We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Convenient and Historic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Comfortable, Convenient and Historic”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis is in a beautiful historic building very close to the train station and all of the sights in Avignon. The staff is helpful and the rooms are clean and spacious. We were actually upgraded to a room with a courtyard view that was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    294
    181
    102
    38
See reviews for
96
461
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have stayed in Avignon for 9 days and in 3 hotels. The Cloitre Saint Louis could be a gem if it wasn't for the surly staff at check in, poorly maintained rooms, and being given a "standard" room on the 4th floor. The trouble is there really is not a 4th floor. It is an attic with access by a service elevator. The hotel owners and management should be embarrassed by offering such accommodations. The ceiling in the room is less than 4 feet at the slope of the roof. If you open your window, you risk the pigeons from entering because they just outside. The shower faucet was detached, the lighting in the bathroom very dark and dingy, and the room air conditioner severely underpowered but noisy. Perhaps the rooms on floors 1 to 3 are better. At least one could stand up on those floors rather than being hunched over. Breakfast is substandard and should be avoided although the setting is charming.

We stayed at the Hotel D'Europe and Hotel D'LaHorge during our stay and both were superior in terms of comfort, value, and staff. I would have gladly spent all of our time at the Hotel D'Europe but reservations were not available for the last 3 days. It is more expensive but superior in all regards.

Room Tip: Try another hotel. Hotel D'Europe is superior. This is my 4th trip to France in 5 years and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avignon hotels

oxon
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at Hotel Cloitre and would have given the hotel a better review had each day started out better! All staff except those serving breakfast really put themselves out to be helpful.
Breakfast for this standard of hotel is undoubtedly poor. One Bain Marie with the one burner not working (needed 3) present on 3 days of 4, resulting in cold scrambled egg, sausage and bacon. We did enjoy the selection of breads, especially the tapenade and the onion bread. Whilst you can eat inside, being warm and sunny there are tables in the very weed overgrown courtyard. It is random whether they will be laid up, relaid or cleared. The only communication with the week's staff was to be interrogated as to our room number! The best service on the last Saturday was as a result of different staff, those in the week need a motivational talk. Also someone needs to set the electric door sensor to the kitchen as it was constantly opening and revealing the grumpy staff inside!
As a result of this we choose not to eat in the appealing restaurant in the evening!
The room was sparse but good and after a busy days sightseeing it was great to be able to use the pool and sunny terrace, although matresses on the sunloungers would be appreciated. Sadly the pool was due for temporary closure the week after we left.
On the plus side, the room was quiet and the hotel well located.

Room Tip: We were in the wonderful old part, not sure how the new block compares?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OXON111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis is an attractive hotel located in an historic building. Of course, being in an historic building does present some quirks, like finding your room if you're room is on the far side of the building (you need to take the correct elevator, which is a bit hard to find the first time), sloped ceilings in the top floor rooms, small elevators, etc. But we found the hotel to be charming overall, with comfortable rooms, a rooftop pool, a nice restaurant/bar area, and an attractive courtyard. There is also convenient, secured parking directly behind the hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

First I need to say that we were placed in this hotel by Viking Cruise when it was unsafe to spend the night on the river during the recent rains. This was not an auspicious start but our reservations were quickly overcome by the lovely room with a view from a large window of the courtyard and trees. The bed was very comfortable and bedding nice. The bathroom was modern and roomy with rain shower head and excellent water pressure. We ate dinner downstairs in the architecturally fascinating dining area and the sea bass special was the best fish dish we had in France. The dining room windows look out on the courtyard. The only negative about our experience in this hotel was a large noisy group at one end of the dining room who became very obnoxious. The noise echoed in this ancient building with its marble floors. Our room was on the floor above the dining area so we heard the noise after we returned to our room. It quieted down for us, but apparently not for those is the new wing when the noisy group returned to their rooms. We slept comfortably with no further disturbance. We were amazed at the comfortable temperature in such a old hotel and slept well.The lighting in the courtyard was beautiful and we left curtains open. The staff were very hard working and interested in ensuring we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the original rooms with courtyard view upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Cloitre Saint-Louis during your stay in Avignon and for taking the time to send us your feedback via Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read your satisfaction about the beautiful setting of the hôtel. As you mentionned, the Cloitre is an historic monument dated back of the 16th century, it was an old Jesuit school with a chapel inside (always active, with a private acces for our customers). There is a magnific courtyard all around, with plane trees, and a lovely fountain.
This unic setting gives you peace and serenity, all this in the heart of the city (10 min by walk from the Pope's Palace).

We have several categories, distributed between the Cloister wing, and the contemporary part. Our identity is based on the combination of authentic and contemporary style, with a sober and refined decoration to maintain the feature of the Cloister.

As you explained, our restaurant "Le Saint-Louis" provides a cooking full of flavour, under the beautiful vaults with view on the charming courtyard. It's an unic place in the city.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Staying in this hotel is a wonderful experience in time travel rather than just a night's sleep. Behind its modest street presence is an ancient monastery where you occupy rooms that have been used for hundreds of years. Spacious corridors and super high ceilings make you want to walk around doing Gregorian chants. You can sense how the monastery was a refuge from the rest of the city with enclosed walls of the hotel and then a massive central square.
Parking and car access is a breeze and so is access to the city sights.
We arrived unannounced on our wedding anniversary and were upgraded to a nicer room.
Service was wonderful.
The pedestrian access to the sights of this magnificent city is excellent.
Above all make sure you pay to get a room that overlooks the courtyard otherwise you will not do justice to your experience.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that overlooks the central courtyard. This is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positiv comment, we are very satisfy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Cloitre Saint-Louis. It's very important for us to propose to our guest a very good experience in Avignon.

As you explain, the Cloitre Saint-Louis is a very special hotel in an old jesuit school dated back of 1589, with a beautiful chapel inside. This historic monument offers a wonderful courtyard with
plane trees tricentenary, and on the other part a beautiful private garden.

We provide to our guest a restaurant with the view on the courtyard, or served in the garden during the high season. You can find the beautiful swimming pool on the top of the hotel with the view on the dome of the chapel.

We are very delighted to learn that you enjoyed the good location of the Cloitre Saint-Louis, in the heart of Avignon, only 10 min by walk to the Pope's Palace and the famous bridge (private car park available in the hotel).

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, or may be during the famous Festival of Avignon (July)!

With my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night and although the setting is really wonderful and the garden and courtyard are beautiful. We stayed in the new part and felt that the room was large but quite spartan. Having seen it we would stay in the old part. The breakfast was expensive and not very good. We ended up spending $400 dollars for one night and that is more than the experience was worth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having chosen the Cloitre Saint-Louis during your stay in Avignon and for taking the time to send us your feedback via Tripadvisor.

It's so important for us to remain attentive to the needs and feedback from our customers to always maintain a right level of performance.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the beautiful courtyard, and the nice private garden between the 2 wings. The Cloitre Saint-louis is date back to 1589, an it's a very charming historic monument with a private chapel Inside, in the heart of Avignon (10 min by walk from the Pope's Palace).

As you mention the room in the contemporary wing are quite large, with a loggia in each room with view on the private garden. All rooms are very quiet.
Moreover, our identity and deep personality is based undeniably on the alliance of these two styles: the historic character and contemporary through a decoration that we want absolutely sober to keep the authenticity of the cloister.

However we deeply regret your appreciation about the breakfast, and we will do our best to understand what happen during your stay.

We hope have the pleasure to welcome you soon again at the CLOITRE SAINT-LOUIS.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#8 of 69 in Avignon
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#15 of 69 in Avignon
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
753 reviews
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Property: Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Address: 20 Rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming hotel, Cloitre Saint-Louis, is located in a 16th century building and combines historic and modern structures in the heart of Avignon. Initially a Jesuit novitiate, Cloitre Saint-Louis became a military hospital in addition to an annexe of the Hotel des Invalides in Paris over the course of several centuries. Looking like new after a thorough renovation, Cloitre Saint-Louis has been a cultural centre and 4-star hotel since 1991. Come and discover the Provencal art of living during your enchanted stay at Cloitre Saint-Louis, only two steps away from the Palais des Papes (Pope's Palace) and famous bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing