We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and charming atmosphere”
Review of Fou de Fafa

Fou de Fafa
Ranked #1 of 611 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $36
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food and charming atmosphere”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 6.30 as the doors opened and enjoyed having the restaurant to ourselves for about an hour. After that it quickly filled up, so reservations would be recommended. The hostess hails from England and so caters for the non-French speakers perfectly.

The food was excellent, being sophisticated but unpretentious. It is evident that the chef is trained through experience rather than schooled, as the meals have a distinct home cooked charm, which we thought added to the overall experience. My partner thought that the salmon tartare was the best salmon she had ever had. Overall excellent value for the quality of produce.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    986
    230
    57
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great restaurant in Avignon, with a reasonable price for the delicious food you get! I had the duck breast and it was definitely worth it for the price point. The hostess was very accommodating, and helped us with a wine selection. Make sure to make reservations (we e-mailed the restaurant the same day), because the restaurant was full by 8pm.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average food for the Tourist”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Average tourist place. Seems poplar with tourists.There are loads of similar in Avignon centre and would advise trying a few.You may discover better ones

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlderWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Avignon; hands down.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I cannot emphasize enough how good both the food and service are here. Being run by a French-British couple, the atmosphere is very intimate and exclusive, and is great for both French and English speaking people. This has definitely earned its top-spot on the TripAdvisor list.

Would highly recommend to anyone in Avignon, especially couples looking for a romantic evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Yannick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply delicious!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Antonia and Russel, the couple that run this restaurant are incredibly talented. The food that comes out of the kitchen is fresh, local and simply delicious. I was so excited for my cauliflower soup with truffle oil to arrive that I could hardly wait and to to my delight I didn't have to! She brought us an aperitif of a delicious fritatta. I couldn't fault any part of the meal. The atmosphere was delightful. Fou de Fafa makes for a throughly enjoyable night whether in a couple, with friends or just there to treat your taste buds!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fou de Fafa also viewed

 

Been to Fou de Fafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing