We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Atmosphere”
Review of Mamma Corsica

Mamma Corsica
Ranked #23 of 600 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $11
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Pour grande occasion, repas d'affaire, pour les groupes, sur reservation, Terrasse exterieur haute saison, pour la famille, plats a emporter, BRUNCH MAISON tous les dimanches de 11 h 30 a 16 h 30 ... pensez a reserver !
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After a long day on the road we arrived late and used trip advisor to help us locate some restaurants near our hotel. The restaurant is full of charm and if you need it, you can request a menu in English. A great help to my companion who can't speak any French! We had the lamb, salmon and shared the meats platter! For dessert we had the chestnut cake and chocolate mousse. In a word....delicious! Well worth it and good value for your euro!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginaj_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    286
    67
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very authentic....pleasant and delicious”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Really nice experience....food was authentic....great value and very delicious..The salmon was superb..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mistral Magic”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Arriving With the famous winds howling around the streets of this charming town, we stepped into an experience that proved there is no "Out of Season" for exceptional dining experiences. Arriving just before 8:00 PM we were given a clue to this establishment's favor amongst locals when we learned there were only 2 choices of tables left amongst the 12+ seatings on the floor - all others were reserved. And this on a Wednesday night. The service and meal that followed gave abundant verification for why it was so popular.

Our hostess, who singularly manages the entire front end of this operation demonstrated the casual, friendly yet subtlle 'über-efficency' of a restranteur who clearly knows how to make a customer feel welcome, and satisfied. With friendly attentive service, delivered to all regardless of actual ability to talk the same language, she made us feel right at home with our tourist command of French - which made for a really nice atmosphere, right from the start. And that human side of it was just a natural reflection of the atmosphere brought forth by the comfortable seating and table set-ups within.

Selecting the set menu was the easy part, as it represented a very reasonable cost route to sampling all 3 courses of offerings. - entree, main and dessert. Fortunately there were 2 of us, so we were able to taste multiple offerings from all settings. The entrees covered both the vegetarian and carivorous inclinations, and both were light yet pleasing on the palate, and exactly the right portion; satisfying, yet leaving one anxiously awaiting the next course. The mains were delectable. The fish was excellently prepared with a firmness which commandeered your appreciation for its naturally full yet delicate taste, enriched by a sauce that complemented with its own presence. The pasta had a filling to die for, and was so fresh that it seemed to melt in one's mouth. Heavenly! Both dishes were complemented by reasonably priced wines (red &white) which tasted like they should have costed more. And the desserts were truly crowning touches to a fabulous experience. Tasted wonderful, but just as importantly to these reviewers minds, they were presented in a fashion such that you were happy to see them arrive in front of you just for the way they looked! As the meal was ending the chef emerged from her place of magic to talk with a few of we diners, and her obvious care for our pleasure, and sincere interest in our comments about her efforts only served to make us feel happier that we had chosen to eat where we had, where it was clear that the customer's satisfaction truly was a principal "raison d'etre" for these two wonderful restraunteurs. A very reasonably priced, appropriately proportioned and immensely satisfying meal, we would unhesitatingly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beanthair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
203 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Warm service”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I made the reservation coz it was the Sunday night and many restaurants closed. Mamma herself is a very kind lady who provided attentive service to us.

Since the entree of prosciutto is quite big for us two ladies, she suggested us to share one.

I chose the lamb as main plat, which is juicy and tasty. We skipped the dessert as we were not so hungry.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never going to bother them again”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Rude she refused to serve us' saying the chef didn't serve after 9.30. Never going to bother them again

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank manufan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Corsica also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Corsica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing