We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Modern hotel with an easy walk to central Avignon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Avignon Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Avignon Centre
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with an easy walk to central Avignon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent two nights in this new hotel which is situated across the street from the city wall very near the heart of the city. It was easy to access and depart by car and it is close to the train station. The small streets of the town are congested and undergoing a lot of construction so we were glad to park our car in Novotel's underground parking lot and walk to and from sights and restaurants. Parking costs a modest 10 Euros per night. The room was very clean, very quiet, the bed was comfortable and we had a view of the city wall. The free internet was reliable. There is a large restaurant and they serve a good breakfast buffet (additional fee). The front desk and restaurant staff were polite and competent.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a city wall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable relations publiques at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    574
    127
    43
    13
See reviews for
363
501
36
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Started with a very cold welcome by the trainee at the check-in desk who couldn't even look up as she was too busy in paperwork; which made me wonder her value at a front line checking desk. I had to interrupt, which she appeared to mind.

We were told our room didn't have a bath as it was an executive room (I requested a bath), no alternatives or apologies. After the duty manager intervened, we were moved to a standard room with a bath which would be converted to executive standard. Parts of the amenities arrived within the hour, but most of it the next day after I called twice.

Same trainee couldn't even look at us or greet after coming back from a small walk to Avignon (other staff did)

Room cleanliness: After 1st day servicing, we found dirt on the floor which included what appeared to be toe nails. Bath hadn't been cleaned and empty bottles of shampoo/gel were still on the side - pictures taken in case hotel replies to review.

Breakfast quality is below average. Hot food runs out very quickly and not good tasting. Fruits are not fresh. Had to ask for plates and cutlery. Although polite, the breakfast staff doesn't appear supervised or aware items are running out.
Twice on different days, we saw staff from the hotel, come out of the kitchen and help themselves to breakfast and go back to their stations (one appeared to be a supervisor, the other at the checkin desk). One made the comment, she had just got in and was starving !Perhaps this is were the hot/good food goes :)

We were woken up at 7:30am on Sunday by a wake up call which we never set up. As compensation, hotel waived the 45Euros parking cost, which is great.

Spa: Didn't try as we were suspicious on the service.

To summarise:
Nicely laid out modern hotel, but no one to do it justice
Good location - cross the road the you're in the walled city.

One of my worst stay at a Novotel/Accord !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable réception at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were quite pleased with this hotel for our small tour group. It was clean and modern and seemed to have all the amenities. The only downside was other tour groups that did not have any manners in the restaurant during breakfast. This is a great stop-over hotel for Avignon, which is not a thriving tourist attraction it would like to be. Stay here and visit elsewhere. It's close to the walled city limits and red light district. A few restaurants are close by to walk to but try not to go out past 10 pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destingal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable réception at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel…we stayed here for a couple nights in the middle of a 10 day trip to France. The rooms are much larger than most in France, so it was refreshing to have a little more room. Our room was very clean and the shower was great. My bed was very comfortable, and I enjoyed 2 nights of great sleep here. I was there at the very end of July (2012), and our air conditioning worked very well. All in all, we were very pleased with our room. It is decorated in a modern style…clean and crisp. I only mention this in case you are dreaming of a place decorated in a more traditional French style.

The location is right outside the old city wall. You simply cross the street and you are right there at the wall. So, it was an enjoyable walk for us to go to the old part of the city, but we love to walk and are very active. I love to see a new city by foot. However, if you think you might struggle walking very far, then I’d try and get something inside the old city walls.

The breakfast was fair to good. There were lots of options consisting of pastries, fruit, juice, etc. We never left breakfast hungry. Wi-fi worked great.

The post office is right across the street (inside the city wall), which is handy if you want to ship things home.

The staff was mostly very friendly and pleasant. We did have a small problem/question one night while making our train ticket reservation at the lobby computer. We asked one of the ladies working at the front desk for help since we could not figure out what the problem was. Let me first say that it WAS a complicated thing to try and get help on. My French is basic, and we did have some trouble communicating on this issue. But it was also clear that she had other things to do. However, I do feel like this was partly my fault, as I was in France and had trouble speaking their language. But I am also used to hotel desks viewing it as part of their job to help you with small questions such as this, and I felt pretty helpless. So, my point to this side story is that I believe their English is enough to help you with *basic questions and maybe brush up on your French before you go to France. ☺

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmettoGirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock,
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Loved this hotel! Comfortable beds, good shower, very friendly front desk staff. I left my toothbrush in the previous hotel and the girl at the reception desk helped me get a new one. So sweet. Also the bartender is super cute! I was very happy to be staying outside the walls due to the large amount of homeless people in the city. Felt safer, the sweet girl at the reception desk made sure to warn us about our bags and safety. Would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had originally booked to stay at the Mercure Hotel, Pont d'Avignon, but it was under renovation and the reception sent us to their sister hotel, the Novotel. Situated just outside the Old City wall, the hotel was an easy walk to all that the ancient city of Avignon has to offer. On checking in, the staff were expecting us, honored the package we had agreed at the Mercure, and made us feel very welcome.
The hotel is very modern, furnished and decorated with French flair and innovation. Our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfst included hot and cold items with fresh pastries and self-serve coffee or tea.
We particularly enjoyed dinner in the hotel. Although the menu was limited, the food was well presented and tasty.
All of the hotel staff we met - reception, bar, and restaurant, were friendly and helpful. Most spoke excellent English. Those who didn't were very patient with our limited French.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (rail track is close by).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is exactly what you'd expect from a virtually new Novotel - very smart, good rooms, good breakfast, etc. On top of that the location is great if you're driving - very easy to find, excellent car park underneath, and then only a shortish walk from the centre of the city. Perfect for what we wanted for an overnight stop in Avignon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chau98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#10 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Avignon Centre

Property: Novotel Avignon Centre
Address: 20 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Avignon Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing