We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Little tip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Little tip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went to hotel deurope everything was fantastic, as i went 5 times in a year i received a priviledge offer -15% with a code VIP2013HEUROPE that should work until april 2013 specially usefull if you are staying in suite rooms :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grag511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    140
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
65
415
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It can be challenging finding wonderful, spacious, clean and modern hotels when traveling in Provence, this Hotel is all of these and more. The staff at the front desk was welcoming. The room was larger than most and the bathroom was great. The large windows make the room feel extra spacious. The hotel is one of the original buildings in Avignon-the slanting stairs are evidence of that. It was clear that everything in the hotel had been updated and modernized but they did a great job of retaining the charm and historical feel of the hotel. The front terrace is beautiful and provides a lovely setting for breakfast or tea. I encourage you to get driving directions from the hotel as Googlemaps and Mapquest are not great for navigating the entrance to the City and allowing you to find the hotel quickly and easily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lov2travel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hotel is old and lovely, with elegant public spaces. My room (111) was larger than most hotel rooms I have had in France. Private terrace (even if not on my very cold and windy days in Avignon) and big marble bath with a huge tub are perks that I love. Arriving mid-afternoon, I was delighted to be able to have a good lunch in the bar. I particularly liked that the staff all suffered my lousy French and spoke French with me, unless I was obviously lost in the conversation. Everyone spoke English beautifully when it was needed. A great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

An absolutely beautiful and charming hotel. From the valet parking on arrival to the check out upon leaving the staff was great. The rooms were comfortable. The bar was perfect for a late night glass of wine. The courtyard was amazing.
A short walk to shopping , restaurants, and the palace.
One nice find was the Church of Ste Pierre

Room Tip: Have a GPS or really excellent directions because trying to navigate through the walled town is an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Hotel D'Europe did not disappoint its high ranking on Tripadvisor. The Hotel was clean, the same can't be said for the rest of the city, and comfortable. It has many antiques and historical photographs that reflect its history. The sitting areas are fresh but true to the hotel character. The rooms, we stayed in a standard, are small but have nice high ceilings and updated bathrooms. The staff was very helpful and always had a smile. The city of Avignon is unique and a great base to explore the wonderful wineries in the Rhone Valley. If you have a car the hotel has easy access from outside the city walls, have good directions since driving in the center is near impossible with narrow roads and dead ends. You won't go wrong choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sc0ttFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a lovely old grand dame of a hotel inside the old city. Yet at the same time updated and mordern. Everyone was friendly and gracious. We had a memorable french dinner in the wonderful restaurant. Would return again any time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel D'Europe in late September 2012. Avignon was our first stop on a week long trip split between Provence and Paris, and Hotel D'Europe made for a wonderful, relaxing stay. The hotel is full of historic charm (high quality antiques and artwork in public areas) and yet has all the modern amenities one would expect in a 5 star hotel. Our room was tastefully decorated and had a luxurious marble bathroom (notwithstanding that we booked the lowest cost room they offer). The staff (especially Fernando) were very helpful in arranging tours and giving us directions to L'Isle Sur La Sorgue for the Sunday market. We have traveled extensively in Europe and this hotel is definitely one of our favorites. The hotel is located in a charming area of Avignon within walking distance to all the major sites, and also makes a good base for visiting other areas of Provence.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room overlooking the street and it was very quiet due to the double pane windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#9 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#7 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#14 of 70 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing