We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegantly Comfortable”
Review of Hotel d'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel d'Europe
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegantly Comfortable”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was a highlight of our 3 week trip. The staff was extrememly friendly and helpful. The restaurant, 1 Michilin Star chef, had amazing food. The romantic courtyard was a plus. I would return to this hotel again and again.

Room Tip: If you cn afford an upgrade, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattifromsurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    166
    42
    14
    6
See reviews for
78
491
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel ADDED to my experience in Avignon.

LOCATION inside the old town, just a short walk to the major sites.
ROOM had elegant and old charm, with high ceilings, large windows opening onto courtyard, elegant chandelier, and modern bathroom fixtures. The hotel is OLD and feels old, as the floors slant...adding to the charm.
LOBBY is traditional old france, with high ceilings, beautiful carved moldings.
SERVICE was attentive, helpful and friendly.
VALUE was good.
RESTAURANT looked lovely but didn't eat there...wish I had!
OVERALL, I feel lucky we found this place and I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susQnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a perfect location to stay in Avignon. The staff were very pleasant upon checkin and very helpful in planning our day tours and soirees! You must dine at the "Le Vieux Fontagne" restaurant in the courtyard in the evening. Food and service are wonderful. Loved our room overlooking the courtyard; the view of the trees and rooftops was like staring at a classic masterpiece work of art. The bathroom was very large with a wonderful bathtub to soak in each evening! Each evening we would "sneak" up to the 3rd floor lookout for wine and cheese and enjoy the views of the Popes Palace!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotel D'Europe was everything and more beyond expectations. Beautiful hotel, location, clean, smelt amazing, friendly staff, outstanding service. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and the bed the most comfortable. Amenities and everything were 5*. Thought it was worth every penny and made our stay in Avignon so memorable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax,Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just spent three glorious nights at this fabulous hotel.
The best hotel in Avignon.
The staff made our experience the most memorable.They all were friendly and service with a smile.
Prompt room service every morning.Great housekeeping.Emaculate rooms.Huge rooms and bathrooms with walk-in closet.Loads of space for our clothes.
We had a Prestige room on the courtyard side and loved it!!We felt like we were in a Van Gogh painting every morning as we opened the shutters to our extra large windows to let the warm breeze and sunshine in.
The rooms are charmingly decorated in old Provencal style.If you are looking for modern "w" hotel style decor you are out of luck.
Great location.Can walk everywhere from hotel.
Would NOT stay anywhere else.Yes its expensive but consider this the prime address to stay in.
A huge special thanks to our "amiga" Marcela for making our stay extra special with tips and reservations to great restuarants and organizing a great private Provence tour.
Just a tip-we bought a nice wine at Chateauneuf-de Pape ordered some nice cheese and sat out on the third floor terrace and watched the sun set's colours reflect off the Pope's Plalce enjoying our drinks and cheese.Heaven.
Nobody seemed to know about this terrace.Its a secret ;)
If the hotel is good enough for Napoleon its good enough for us!!!!
Merci
See you all soon.
Merci et a bientot

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Loved this Hotel. Sits just inside the wall at Avignon. Perfect location. Very elegant, spacious room, 101. The courtyard entrance is so inviting. We enjoyed wine in the evening there before heading to dinner and breakfast the next morning (which was very good). The staff was very friendly and helpful. So wish we would have scheduled another night to be there. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We loved Room 101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardigrasmama_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We cannot say enough positive things about this hotel. It's so quaint yet has all the comforts you expect. Our room was large and the bathroom was bigger than my own at home. It was hot when we were there and the air conditioning worked full force. Such a nice place to come back and take a break from the heat. The staff was friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
958 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.5 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#16 of 69 in Avignon
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Property: Hotel d'Europe
Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing