We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful one night stay”
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful one night stay”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel for one night only, as we were just passing through. Everybody was so nice when I walked in to ask if they had any double rooms left for one night. My husband was driving around in his car, as it was hard to stop. They asked me what car he had, and I told him a 6 series BMW in dark blue. They went straight out and found him and escorted him and the car into a small drive in, so we could unpack the boot etc. Then they went and parked the car their garage. We sat in the lovely courtyard with wine talking to Sergio, I think he was the manager or assistant manger. The breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit, everything you can think of.
Avignon was wonderful at night, music in the main part of the square, lots of restaurants.
Will always remember our night at the Hotel d' Europe

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    165
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
76
483
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for three nights. The location is great, and very close to restaurants and shopping. The hotel room need to be remodeled. The rooms are well decorated, but very small. The air conditioning died every night about 1AM making the room very warm. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast buffet was good.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a private balcony, it gives you a little more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winofoodtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on the reference photos and recommendations from other travelers. We have chosen the cheapest room available (it is not so cheap compared to other hotels though), and the room was a bit disappointing - the decor are not as elegant as expected, and same for the common areas. Parking also not cheap. Not one of the top recommendations in my trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was sitting under the huge plane tree in the courtyard, sun streaming through, sipping on champagne and wondering if it gets any better? It does, go to the restaurant which earns it's Michelin star. Go to the bar where I had a wonderful evening meeting new and interesting people. Luxuriate in your bed, as comfortable as any I have found outside Paris.

Finally you are located ideally in a town which begs you to wander around, and then cross the Rhone to explore more of Provence. The staff are wonderful, I asked about changing a 500 euro note, which banks are not required to do (!) and they directed me to a cheese shop in the market. Yes, they were right!

This hotel, the staff, food and people I met were the highlight of a wonderful three week tour. It did not concern me, but note that the property does not have a pool.

Room Tip: My room faced the inner courtyard, which made it quiet, and private even when the shutters were open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

In classical style it strongly appeals those whose love a solid and comfortable property. Certainly one of the best hotels I have seen in Provence. The staff is really nice, rooms are spacious, the girls attending the breakfast room are wonderful besides the quality of food is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cultglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The highlight was our tour. We were very happy to spend 2 eight hour days with the hotel's tour driver, Mika. She is very knowledgable in the local regions, cultures and villages and provided us with a delightful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnysix20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We are so happy with our choice of accommodation in Avignon, upon arrival a very friendly and efficient checking which included an explanation of the local area, the porters are excellent and the level of customer service here is very high. We have a large room plenty of storage space , everything is immaculate good sized bathroom. The hotel is situated in the walled area of Avignon and is within easy walking distance of attractions, shops and restaurants are very close by,highly recommend this hotel we have had a fantastic stay here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tasannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.5 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#14 of 69 in Avignon
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing