We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Huge Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Reviewed February 4, 2013

There are many things seriously odd about this hotel. In summary, a poorly managed and maintained hotel with high prices.Rooms in the ugly new wing are badly designed and maintained (large room but very small bathroom, small shower, no soap dishes, broken shower hose; impossibly small toilet; very dim lighting; no curtains; badly fitting door to terrace; poor sound insulation). The breakfast service on two consecutive mornings was expensive and appalling: cups, hot milk, baguettes and croissants repeatedly running out; cold bacon, cold lumpy scrambled “eggs” and poor coffee; buffet area untidy and dirty. The “bar” was cold and empty and impossible to find someone to serve us. The restaurant was not available to us for dinner, even though it is prominently advertised on their website, due to a business conference. No information was given to us at the time of booking concerning either our need to book the restaurant at that time or the unavailability of the restaurant. Hotel is situated a good 15 minute walk from the Palais des Papes area where the best restaurants seem to be; not ideal in the hot summer or freezing winter weather of Avignon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 866 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel set in a former monastery is a real class act. Austere yet warm and friendly. Top class restaurant close to the former court yard. We stayed in the new extension which was anything but in the same style as the cloisters. Very modern architecture. All rooms are reached from a bridge that runs alongside the block of rooms. Haven´t seen this solution anywhere else. Go see for yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrL123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our last stay in Provence in this amazing historic building which must have served as cloisters at some stage. Rooms are large and despite their modernisation still have a touch of the old character in them.

Other facilities are quite good, and the location is quite convenient with the papal palace about 15 minutes walking distance.

Friendly and courteous staff on every occasion, made our stay comfortable.

We will definitely onside staying there on our next trip to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Generally speaking the hotel is quiet, unique & beautiful (very nice courtyard, restaurant, hallway etc) & is about 10-15 min walk to the Palais des Papes. We got a room on the old side of the building, which was built in the 16th century so in my opinion it's a lot more charming than those on the new side. The room is spacious with window looking down to the courtyard & the furnishing is pretty basic. Shower is not very comfortable to use & there was also black spots on the floor. The hotel's restaurant is surprisingly good & cheap too. During our stay, our aircon was broken that evening & cannot be fixed so we had to sleep with the window open. I also didn't see any other staff beside the receptionist (who helped post my postcards & book our early morning taxi) & those in the restaurant. The hotel seems to be very popular with the Chinese tour groups.

Room Tip: Those on the old side of the building are more charming though if there are not many people staying...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cutiela83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The decor of my generously-sized room, which overlooked a cloistered courtyard with six magnificent plane trees and a fountain, was a stylish mixture of ancient and modern.
Breakfast and dinner in the beautiful vaulted dining room were excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times, and the location was convenient for everything. If you love ancient buildings, this must be one of the most beautiful hotels anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cloisters and central courtyard.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francophile004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel, once a religious setting, is spacious, architecturally splendid and located very close to the train and bus stations, including the TGV shuttle stop. The grounds and cloister are lovely, as is the dining room which appears to be a glassed-in portico. Our room, while dimly lit, was large and the bed was comfortable. However, the bathroom shower was small and usually overflowed. A major drawback is a modern addition. Guests who expect to experience the hotel's atmosphere probably won't find it if they lodge in that section. My husband tried the breakfast which he thought was overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The only good things to say about this hotel are it is well located and the breakfast is not bad. Everything else is terrible. Where should i start? Rooms - old, dirty, noisy, poorly decorated, no views etc you get the jist.
Service at the front desk - very poor. Grumpy & unhelpful. Worthy of a 2 star hotel at best.
It feels like a boarding school and not a hotel.
I am pretty open to different standards of hotels but this is probably, for the money paid, the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamesagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
1,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#16 of 69 in Avignon
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
778 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Address: 20 Rue du Portail Boquier, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: $100 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming hotel, Cloitre Saint-Louis, is located in a 16th century building and combines historic and modern structures in the heart of Avignon. Initially a Jesuit novitiate, Cloitre Saint-Louis became a military hospital in addition to an annexe of the Hotel des Invalides in Paris over the course of several centuries. Looking like new after a thorough renovation, Cloitre Saint-Louis has been a cultural centre and 4-star hotel since 1991. Come and discover the Provencal art of living during your enchanted stay at Cloitre Saint-Louis, only two steps away from the Palais des Papes (Pope's Palace) and famous bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing