We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest staff in France”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nicest staff in France”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very nice rooms, comfortable and modern.
We especially enjoyed the positive, friendly attitude of the staff - first, they decided to upgrade us with no extra costs due to our Honeymoon, and were so cute about it, keeping it a surprised.
Second and more importantly - an extremely nice guy name Yoan in the front desk really helped us with his personal suggestions for restaurants and when to visit the Papes Palace. He actually "upgraded" our Avignon experience :)
Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AstroNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    350
    171
    48
    27
See reviews for
112
421
56
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is in a great locaction for visiting Avignon and the Pope's Palace. My room was very comfortable and clean, and had a view of the clock tower across the square. Also there was a good choice of food at the buffet breakfast. The staff were polite and helpful. I would be very happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it's a good hotel, perfect location next to the beautiful palais des papes and near by the bridge. friendly staff, good clean rooms. my advice when you travel to avignon don't go by car because it's inpossible to reach the hotel. they have a parking near the wall but my advice is not to use it because it's hell, so if you travel by car leave your car outside the stonewalls of the town.

Room Tip: Ask a room at the back of the hotel because the front of the hotel is at the square and it can be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joep308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excellent location. Walking distance from gate, right next to the Papel Palace, but the good ends there. Rooms no better than a Motel 6, 2 stars at best. No improvements to the rooms, beds horrible, noise from the streets unbelievable.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the 3 star Mecure for 1 night during the festival. It is important during this time to book ahead as it gets very busy, we booked 2-3 weeks in advance and even that was tight timing. Centrally located at Palais des Papes, from the train station it’s a comfortable 15 min walk (streets were packed so it may take less time off festival season) to the hotel that is just off the main square and easy to find (right of P.d.Papes and we were there - easy). Good mid-range hotel that was just what we needed (clean, well-kept, comfortable, good size, good showers, easy access) with the usual amenities. A slower check-in/out than I am used to but likely due to the festival craziness. Our room had a view of the church and got to see the French president as well as he passed by. Minimal outside noise from our room. Bathroom and ensuite, good water pressure, comfortable beds, quiet, easy check-in. Toilet was noisy. Free wifi. We did not have issues with the A/C or garbage truck noise compared to other reviewers.

Saw some fly-by arrivers with no place to stay in Avignon walls. Do not do this during festival season, you will be out of luck unless you can pay $$$$, if you have no plans it’s best to come in from a nearby town and take the train/drive in as a day trip (parking is crazy too). Overall, a solid choice, although I'd plan ahead and see if any online deals (check their website) could be had.

Room Tip: Festival time is madness, book ahead. Well worth the trip to Avignon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is an OK hotel if you are staying short term, not be in the room for much of the time other than sleep and shower. The location is spot on, staff fairly friendly and bed quite comfy. The room i was in had low water pressure, on and off flow of hot water and the aircon was not working. As i was only staying for 2 nites, i could not be bothered about asking for a room change.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snorkeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best thing is the position: a step from Palais des Papes! The hotel is nothing special, our double-room was small and the fornitures are old, they need to be change soon. The bathroom is ok, the hotel is quite clean and the staff was gentle,but maybe you can find something better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laminu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#14 of 69 in Avignon
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes

Property: Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Address: 1 rue Jean Vilar | GPS: Hotel:Rue Molière / Parking:Parking Palais des Papes, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged location in the heart of the city. The Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes is situated on the Place de l'Horloge square, the vibrant centre of the old city with its theatre and numerous cafes. Close by is the Palais des Papes, or Palace of the Popes, incorporating the International Convention Centre. All in all, this hotel is the ideal place to discover the charms of the city and make the most of your visit to Avignon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Avignon Cite Des Papes Hotel Avignon
Accor Avignon Cite Des Papes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing