We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Petite Saunerie
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes(Avignon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel de l'Horloge(Avignon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Danieli Hotel(Avignon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
94
24
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
24
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne lisehomemade jamshome madeb bfamily kitchenyogurtprivate toiletfour poster bedcomfortable bedbeautiful roomperfect staygreat showerperfect hostsbreakfast is servedour night stayperfect locationquiet street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 122 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked this B&B after our favorite hotel had no vacancy. Now we have a problem, as we have an additional favorite in Avignon. Located, near the Popes Palace in the heart of the old Avignon, 'La Petite Saunerie' is a wonderful option, if you look for a friendly host (Anna Lise), tasty breakfast with home made ingredients and like old restored buildings and romantically decorated rooms. We truly enjoyed our two night stay.

Room Tip: We've stayed in the spacious 'La Bourgeoise' room, which is very comfortable and also provides a nice spacious bathroom/shower.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed 3 days and it was great expeience!! We stayed 2 different room and those are so lovely even better than photo!! And the breakfast is so delicisa with various jams and bread all homemade- Thanks to Anna-Lisa!!
For all great yorur service. I hope I can come again soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent three nights in total at this delightful little B&B. It is in the perfect location to explore Avignon. It is in a quite historic little lane way, but only a 3-5 minute walk from the popes palace, many restaurants, and lots of other sights.

The location is quiet and very peaceful. Unfortunately the website does not have photos of the outside of the building and the lane way. But rest assured it is a lovely building and area.

The B&B is three guest rooms in the family home of Anna Lise and Vincent. This home is on the first floor of an 18th century building originally built by a lawyer for his family of thirteen children. The building is now divided into four homes.

We spent two nights were in the Chambre “la bourgeoise”. This room was very very large and very beautifully decorated. The photos on the website provide a true indication of the room. There is an enormous French window looking out onto the narrow lane. The bed was a double size and comfortable. The pillows were European. This room also has an ensuite which is beautiful. The ensuite has a toilet, shower and a small basin. The lovely French doors of the bathroom overlook the central courtyard of the family home.... So we kept the doors and blinds closed whilst using the amenities. The shower was very nice.

Whilst check is is not usually until 5pm, we were able to check in at 10:30am when we arrived in Avignon because the room was free. This was very nice. Unfortunately the toilet had not been flushed, and the bathroom rubbish bin had not been emptied... Perhaps forgotten in the haste of getting the room ready early for us.

This room was entered from the entry foyer of the hosts home. So it possibly the most private of the guest rooms. However it is worth bearing in mind that you can hear all the comings and goings thought the entry foyer. The bedroom door, being hundreds of years old, does not shut tightly. There is a little gap along the bottom half where you can see through.

Breakfast is served in the family dining room, which is alongside the family kitchen. Our first morning was home made bread, home made brioche, home made jams, home made plain yoghurt, muesli and coffee/tea/chocolate. No juice was offered, which is different to the other reviews. The second morning croissants were available instead of the brioche. The third morning some fruit was also available. The table was beautifully layed.

After two nights we moved to the romantic room, as our room was not available for all three nights that we required. The room was available at about 10:30am, so we simply moved our bags.

The romantic room was less enticing than our first room. It opened directly from the family lounge room. Whilst there is a bath and a basin in the room, you do have to walk through the family lounge room and kitchen to use the toilet. The toilet is in a very small room, and my knees touched the door whilst sitting down. I am only 168cm tall.

The romantic room is charmingly decorated, and large by European standards. However it is not as perfect and freshly renovated as our first room. There a three large windows opening onto the charming lane ways. This room is very light and airy.

The towels provided for our stay were just how I like them.... Washed with no softener and sun dried so that they were nice and rough. Not everyone likes them like this.... But I love them.

There are not televisions in the rooms, which suited us. We don't watch television anyway. But if you do wish to watch television, you can use the family lounge room.

There was unlimited Internet. The quality was not quite good enough to use video on FaceTime successfully. However everything else was fine.

The other guest room appeared to be accessed via the kitchen. We did not get to see it.

Anna Lise speaks just enough English to explain what you need. She provides recommendations of sights to visit and restuarants to eat at. She was helpful and friendly without being intrusive. She provided a map of Avignon and drew on it various places to visit.

If I were to make suggestions to the owners it would be to include some glasses in the room, so that we could have a drink if we needed to, and some tissues.

As always one of the best bits of staying in a B&B is the wonderful conversations had over the breakfast table with interesting people from all over the world.

I would recommend this B&B to oth visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomasSmith876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I were traveling through France and we simply loved staying here in Avignon. You are in the middle of it all without being in the middle of it all. This B&B is in a private home that has been renovated for this purpose with ensuite baths and great amenities. The inkeepers were wonderful and the breakfasts were all made from scratch and she is quite a baker! We can't say enough good about our stay. Should you stay here? In a word, definitely.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jhk1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and felt very welcomed and at home. It is a great location in the old centre, close to everything. The room was beautiful, almost a bit quirky, the bed was comfortable also a great shower. Anne-Lise's breakfasts were a good start to the day and on our last morning we had to leave very early so she baked a gorgeous cherry flan for us. It is a very quite atmosphere and you may not see anyone else. A lovely place and a lovely host.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews