We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel le Medieval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel le Medieval
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel is in a perfect location, just a couple of streets from the Palace of the Popes and Town Square, as well as all the fine restaurants on the way. Mike was fabulous from the time of booking via e-mail, and was very helpful and informative upon arrival with recommendations for dinner and places to see. With 2 adults and two 11 year old children, we wanted to be in one room; in hidsight we could have had two rooms with a bit more space but everything was fine with Mike setting up an additional bed for us in the triple room.
There were minor issues other reviewers have mentioned like the timed shower, but this was a great hotel with superior value for money. I would highly recommend it, and with Mike "at the helm", we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor. The courtyard rooms looked nice with a pleasant area to sit and relax o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    132
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
44
141
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This hotel was recommended by trip advisor and several other sources,however we found it to be very mediocre. It was very dark in the hallways and the room and we did not find it to be at all charming especially after my daughter 24 year old daughter was severely reprimanded by the front desk clerk when she entered the lobby wearing her prescription sunglasses. She was told in no uncertain terms that it was very rude to wear sunglasses when communicating with him and he was insulted that we had not greeted him personally upon entering. We had already checked into the place early that morning and were discussing briefly amongst ourselves what arrangements we needed to make regarding transportation for our trip a vineyard the next morning. When my daughter who speaks fluent French began to speak to him, he went off on this tirade telling her there was no need to "try" to speak French as he was an Englishman. I asked him if there was a blow dryer we could get for the room and he grimaced acting like I had said something vulgar. I reiterated that I needed a hair dryer and also a conversion plug. He came up with the dryer but went to a drawer to look for a plug and said "the Americans' always steal them so they did not have any to lend. It was obvious he did not like Americans and was very condecsending to women. We were both very upset and it ruined our evening. Out of all the hotels there, we had chosen this one and were very upset by the unwarranted rudeness of this man.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great hotel right in the middle of the old town. Our double room had everything you could need - private bathroom, air con, TV, kitchenette - and faced into an inner courtyard which was perfect for a peaceful night's sleep. Mike (the owner?) was absolutely lovely and gave us heaps of advice on where to go and what to see. There's no elevator but the stairs are 330(?) years old and actually quite lovely so we didn't the climb at all. The Palace of the Popes and the main square with all the restaurants are just around the corner. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yenniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is very close to centre of Avignon. The popes' palace, pont d'Avignon, and many restaurants are a few short steps from Hotel le Medieval. Reception staff are friendly, helpful, and speak both English and French. The studio room that we stayed in was very clean and charming. It was small, with a double bed, small table, wardrobe, t.v., and a tiny ensuite kitchen that had a sink, a hot plate, and a mini-fridge. If you are looking to cook elaborate meals, this would not be the place to stay. Additionally, the air-conditioning unit was very loud so we did not often turn it on. As well, there was no fan in the washroom and became very humid after showering. Overall, we would stay there again. If you like to keep busy with day trips and exploring, and will not be spending to much time in your hotel (except for sleeping and light eating), then I would highly recommend Hotel le Medieval!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaPetiteNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

It's a little hotel just a very few minutes from the 'place des papas'. It's clean and with a good service. The room are well furnished, the bath it's ok. The price is good as you think about the quality. 78 € a double breakfast included.
There is a Pubblic garage just 300 mt from the hotel in which you car park your car with a discount
It was a warmly evening in Avignon

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefano p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

The location of this hotel is amazing and close to everything. The Concierge was very knowledgeable and super helpful. Our room, however, was teeny, the bed was uncomfortable, the towels were old, and the shower is a pain in the rear. The shower is on a timer, and by timer I mean like a sink with a push button. It will stay on with one push for about 10 seconds and then it's done. This makes it very difficult to take a shower. Our room did have a/c, however when turned to the coldest setting it was still quite warm in our room. On plus though, is that on the alley, you can hear people urinating and copulating!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSmythes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Little hotel in small lane close to main Place and Popes' Palace. Breakfast minimal, disappointing, rooms widely varying in size (we got a tiny one and the daughter and her boyfriend got a HUGE one, same price) with useless kitchenette but no place to put clothes. Very nice seating area at grand staircase, nice little courtyard, but couch in front lobby close to disintegrating

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scdaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boquier
Hotel Boquier
#20 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#21 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Colbert
Hotel Le Colbert
#17 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Medieval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Medieval

Property: Hotel le Medieval
Address: 15 rue de la Petite Saunerie, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Medieval 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love old buildings and history? Enjoy a comfortable air-conditioned room in our house of the sixteenth century, in the heart of the old city of Avignon, near the Pope's Palace. Serviced by a monumental and 3 floors (there is no elevator) staircase, all rooms are equipped with full bathrooms, WC, flat screen TV, air conditioning and free WiFi. For an extended stay, booking the room with kitchenette (minimum 3 nights). Municipal pay parking 200 meters from the hotel with discount. Motorcycle parking and free on-site bicycle (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel le Medieval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medieval Hotel
Le Medieval Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing