We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

A fairly old and tired hotel with no in house restaurant and fairly average service. Room was extremely dusty and pillows were terrible. But it was in a brilliant location within 2 minutes walk to major tourist attractions. Worth putting up with a bit of dust for a short stay but probably wouldn't put in an extended visit here. There was a balcony but no furniture to sit on and a rather rancid smell emanating from just outside. Just ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mezzy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    270
    103
    22
    10
See reviews for
86
262
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Had to stay here with a group meeting at the facility. After the first night we left. There's plenty of other basic hotels nicer and cheaper. I'm really surprised that the city of Avignon allowed this to be built. It's so tacky and doesn't fit at all with the rest of the ancient city. I guess it would be fine outside the walls, but it's a jarring sight as you come up on the plastic mirrored walls among the thousand year old architecture. When I was checking in 3 women came up with complaints about the key not working. The response from the rather overworked and under trained employees was a good indicator of the hotel in general. Other than that, as Mrs. Lincoln said, it was fine.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbobWaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel is well situated but access is totally unacceptable for the infirm as you cannot reach recection without climbig stairs and the same again to the dining room.
Having reached the dining room the food is poor as is the service

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Clean but basic hotel in good location. Rooms ok but nothing special, front desk helpful

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed one night recently. Great location right next to the pont and the palais. Friendly staff, reasonably-priced buffet breakfast. Only major problem was that our daughter had got bedbug bites, having slept on a pullout couch in our room.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Habs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#9 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre

Property: Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Address: Quartier de la Balance 2 rue Ferruce | Accès Parking GPS: Parking du Palais des Papes / Boulevard de la Ligne, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Provence, located in a pleasant quiet area in the city center. 87 Rooms. Close to the famous Pont Saint Bénézet and Palais des Papes. Small garden. Direct access to a public basement garage. Bus parking. Conference room (120 people). Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Pont d`Avignon Hotel Avignon
Accor Pont d Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing