We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel d'Europe for two nights on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. When we first checked in, they told us we had been upgraded to the next level room. The room was beautiful and large, with a separate toilet room, large closet and large queen size bed. The bathroom was also large with lovely marble floors and a huge bath tub. The best part was, we had a small balcony outside.

After our first night sleep, we realized that the air conditioning was not working. We went down to the reception and the woman came up to see what the trouble was. She called the repair man and it turned out that he had gone home for the day. She went back downstairs for a moment and quickly called up to tell us she had moved us into another, even larger room. The rate we paid was 169Eu for both nights and we stayed in a room that cost 450EU. She did not hesitate to move us and she even helped us carry our bags which was well above the call of duty. The second room, at 450EU, was amazing. Huge king size bed, tall 15 foot ceilings and a lovely bathroom with bathrobes and slippers. They also provided some lovely hand cream with lavender that was spectacular. Pictures are attached of that room.

This hotel is in a great location and it is easy to walk from here to the Papal Palace or many of the shops around town. When you arrive, your ring the bell and the bellman comes out to take your luggage and you can valet your car (a great option at 15 EU a day!). They also offer a computer with free internet access or you can hook up your wi-fi if you prefer.

The hotel is also well positioned to get right on the road (outside the city walls) to get out of town and head to places like Chateauneuf de Pape which is a mere 20 minutes away and well worth the visit if you are a wine lover. Just a superb location and a great hotel with warm and friendly staff. We would highly recommend this place to anyone heading to Avignon!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wherearejandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 797 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2008

Value and luxury don't usually go together, but in the case of the Hotel d'Europe it was a great value considering we paid 150 euros for a huge room and spacious bathroom by European standards. We did not have a view, but it didn't matter since we spent little time in our room. Nevertheless our suitcases and shopping bags were scattered all over the room and we could still walk around without tripping over things.
There were terry bathrobes, thick towels, disposable terry slippers, and lovely selection of personal toiletries. The air conditioning worked very well so that despite the July heat our room stayed cool and comfortable.
The staff was helpful and I enjoyed having free internet access. in the lobby area This 5-star hotel is in a great location, so we could walk to the Palais des Papes, Pont St. Benezet, and great shopping. Although we did not eat at the restaurants, we had drinks in the lovely courtyard in front of the hotel. No matter that it was 34 C or 93 F in Avignon there always seemed to be a breeze in the courtyard, so we were able to sit and chat with our traveling companions for quite some time. We also spent time in the well-appointed and elegant lobby.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone for convenience, luxury and value.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank txchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel d’Europe for 2 nights in early June. We were on a month long trip with 10 hotels. This was our favorite hotel!! We had a superior room in the front of the hotel. The hotel has all the charm shown on its web site, and every staff member could not have been nicer. The hotel is quite expensive, but it is worth the premium. The buffet breakfast was a delightful way to begin each day. Avignon is full of marvelous restaurants, with about 5 different ones in the courtyard in front of the hotel. We didn’t eat in the hotel’s restaurant as it was very expensive, although it seemed to be crowded each night. We especially enjoyed a terrific dinner at Le Brigadier du Theatre. The hotel has 2 computers to use at no charge with net access – very welcome.

The hotel has its own private parking lot for a fee, a huge plus and well worth it as parking in Avignon in not easy. We stayed in 3 different towns in Provence. If there is a choice between Arles, Aix and Avignon, go to Avignon!! The palace of the popes was by far the most interesting thing we saw in Provence. Their famous partly finished bridge was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EurotravelerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Just got back from a one-night stay at this wonderful hotel. Don't be scared away by the average rates. Although the hotel has many rooms at the top end ($600+), they also have a number of less expensive rooms. We were able to book a room for only 150 euro, and it was fantastic.

I don't know if we were upgraded, but the room itself was very good sized, consisting of a hallway, a bedroom with four-poster bed and a courtyard view, a separate wc, and an absolutely huge bathroom with massive marble tub, separate shower, and sparkling fixtures. This was one of the best deals we came across in our trip to Provence.

The hotel itself is very, very nice. Extremely classy feel, well-decorated with antiques. Oozes history (Napoleon apparently stayed here, as did Charles Dickens), yet it never felt stuffy. Service was very friendly and helpful. Lovely shady courtyard, where you can get a drink or eat breakfast in the morning.

The location was also terrific, at the edge of one of the loveliest squares in Avignon (Place Crillon), with a number of good restaurants with outdoor seating (Le Crillon, La Scene). It's at the edge of the city, so not over-run with people, but still very close to the action (Palais des Papes, the bridge, etc.). Avignon is a very walkable city, so it was easy to get everywhere we wanted to.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, since it seemed a bit pricey. Instead, we simply grabbed breakfast at one of the restaurants in Place Crillon. Just wonderful, sitting at a table in the peaceful square in the morning sun, drinking coffee and watching the world go by.

We did, however, splurge for dinner one night at the Michelin one-star restaurant in the hotel. Very, very tasty, though quite expensive.

All in all, a terrific place to stay. A very nice, classic hotel with lots of history and character, as well as friendly service. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodydavis617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

This was one of the more expensive hotels we stayed on this trip and the value is reflected in the style and quality of the accomodation. Your room is going to vary from very big to enormous and it will have all the trappings - and a few extras. An attention to detail was the attachment to the hotel computer of two keyboards, one French, one English. The decor, the comfort are all right on and the staff willing and able to accomodate one's slightest whim.

This was but one night so it's a one night opinion. Definitely put Avignon on your list. The town itself has much to see but I imagine the attraction would be using it as a base to explore the countryside of Provence.

Minor complaint, the continental breakfast at 16 euros. That's a big price if all you want is a coffee and a croissant. We wandered a few yards to the town square and had just that, in the open air, for 6 euros.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Hotel d'Europe certainly deserves a 5-star rating. This is a spectacular hotel in a great location. Staff is very professional, helpful & friendly. We did not find it too be too stuffy and it was not pretentious either. It was very comfortable.

The room we stayed in was gorgeous with plenty of space for both sitting and storage.

The bathroom is beautiful with marble & wood. It has a WC, tub & separate shower. Very spacious.

The courtyard is lovely. Breakfast looked like a decent deal at 16.50 euro. We just didn't get around to enjoying it!

Location is great - a short walk to everything. Avignon is a beautiful city but is very busy. Very central to other sites as well such as Arles, St. Remy, Orange, Les Beaux, etc. Another great plus of this hotel is it's easy access. It is just a street away from exiting the walled city which is very convenient as wouldn't want to drive through the walled city - very narrow, congested streets.

This was a great hotel for us & we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pignacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We had a lovely room at the Hotel d'Europe, beautifully decorated with antiques. The hotel is in a wonderful location, close to the old wall and and the river as well as the town square. Rodrigo at the front desk was especially helpful in offering restaurant suggestions and arranging wake-up calls and transportation.
The highlight of our whole three week holiday was the tour of the Luberon provided by Mika, the hotel tour guide. What a special day! She was very knowledgeable and accommodating in designing a tour around our interests. We loved it!
We would highly recommend the Hotel d'Europe and their tour package to anyone traveling to Avignon.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank charm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,615 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 68 in Avignon
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: $219 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing