We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent location & good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent location & good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Situated half way between the Popes' Palace and the Old Avignon Bridge (both of which are a couple of minutes away), this is probably Avignon's best located hotel. If you don't have heavy luggage, and coming to Avignon by train, you can just get the bus (we took route 5) and stop at Porte de l'Oulle, which is only 5 minutes on foot - otherwise a taxi from the centra train station (Gare D'Avignon Centre) will cost about 10 Euro.

The standard rooms are modestly sized, but without having a cramped feeling. Bathrooms are nice, with a proper bath, and perfectly working amenities. The hotel is spotless and the maids do an excellent job on cleaning your rooms, as well as being trustworthy - on one occasion I left behind my phone and some money in the room and everything was exactly where I left it. Excellent wi-fi connectiom, free to guests (although the registration can be a bit awkward). Breakfast is simple, mainly focused on local specialities and products - the only hot food available are scrambled eggs and sausage, but there is a good selection of fruit, bread, cereals - the works.

In February, we paid just 50 Euro each per night for all of this, so all in all we got an excellent deal, but the official rack rates, especially for summer seem to be very expensive. Make sure to check their website for special offers and if possible go on low season - you will have the town for yourself (and the locals of course) without any other tourists!

Room Tip: Be wary that being situated just outside of the town walls, most rooms are directly facing these wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meh190meh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    270
    103
    22
    10
See reviews for
86
262
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel, and its proximity to the Pope’s Palace and the huge Place de H’orloge square. We also had a view (small) of the river through one of the arches in the city walls. Many tourists walked through the streets beneath our windows, but when we closed the windows, we couldn’t hear any noise. We were on the 2nd floor. We valued the public parking garage immediately next to the hotel and the hotel’s 20% discount on the parking costs. As you pull into the parking garage, there is a small quick-parking area for Mercure hotel customer to deal with luggage and check in.

The breakfast was tasty, with plenty of breakfast items including scrambled eggs, and an interesting choice of cheeses. But be careful, there is a deep awkward step into the breakfast conservatory room-which is a lovely room. I chose other seating.

We booked a superior room, which was a fairly large room, on the corner of the hotel. We had windows on 2 sides. We also had a small sitting room with a couch. We had a tub shower in the bath. We stayed 4 nights, and we enjoyed this hotel. We paid 160 euro/night, excluding breakfast. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived in Avignon and picked up an accommodation brochure from the Tourist Information and chose this Mercure as it was near the river. The staff were helpful and welcoming (particularly the lady that appears to be a manager / supervisor, who is in the rear office), the room clean and comfortable.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deejay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellagio, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in early September, and were very happy with our choice. Yes, the rooms could do with redecorating (the furnishings were fine) and the en-suite in our room was tired, BUT the staff were brilliant - very helpful and pleasant, from Reception staff to Breakfast Room staff and cleaners! The breakfast buffet had an excellent choice to suit everyone. The location couldn't be better. Two minutes from the Palais des Papes and very central, but tucked away from noise. If we visit Avignon again, this will be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan_wotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hi we had a lovely night here and very good breakfast in a lovely bright conservatory. You felt like you were in a castle as the old wall were visible. Excellent location with easy parking. My only small criticism was that our shower went all over the floor when you used it and there didn't seem any way of stopping it. Other than that very posh and felt spoilt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyputthekettleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Very easy to find and located next to multi-storey car park. Walk out front door and you're along side the bridge and a hundred yards from the Palace, so location couldn't be better. Public areas appear to have been freshly renovated, but the room was tired and in need of total refurbishment. Reception staff were really helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Enandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed recently 3 days in Avignon with very hot weather ( 38 °) . The airco of the hotel is fantastic. Our room needed a refreshment: some painting and new furniture. Breakfast is very good, the hotel offers a reduction of 20 % on parking cost. Central and quiet location , several good restaurants within a 200 m walk; l'essenteil, le moutardier, l'isle sonnante. Don't forget on wednesday the market at St Rèmy de Provence

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank herman s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#9 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre

Property: Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Address: Quartier de la Balance 2 rue Ferruce | Accès Parking GPS: Parking du Palais des Papes / Boulevard de la Ligne, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Provence, located in a pleasant quiet area in the city center. 87 Rooms. Close to the famous Pont Saint Bénézet and Palais des Papes. Small garden. Direct access to a public basement garage. Bus parking. Conference room (120 people). Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Pont d`Avignon Hotel Avignon
Accor Pont d Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing