We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a short break in Avignon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Boussingault
Ranked #24 of 52 Avignon B&B and Inns
UK Haslemere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a short break in Avignon”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Maison boussingoult is described as 'Hotel de Charme' and that is exactly what it is, charming b&b with charming hostess Anne. Very clean and simple design, rooms quite small but good sized bathrooms. Excellent location 5 min walk from the bus station and located in a good area with nice boutique shops and 10 min walk from Palace of the Popes. Breakfast was ample with freshly squeezed orange juice, melon, excellent coffee and very fresh pastries and breads with homemade jam. Anne gave us good information about which parts of Avignon to see and good restaurants to eat at. Highly recommend l'Epicerie in Palace Saint Pierre.
All together an excellent place to stay and close to everything, would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank characteristics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Avignon with Anne. The B&B is short walk to both the central train station and the Palace of the Popes, yet it is quiet and peaceful. The room was very clean and modern, with the largest bathroom I have seen in Europe. Behind the bed are built-ins for your luggage and a closet to hang clothes. The room itself is very well designed. Anne greeted us every morning with a lovely breakfast and coffee on the terrace and was so helpful when I had questions about the train workers strike (yikes), weather, resturants, etc. She is a wonderful hostess! After a long day of sightseeing, it was a pleasure to some back to the B&B. The 3 B&B rooms are on the ground level, but the private courtyard is secured by a locked door and I felt very safe. The location is on a side street so you don't have street noise late at night. A fabulous B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tennesseetraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Aivignon at the Maison Boussingault. It is in the center of the old city and all of the city highlights are accessible within walking distance. Anne is a wonderful hostess and offered us great advice for excursions and meals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retire08Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really lovely stylish B&B about 5-10min stroll to the Palais des Papes and the centre of Avignon. Beautiful simple rooms, with modern fittings in a quiet side street. Breakfast was served on a pretty terrace and host Anne was really helpful and easy going. A perfect find for a weekend in beautiful Avignon!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mag1ccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our 3rd stop of our honeymoon (Cannes, Aix-en-Provence, Avignon and Paris) that was 2 weeks long. We only stayed 3 nights and wished we had stayed there longer. This was definitely our favorite stop on our honeymoon. We found it to be in a great location and not too far from just about everything we wanted to do. The host, Anne, was absolutely incredible. She provided a very relaxing environment, went out of her way to accommodate us, had great suggestions for restaurants and activities and served incredible food. The rooms and the patios give a clean and warm atmosphere, making you feel relaxed not long after you arrive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBtraveler2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights and have a really good time. Anne is so lovely and easy going. She is very helpful and informative with restaurant recommendation and the local attraction etc.

The house is charming and room VERY clean, bed is good!! Breakfast is scrumptious.

It's walking distance from the Bus terminal and the main shopping area, yet far enough from the traffic.

Anne even packed some lunch for us to eat in the train on our last day.

Hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: The middle room is the best for couples!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILee_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I had no reservation in Avignon and the Office de Tourisma presented the Maison Boussingault B&B, thank God. It's a contempory designed B&B on a quite street inside the walls - perfectly located to all the sights inside the city. Ann is a gem! she speaks perfect English and is extremely helpful. Definately will return!

Room Tip: Don't over look the Department de Tourisma in the cities. they are a big help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Cote Square B&B
Cote Square B&B
#19 of 52 in Avignon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Autour du Petit Paradis
Autour du Petit Paradis
#7 of 52 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'ilot Bambou
L'ilot Bambou
#4 of 52 in Avignon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aux Augustins
Aux Augustins
#3 of 52 in Avignon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.8 mi away
Appart'hotel Residella House
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de Baracane
Les Jardins de Baracane
#6 of 52 in Avignon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Boussingault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Boussingault

Property: Maison Boussingault
Address: 39 rue Boussingault, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This idéal accomodation is placed in the very heart of Avignon, offering visitors a magical and enjoyable expérience. Being a place of historic wealth enriched with culture and unique Art.Your welcome stay will be completed at the pleasant and homely B&B « Maison Boussingault » situated in the Vernet area of the touwn, only two minutes walk from the Pope’s Palace and the famous St Benezet bridge.This ancient stables, being fully renovated, offers 3 air conditioned bedrooms complete with bathrooms and respective access to the courtyard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing