We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A gourp of friends & myself stayed at this hotel 23Aug for 2night,
we decided on spending a little more in Avignon & treat ourselves to something special which was worth it.. this hotel is a true Luxury 5 star hotel !!
The service is "IMPECCABLE", we were treated like royalty. We stayed in other 5 star hotels, but I never had service like this !!
There are no two rooms alike however all rooms decorated with antique furniture. Unfortunately we didn't get to try their restaurant for dinner as it was closed for this period, however we did try their breakfast which was very good & surprisingly was resonable in price for a 5 star hotel !!
I especially loved their garden, lovely place to enjoy your breakfast or share a glass of wine with friends. Location is ideal...close to the famous pont d'avion & Chateau du Pape.
This hotel has definitely made our trip in Avignon more memorable & special.

Room Tip: The basic rooms were lovely, I can only imagine what the presige rooms look like ... :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    158
    41
    14
    5
See reviews for
72
467
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just stayed there Sept 2012 again. Last stayed there about 10 years ago. Yes, it's a bit pricy, buy worth the rare splurge. Many differently priced rooms available. Walking distance to all the attractions in old Avignon. An exquisite hotel and wonderful, quiet, beautiful, large, shaded courtyard for dining, cocktails, reading, whatever. Great restaurants 50 steps away. See Le Crillon review. Would be 5 stars except for cost.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the hotel at the end of July for four nights Wasn't sure exactly what the accomodations would be as the hotel is hundreds of years old. We were surprised at the quality of the room. It had been completely renovated. Brand new beautiful marble washroom/shower. Electronic shutters for the windows - flat screen t.v. - controls for the lights next to the bed. Found our room a bit noisy on the Friday night we stayed there. The young lady at the front desk was more than willing to change to any room we would like - including the "honeymoon suite" - at no extra charge. We decided to stay in our room but did view the other rooms - the suites had small terraces which our room didn't have.
Great location. Right across the road were several restaurants to choose from. Had dinner one evening outside - spectacular meal - and walked across back to the hotel. There was a courtyard in the hotel for drinks and to have breakfast. Breakfast was a traditional french breakfast (croissants, breads, yogurt, fruit etc). Overall would definitely stay there again. A five minute walk to the main centre of town - we were able to walk to dinner every evening - did not need a taxi to get around the main centre of Avignon. Did day trips to towns outside of Avignon - the hotel staff was eager to help with the planning.

Room Tip: Rooms that face directly onto the front of the hotel were noisy late in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I don't want to sound like a bargain hound but it just so happened that, on several occasions, we lucked into a great deal. At this hotel it was a real act of kindness on the part of the charming gent at reception.
As we had been doing all along our two week trip through France, we arrived at the last minute. No reservations.
The hotel was glorious but when told of the price of the only room left, I balked. No way. It's way too extravagant. We walked out.
But my husband had already fallen in love with the hotel and so, after a short discussion, he want back inside and said, okay we'll take it.
To his amazement the reception gent smiled and said, well, since your wife thinks it's so expensive, I'll give you a discount. Just like that.
Of course the room was fabulous and all of Avignon breathtaking. But what I remember the most is the cheerful exuberant fellow who wanted to make us happy. And happy we were.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BulleWatervilleMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was a highlight of our 3 week trip. The staff was extrememly friendly and helpful. The restaurant, 1 Michilin Star chef, had amazing food. The romantic courtyard was a plus. I would return to this hotel again and again.

Room Tip: If you cn afford an upgrade, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattifromsurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel ADDED to my experience in Avignon.

LOCATION inside the old town, just a short walk to the major sites.
ROOM had elegant and old charm, with high ceilings, large windows opening onto courtyard, elegant chandelier, and modern bathroom fixtures. The hotel is OLD and feels old, as the floors slant...adding to the charm.
LOBBY is traditional old france, with high ceilings, beautiful carved moldings.
SERVICE was attentive, helpful and friendly.
VALUE was good.
RESTAURANT looked lovely but didn't eat there...wish I had!
OVERALL, I feel lucky we found this place and I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susQnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a perfect location to stay in Avignon. The staff were very pleasant upon checkin and very helpful in planning our day tours and soirees! You must dine at the "Le Vieux Fontagne" restaurant in the courtyard in the evening. Food and service are wonderful. Loved our room overlooking the courtyard; the view of the trees and rooftops was like staring at a classic masterpiece work of art. The bathroom was very large with a wonderful bathtub to soak in each evening! Each evening we would "sneak" up to the 3rd floor lookout for wine and cheese and enjoy the views of the Popes Palace!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing