We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very clean”
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Room was quite expensive but so are others in this city. We had a smallish double which did not have any views to the street although it was as we requested very quiet. Our windows opended into an unattractive internal courtyard however at night there was absolutely no noise so we slept very well.
Room had comfortable beds, fridge/minibar, room safe and air conditioning. TV also available however only english news stations were found. Room and bedding was very clean and the room although small was comfortable. (Many older hotels in France do have very small rooms). Bathroom was very modern and had a great shower and also a separate small bath. Hair dryer in the bathroom. Not by any standards a luxury hotel however it is a solid 3 star french hotel.
Front of house staff spoke very good english and after a day knew our room number without us having to ask. Hotel has a lounge area with a small bar however with good bars around and about this was not heavily used. As previously mentioned the hotel is used by tour groups but this will not affect in any way the independant traveller.
Did not take breakfast here as it was expensive. There are bars close by where breakfast can be had for much less than the hotel charges.
Hotel is 3 minutes walk from where the Navette/Bus transfer from the TGV train station drops off outside the main post office so it is easy to find.
Cross the road in front of the hotel and take one of the two small lanes immediately to your right and left will bring you into a lovely tree lined square with bars/cafes/restaurants where you can find a less expensive lunch/dinner than those closer to the action.
Hotel Bristol is a decent place if a little expensive for what it provides.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 531 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staying just one night in Avignon I booked this hotel on strength of TA recommendations and wasn't disappointed. Efficient and friendly reception staff let us check to room in on arrival mid morning. Our room was spacious and comfortable although a glimpse of someone else's room suggested some are much smaller. Location on the main street is perfect as we were leaving by train and its just a few minutes direct walk from the railway station . At the other end of the street 10 minutes walk brings you to the Popes Palace and the famous bridge. Not particularly cheap at 135 Euros for the night but good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for six nights with a group using it as a base for touring Provence. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. Our room and bathroom were spacious. The rooms were clean and tidy and everything worked, including the air conditioning. The staff were universally pleasant and obliging. The hotel does not have a dining room but this is not a problem as there are numerous excellent restaurants nearby. There is an adequate breakfast room with a good breakfast buffet serving cold meats, cheese and boiled eggs. The food is fresh and well presented. The location of the hotel within the old city walls makes it very convenient for sightseeing. Avignon is a delightful city and there is much to see there. I would be happy to stay at the Bristol again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Accommodation in Avignon can be a challenge, even out of Festival schedule. Bristol Hotel was full when I stayed there recently so was pleased to have booked in advance. Caters for quite large groups.

Excellent location - valet parking option is worth it for €12 a day I think. Nr tourist office where staff are very helpful. Breakfast at €12 seems a little OTT but small quibble overall.

Tartines at Ginette et Marcel nearby provide good lunch option.

Room Tip: go for room at the back if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night in Avignon (all you really need), as stated by others, convenient location, helpful staff, small but comfortable room, Ikea-like furnishings, and funky bathtub/ shower arrangement and no bathroom ammenities other than soap...but clean, quiet and comfortable. Would definately stay here again, best value for price of lodgings in a 2 week trip to France!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Bristol Hotel,solid 4 for you. Why 4? It's located on the main street of the old city, close to loads of restaurants and cafes and stores. The Avignon train station is a block away and the shuttle (navette) to the Avignon TGV station is on the corner of the same block. Across the street is the Avignon tourist office. The staff is super friendly. Last week we asked if they could make restaurant reservations for us. No problem, they were glad to help and make (good) recommendations.
Why not 5? In our bathroom there was a tub and a handheld, but no shower curtain or wall mount for the hand piece. A little different. One day I made a flood on the floor and the next day I sat in the bathtub like in a rehab facility. The air conditioning was just barely adequate and could not be controlled in the room. Nevertheless, recommended.

Room Tip: If the shower is important, ask if all rooms have bathrooms like we had. They may be different. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MhaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This turned out to be a good choise for us to explore Avignon and surrounds. We got a good deal through Expedia for 3 nights and the hotel was nice but nothing fancy. The reception staff were all very helpful and the location was very good, walking distance to the main sites in Avignon and just inside the city walls. Its also close to the train station (but no noice) for those who arrive by Train.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrikbzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 68 in Avignon
1,629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#15 of 68 in Avignon
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
Ibis Avignon Centre Gare
#16 of 68 in Avignon
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Address: 44 cours Jean Jaures, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: $77 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a Bristol Hotel Avignon is the perfect way to explore an unparalleled history! The Avignon’s old town is literally blanketed with historic sites including the Papal Palace, the Petit-palais Museum, the Saint Bénézet Bridge, the Notre-Dame-des-Doms Cathedral, the Doms Rocks, the Calvet Museum, the Saint-Didier Church and the Saint-Pierre Church. Located within the city walls, in the very heart of historic Avignon, the Hotel Bristol is an establishment with a tradition. Less than 10 minutes on foot from the Papal Palace, we do our very best to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. You can leave your car in front of the hotel when you are checking in. If you have reserved a space in our private garage, a personal vehicle parking and retrieval service will be provided by our valet attendant. Otherwise, we can also show you public parking lots in the vicinity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing