We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$95
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Shannon Meroz
NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 16, 2019
Beside the outside that is beautiful nothing about this hotel is 4 stars. The people at the reception are amateurs. The rooms look more like a hostel, we had one room in the ancient part (really spacious but really ugly furniture) and one in the renewed part, I felt like I was in a public house. Walls like paper, you can hear the person next door listening to TV and the furniture - really who even sells this type of furniture? Breakfast is a disgrace, barely anything to eat and self service with almost no plates and cutlery. They have a brunch on Sunday but don't even keep spots for the hotel guests so we couldn't even enjoy it. The rooftop pool is more like a huge bath, no umbrellas and the long chairs are really of the lowest quality. This is more like a 3 star hotel. I wouldn't recommend staying there if you are looking for something decent and nice, way overpriced for what they offer.
Date of stay: September 2019
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$109
  • Tripadvisor
    $110
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $110
0.3 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$102
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $103
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $105
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$95
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $80
  • Expedia.com
    $83
0.4 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$112
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $109
  • Mercure
    $118
1.5 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$137
  • Hotels.com
    $137
  • Agoda.com
    $108
  • Priceline
0.0 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$132
$120
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$132
  • Hotels.com
  • Mercure
    $126
  • Expedia.com
    $132
0.6 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $238
  • Vio.com
    $184
  • Expedia.com
    $213
3.6 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $69
  • Expedia.com
    $70
  • Priceline
4.0 miles from Hôtel Cloitre Saint Louis
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Avignon
Reviews (1,437)
Filter reviews
1,437 results
Traveler rating
374
461
293
199
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
374
461
293
199
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool beautiful building superior room lovely hotel train station separate toilet the air conditioning side street inside the city walls secure parking old town central location an easy walk croissants avignon centre papal palace cloisters
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,437 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

The old building is very charming and the location is excellent. We stayed in a modern section which was just ok. The toilet is is a separate room from the bath/ shower room. We ate dinner in the charming restaurant. The food was horrible and there was one waiter taking care of 30 people. He was doing his best but he could just do what he could do. The tomato basil coulet was awful as was the over cooked, under seasoned pork tenderloin that was served on top of an awful scrambled vegetable stew. The nogaut icream with strawberry sauce was good. How can you ruin icecream. They also serve very skimpy portion of mediocre wine by the glass. The breakfast was not great.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2019

Dear Ramadama,
We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the Cloitre Saint Louis. We sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted will be fixed.
We hope that you will give a second chance on the occasion of your next visit in Avignon.
Kind regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2019

booked for one night at this interesting converted old building hotel- friendly reception with a spacious secured parking at the back of the hotel- located just inside the city wall- perfect for self drive visitors! room was decent and breakfast was resonable- the room i had was good and spacious - amenities were adequate- rooftop swimming pool was nice but need updating- otherwise a well recommendable place to stay

Room tip: high floor
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alfred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2019

Dear Alfred P,

We thank you for having chosen the CLOITRE SAINT LOUIS, and for having taken the time to share your experience by writing on this website.
We are very delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in Avignon. It's a big satisfaction for us, to read your good experience at the hotel.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind Regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2019

First this is a lovely historic building, with adequate rooms (some were rather small ... we had 3) however, there is much that could be done to improve the experience and service. The night we were there a large noisy party (think loud disco) prevent a couple of us from sleeping until early into the morning. The hotel staff did not address this issue despite it being called to their attention. Breakfast was a mess, somewhat of a free for all in need of cleaning up. And, eggs were gross. I'd focus on fewer items and do it better. Location of hotel is great.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2019

Dear qsmamo,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the CLOITRE SAINT LOUIS. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains.
I sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted will be fixed
we hope that you will give a second chance on the occasion of your next visit in Avignon.
Kind regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2019

Stayed in a large room overlooking the courtyard. (-) Standard (it seems) instant coffee/teabags and electric kettle in room and paper cups. Hard (nondisposable) plastic water glasses. Only wall ornament is a small hanging rug. Room seemed empty and cold. (+) Good location, elevator. Very friendly/helpful English speaking staff. Tile floor, high ceilings in the old part of the hotel gives it some character. Modern bathroom with separate toilet room. Interesting but I wouldn’t say luxurious.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank UCLASteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 20, 2019

This hotel, which is in such a gorgeous setting, could be fabulous. The American receptionist who greeted us was wonderful - friendly, accommodating and efficient and advised she had upgraded us.Our room was in the old part of the hotel - a large airy room which was grey and white and drab. Paintwork was peeling a dingy mat needed a good clean and overall the decor needed attention. Our shower required maintenance and did not work properly. A white awning on the outside of the building had pools of water in it and was dirty. This awning is highly impractical in the tree lined courtyard. Outdoor furniture needs an upgrade.On the plus side our bed was very comfortable, towels were good and breakfast was good. Car parking was secure and enclosed and included. Several people we spoke to staying here felt this could be a prestigious hotel if maintained and upgraded. We stayed in many different types of accommodation while in France - from 2 star to 5 star but this was the most disappointing. There is nothing that cannot be put right and would more than pay for itself into the future.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews