We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveler rating
626
193
52
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
626
193
52
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prestige room beautiful hotel old world charm star hotel high ceilings lovely courtyard within walking distance large bathroom would highly recommend this hotel inner courtyard major attractions street noise the palais des papes croissants papal palace the air conditioning tgv station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 898 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2016

We spent a full week at Hotel d'Europe and could not have been happier with our choice of hotels. The property is an historic mansion built in the 1500's and is absolutely beautiful with a lovely outdoor courtyard; interesting art, furnishings & antiques throughout; a cozy reading room; and a great location just inside the city walls near the Rhone. Our room had a nice sitting area, spacious bathroom and very comfortable bed -- a wonderful place to return to after our full days of touring and sightseeing. And we really appreciated that all of the front desk staff spoke very good English and were quite helpful with directions, train schedules, reservations, etc. If we're lucky enough to return to Avignon this would clearly be our first choice in hotels. Special tip for budget travelers: don't be scared off by the published rates. We snagged an unbelievable deal on one of the "classic" rooms & were pleasantly surprised when we received an upgrade upon arrival -- perhaps more likely outside of the high season.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback further to your recent stay in Provence. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Hotel d'Europe.
Sincerely,
Marie-Pierre Ghirardini
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights and could not have been more pleased. The room was spacious and charming - quite a treat. We were granted an early check-in and received a gracious upgrade that we really appreciated :) The old world charm of this hotel was wonderful. We also enjoyed dining in the restaurant - a real experience. The courtyard in the hotel was very quaint and charming as well . We would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway!!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Andrew,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback further to your recent stay at Hotel d'Europe. Please be assured that your feedbacks have been shared with the teams as we value your comments to improve our clients‘ experience. I sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Hotel d'Europe.
Sincerely,
Marie-Pierre Ghirardini
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016

While not cheap, this hotel was comfortable and very pleasant. The location is in old town within walking distance of anything you would want to see. Don't miss a little restaurant a couple blocks away named La Petitie Peche.

A fair value overall.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience and recommending the Hotel d'Europe, in the heart of Avignon and Provence. I hope to see you soon in our beautiful region.
Sincerely,
Marie-Pierre Ghirardini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Our room was delightful, with comfortable beds, an excellent bathroom and nice touches like local olive oil and a personal note on check-in. Great breakfast with many choices. There are lovely mini-lobbies on each floor to relax in. The elevator was a great help, but our room was still up a number of steps, so if that is a problem, ask for a lower floor. Despite being steps from the main square, it was very quiet, aside from the chiming bells, but those added authentic charm. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and spoke English well, which we needed. Very close to the Palace of the Popes and many restaurants and shops.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Hotel d'Europe. I am very happy that you were satisfied by the service provided by our front desk team as well as breakfast and locatioon. I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon to Avignon.
Sincerely,
Marie-Pierre Ghirardini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews