We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Innocents Abroad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Innocents Abroad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

On arrival at this hotel, after our train journey from Paris, we found our booking had been messed up and we were not expected [although we had paid in advance]. No worries - soon put right by friendly, efficient staff. After our bad experience in Paris, it was a pleasure to be treated civilly and courteously. The hotel is very well-situated inside the ancient walls, only a couple of hundred metres from the Palace of the Popes and a couple of busy squares with many cafes, stalls and a merry-go-round. The room was inviting and comfortable, with clean linen and a good shower, overlooking a courtyard and part of the walls. Breakfast was very good but the hotel does not do evening meals. With the abundance of cafes and restaurants a short stroll away, this was not a problem, as it was most enjoyable strolling the narrow cobblestone streets before making our decision. Definitely would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCUREPONTDAVIGNON, Responsable réception at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Sir
We apology about the confusion of your booking but we are glad that our staff made your stay enjoyable.
We hope to see you again in a close future.
Kind regards

Marie France JULIAN
Front of house manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    286
    110
    24
    10
See reviews for
89
279
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at a Mercure Hotel and found the location to be excellent for exploring the city without a car. We picked up a rental car the last day of our stay and appreciated the underground parking lot -- very convenient. Our room tariff included the buffet breakfast which was a very complete European continental breakfast. We did not realize our room rate included breakfast so be sure to ask at check-in. The front desk was extremely helpful as we required quite a few extras during our stay -- they were always polite and all spoke excellent English. Our room was comfortable and bathroom was spacious and spotless. Unfortunately it rained for a good part of our stay because we could not take advantage of the outside sitting area (park-like setting) adjacent to the breakfast rooms. Our room had large windows that opened onto the courtyard. This hotel was a winner for us. Would return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard, picturesque and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wetravellight11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCUREPONTDAVIGNON, Responsable réception at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear sir,
We are glad that you appreciate your stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you again in a close future in Avignon.
Kind regards

Marie France JULIAN
Front of house manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

All the Staff were fantastic in all areas of the hotel, special thanks to the servers in the restaurant.
we travelled with STC with 34 persons and the staff took great care of us all. Hotel was very clean. The rooms were a little small to Canadian standards but very modern. The hotel is inside the wall city of Avignon and short walk to all the attractions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a Baloney room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevos60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCUREPONTDAVIGNON, Responsable réception at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
It was a great pleasure to have you all.
We are glad that you appreciate your stay in our hotel.
Best regards

Marie France JULIAN
Front of house manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good comfortable hotel in a great location for exploring the city. Easy parking, friendly helpful staff. All amenities in the room were of a high quality. A good comfortable bed the room was also nice and quiet. The staff recommended several good local restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are driving, the car park is beneath the hotel and you get a discount when checking out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCUREPONTDAVIGNON, Responsable réception at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Glyn,
We are glad that you appreciate your stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you again in a close future in Avignon.
Kind regards

Marie France JULIAN
Front of house manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
253 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

One block from outer walls of city. Drive from periphery directly into parking garage without having to drive through town. Only complaint, stairs from garage to lobby, with no one to help with luggage. Other than that we were completely satisfied. Rooms were nice size, with wonderful showers. Nice breakfast buffet with meat, cheese, eggs, sausage, pastries, etc. served in a lovely glass-roofed room. A very short walk to the Papal Palace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCUREPONTDAVIGNON, Responsable réception at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir

We are glad that you appreciate your stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you again in a close future.
Kind regards

Marie France JULIAN
Front of house manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here while attending a conference at Palais de Papes international center. The front desk team are just marvelous. Speak very good English, very friendly and very helpful. This hotel is situated in a quiet area but walking distance to all major sites of Avignon Intramuros. One don't have to go far for local souvenirs, like the lavender products, nougats, etc. Plenty shops around the hotel. There is a very nice restaurant few steps just up the road. (forgot the name) The lifts and rooms are big (Parisian standard) and clean. There is an empty fridge (very practical) we filled it with food/drinks bought from the grocery. Fresh supply of shampoo, conditioner, lotion and soap everyday. Breakfast is good. Free Wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hapiness168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCUREPONTDAVIGNON, Responsable réception at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour cet avis très encourageant pour toute notre équipe, et espérons vous revoir parmi nous lors d’un prochain voyage.

Cordialement,

Marie-France JULIAN
Directrice hébergement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant 4 night stay in the Mercure Pont d'Avignon. The room was compact but very sleek, modern and comfortable. It's just inside the old city wall along the Rhone and is very convenient to the old bridge, the Palais des Papes and the main square. The best feature is that it connects to a public garage making parking a snap. The hotel gives you a discount on the parking charges.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LewDalTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCUREPONTDAVIGNON, Responsable réception at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for your nice comments!
We are glad that you appreciate your stay in our hotel in the center of Avignon’s medieval city.
We hope to see you again in a close future.
Kind regards

Marie France JULIAN
Front of house manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#10 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre

Property: Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Address: Quartier de la Balance 2 rue Ferruce | Accès Parking GPS: Parking du Palais des Papes / Boulevard de la Ligne, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Provence, located in a pleasant quiet area in the city center. 87 Rooms. Close to the famous Pont Saint Bénézet and Palais des Papes. Small garden. Direct access to a public basement garage. Bus parking. Conference room (120 people). Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Pont d`Avignon Hotel Avignon
Accor Pont d Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing