We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and Chic all in one”
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic and Chic all in one”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay, exceptional architecture, helpful staff, perfect central location, great lunch in courtyard, try the gazpacho and the quiche. Room was large and comfortable including plenty of electrical outlets which is rare in older hotels. Beautiful bar with live piano Friday nights, very cool.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    163
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
75
475
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cinque Terre Italty
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel two years ago and are going back in November. The hotel sits inside the wall and is the perfect location to enjoy the city. The rooms are well appointed and the WC are clean and well sized. The food is wonderful but pricey -- we enjoyed drinks at the end of the day in the bar - which is a perfect way to end the day. The staff is great at suggesting other towns to visit -- it is a must to go to the lavender markets -- L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue. This town is beautiful and the market is large and wonderful. Shopping in town rivals any in France well almost! So many young designers and great finds. The city parks are beautiful and provide a perfect spot to enjoy the surrounding countryside view. The walk along the river is a great way to get in some exercise as well as to meet locals --Avignon is a great place to unwind and enjoy a slower pace. Enjoy

Room Tip: Talk with the front desk to figure out train and market schedules. They can and will recommend grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2chickstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Located near the city wall, broken bridge, pope's palace and the old town, this hotel has all the advantages of a good tourist hotel. It has a very nice entrance courtyard, which makes this place very charming. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. They also arranged a very good private tour guide, MIKA, for us, to take us around Provence for 2 days. Apparently she only works with the hotel, and you can book her time/private tour in advance if you stay here. This hotel also has a michelin starred restaurant, which serves wonderfu french cuisine. Rooms are a bit small for that price, but comfortable enough for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with courtyard view, may be a bit noisy at night, but the view is so charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFirst123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Only here one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it. Nice, large room (no view). Bathroom facilities were "unusual", but fine....Dual vanities, tub/shower & bidet in one area - WC in another area further away. All staff very friendly, polite and helpful - gave great tips on best touring times to avoid crowds. Liked where hotel is situated - just inside the city walls and away (but easily accessed) from the busy squares and market. Also, very easy to walk down to the Rhone and pick up our cruise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLKJJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
282 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel D'Europe. While it was a very nice stay, I can't say that it was as fabulous as some of the other reviewers suggest. It has an old world charm and was definately an oasis for us after wandering around in the heat on our day trips. The airconditioning in our room was a bit hard to maintain and we finally realized if we closed all the doors, bathroom, anteroom, etc then it was easier to cool down. The other couple we traveled with had a separate shower stall and bathtub that would have been nice for us as well. A strange design that I attribute to the age of the building and infrastructure limits was the toilet was in a room by the front door but there was no sink to wash hands. So you needed to open the door to the bedroom and then to the bathroom with the shower to wash. A bit odd and not the most sanitary. The sheets were pristine but not what I would call luxuriously soft. We both commented that we felt like we were sleeping on emory boards. It may sound picky, but I feel like if I'm spending $600 a night for a room I want to feel like I'm getting $600 a night amenities. We had the superior room which was a step up from the classique. The hotel staff was all very friendly, however, when asking for reservations for dinner they fell short. We also asked for information on bike rides. Before we arrived in Avignon, we received an e-mail telling us they looked forward to our visit and if there was anything they could do to help facilitiate our trip to let them know. We did e-mail twice and received no response. We wanted to see about renting bikes for a day. Upon arrival we asked again and were told they would get us information. After waiting a day or two with no response we were told that they could get us bikes for 60 euro a person for the day. We inquired on our own and secured them for 12 euro for the day. I think it would have been nice to be given the option of 60 euro per person and they will bring the bikes to you or 12 euro per person but you get it yourself. If we hadn't checked we would have just assumed it was 60 euro. Breakfast each morning was so pleasant. Isabelle is a gem. She is darling, young lady, who made each morning a pleasure. Keep in mind that if you have a car to park, it is a bit of a challenge to get the car in front of the building. Very narrow street and you have to pull it onto the sidewalk to allow other cars to get by. Not a big deal but if you think you are just going to pull up and have your car whisked away it's a bit more complicated than that. I think this is the best hotel in Avignon because after seeing the options, we were so happy we chose this hotel and location. It was a nice way stop for us to explore Provence. I would like to mention that there was a music festival going on while we were there. The rooms facing the street are not sound proof and we were up until 2am listening to the noise. Not very sound proofed at all. July in Avignon hosts a 3 week festival so if you are noise sensitive or value your sleep this may not be for you.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the street side. It may help avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is just inside the ramparts of Avignon and just steps to the Palais des Papes and an easy walk to all the other tourist sites. The rooms are well appointed with a very generous size bathroom and a shower that doesn't flood the floor as many European showers do. In addition to the standard pricey buffet breakfast they have an a la carte menu that allows for a reasonably priced light breakfast before heading out for the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EH10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had one of the lower priced "classique" rooms facing a street but in spite of that it was very comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping. The hotel itself is old but beautiful with a wonderful shady courtyard and a handsome breakfast area. After a long tour day we were grateful to be able to relax and get a nice meal, from the bar, but served out in the courtyard. We were also pleased with the location which had easy access for taxis/vans to pick up passengers and was also convenient for walking to the sights in Avignon. We did have one conmplaint about the cost of the laundry service. Maybe this is standard in all hotels but it seemed way overpriced to us and we ended up taking our laundry out. Overall, however, we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The "classique" rooms are small but a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
768 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.5 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#13 of 69 in Avignon
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing