospital before it eventually became a secluded 5 * Hotel.
It was altogether an excellent experience, a very charming young woman greeted us, took our order, brought our drinks and after a short wait an excellent meal and a good 50cl bottle of local wine. It was not an expensive experience at is cost us 74 euros for Omble Chevalier (19 euros), a Menu Carte (35 euros) and the bottle of Domaine de la Presiden (20 euros)
If we ever return to Avignon we know where to stay and to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant, because it was one of the few places open on New Years Day for dinner. We had a spectacular meal with great service at a very reasonable price! I ordered a fish dish and my husband ordered beef. Both were cooked to perfection and came with delicious sauces. Our best meal in France! We will definitely go back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chelsea19103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
143 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We only go here on special occasions, because it's about an hour's drive from where we live. But it is always a pleasure to be here. We always go for lunch. They have dishes that suit us perfectly, in style and taste and quantity. We were here yesterday with American friends, who loved it.
Sunday lunch is buffet style, and very pleasant we've found.
Walking around Avignon before or after is a treat on its own.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mollandaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel du Cloitre Saint Louis also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Hotel du Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing