We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gorgeous Modern Hotel in the Middle of Historic District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Avignon Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Avignon Centre
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Modern Hotel in the Middle of Historic District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were quite pleased with this hotel for our small tour group. It was clean and modern and seemed to have all the amenities. The only downside was other tour groups that did not have any manners in the restaurant during breakfast. This is a great stop-over hotel for Avignon, which is not a thriving tourist attraction it would like to be. Stay here and visit elsewhere. It's close to the walled city limits and red light district. A few restaurants are close by to walk to but try not to go out past 10 pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destingal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable réception at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    544
    118
    39
    12
See reviews for
343
474
35
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel…we stayed here for a couple nights in the middle of a 10 day trip to France. The rooms are much larger than most in France, so it was refreshing to have a little more room. Our room was very clean and the shower was great. My bed was very comfortable, and I enjoyed 2 nights of great sleep here. I was there at the very end of July (2012), and our air conditioning worked very well. All in all, we were very pleased with our room. It is decorated in a modern style…clean and crisp. I only mention this in case you are dreaming of a place decorated in a more traditional French style.

The location is right outside the old city wall. You simply cross the street and you are right there at the wall. So, it was an enjoyable walk for us to go to the old part of the city, but we love to walk and are very active. I love to see a new city by foot. However, if you think you might struggle walking very far, then I’d try and get something inside the old city walls.

The breakfast was fair to good. There were lots of options consisting of pastries, fruit, juice, etc. We never left breakfast hungry. Wi-fi worked great.

The post office is right across the street (inside the city wall), which is handy if you want to ship things home.

The staff was mostly very friendly and pleasant. We did have a small problem/question one night while making our train ticket reservation at the lobby computer. We asked one of the ladies working at the front desk for help since we could not figure out what the problem was. Let me first say that it WAS a complicated thing to try and get help on. My French is basic, and we did have some trouble communicating on this issue. But it was also clear that she had other things to do. However, I do feel like this was partly my fault, as I was in France and had trouble speaking their language. But I am also used to hotel desks viewing it as part of their job to help you with small questions such as this, and I felt pretty helpless. So, my point to this side story is that I believe their English is enough to help you with *basic questions and maybe brush up on your French before you go to France. ☺

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmettoGirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock,
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Loved this hotel! Comfortable beds, good shower, very friendly front desk staff. I left my toothbrush in the previous hotel and the girl at the reception desk helped me get a new one. So sweet. Also the bartender is super cute! I was very happy to be staying outside the walls due to the large amount of homeless people in the city. Felt safer, the sweet girl at the reception desk made sure to warn us about our bags and safety. Would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had originally booked to stay at the Mercure Hotel, Pont d'Avignon, but it was under renovation and the reception sent us to their sister hotel, the Novotel. Situated just outside the Old City wall, the hotel was an easy walk to all that the ancient city of Avignon has to offer. On checking in, the staff were expecting us, honored the package we had agreed at the Mercure, and made us feel very welcome.
The hotel is very modern, furnished and decorated with French flair and innovation. Our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfst included hot and cold items with fresh pastries and self-serve coffee or tea.
We particularly enjoyed dinner in the hotel. Although the menu was limited, the food was well presented and tasty.
All of the hotel staff we met - reception, bar, and restaurant, were friendly and helpful. Most spoke excellent English. Those who didn't were very patient with our limited French.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (rail track is close by).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is exactly what you'd expect from a virtually new Novotel - very smart, good rooms, good breakfast, etc. On top of that the location is great if you're driving - very easy to find, excellent car park underneath, and then only a shortish walk from the centre of the city. Perfect for what we wanted for an overnight stop in Avignon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chau98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable relations clients at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

this hotel was very good for me as a travellers,because firstly when we enter the hotel we just smell the lemongrass allover the hotel which is very nice! the receptionist was very kind,and this hotel actually makes us dont want to go and just stay in that room.because the room very comfortable,very clean,very minimalism style,and the bathroom was very clean and interesting..! there was a iceglass that when we hit the button and the glass become clearglass..that was interesting and seducting actually..the location was good,its situated near old centre of Avignon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Responsable relations publiques at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voronezh, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

+ great location in the center of city
+ rich breakfast
+ free wifi in the rooms
+ good helpful stuff
+ quite, new, comfortable rooms with all facilities
+ good pool

- no free parking
- not cosy hall for breakfast (don't like that plastic chairs)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vera Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIR_ADJOINTE, Propriétaire at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2016
Thank you for sharing your feelings after your stay with us,
We have improved since your stay.
Do not hesitate to stay back with us in July to enjoy the Avignon Theater Festival and our Parties-evenings organized in the hotel (tapas, bar à champagne and rosé)
Or to relax in our NOVASPA with massage and discover relaxation area (Hamman, sauna and Jacuzzi tub)
Our teams will be happy to make your stay a much better experience
best regards
Catherine Panatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#10 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#2 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#15 of 70 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
3.8 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Avignon Centre

Property: Novotel Avignon Centre
Address: 20 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Avignon Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Novotel Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing