We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four wonderful days in Provence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Four wonderful days in Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a lovely old grand dame of a hotel inside the old city. Yet at the same time updated and mordern. Everyone was friendly and gracious. We had a memorable french dinner in the wonderful restaurant. Would return again any time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    153
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
70
453
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel D'Europe in late September 2012. Avignon was our first stop on a week long trip split between Provence and Paris, and Hotel D'Europe made for a wonderful, relaxing stay. The hotel is full of historic charm (high quality antiques and artwork in public areas) and yet has all the modern amenities one would expect in a 5 star hotel. Our room was tastefully decorated and had a luxurious marble bathroom (notwithstanding that we booked the lowest cost room they offer). The staff (especially Fernando) were very helpful in arranging tours and giving us directions to L'Isle Sur La Sorgue for the Sunday market. We have traveled extensively in Europe and this hotel is definitely one of our favorites. The hotel is located in a charming area of Avignon within walking distance to all the major sites, and also makes a good base for visiting other areas of Provence.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room overlooking the street and it was very quiet due to the double pane windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a real five star hotel. Everyone was so helpful. It's historic and modern at the same time. Wait till you see the room key. The courtyard out front was great. If you can book this hotel, do it. This town is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plotnick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fabulous location in the old town of Avignon. Set in a beautiful historic building, the lobby, courtyard, bar and restaurant are all very elegant and very French. The hotel has a variety of rooms and rates - something to suit most travellers. The staff are professional, warm and friendly. We had a wonderful stay at this special place and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else the next time we return to Avignon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebastianFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A delightful place (if rather full of over-rich guests that we didn't really identify with) with excellent service. stayed here at end of holiday in 2011 and 2012. First stay we were upgraded to a premiere room because they kept us waiting. Second time we got an internet deal. We could not afford the prices usually, but a great treat. Restaurant too pricey for us and preferred to eat out in Avignon, but hotel is located very centrally.

Room Tip: all rooms different and nice, try and get one with view of square, and try and get a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elwifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved our stay at the Hotel d'Europe. Reminded us of the Relais Christine in Paris. Elegant, somewhat formal, small hotel in a great location. Must be the best hotel in Avignon. If this hotel could replicate itself throughout Europe - that is where we would stay. Huge lovely room and bathroom.. Loved the location - not crazy busy and great restaurants, outdoor dining steps from the front door of the hotel! We enjoyed the Indian (yes, Indian) restaurant around the corner. When in France...also eat Indian.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lowest priced category of rooms and it was great! I can only imagine the higher ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmajia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 weeks in Europe in September and enjoyed a variety of accomodations but this was our favorite hotel! We were there for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. It is beautiful and elegant without being overdone or stuffy. Fabulous bathroom, in addition to the lovely bedroom. Great location, perfect for walking to many restaurants, the Palace of the Popes, the Bridge to Nowhere ... Really made our visit to the windy city of Avignon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCraig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing