We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, simple, quality food and great chef” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chapelier Toque

Le Chapelier Toque
Ranked #57 of 587 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, simple, quality food and great chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We went in on a holiday and luckily got a seat at lunch, not because it was packed but because he was closing soon. We has a choice of 2 starters and 2 mains. We had scallops carpaccio and white fish each. Absolutely outstanding. Prepared to perfection and the white fish was cooked perfectly. Great local wine.

If you plan on eating reserve a table as its small. We got lucky and would go back for a full dinner menu. One chef, one waitress. Can't get any better, proper food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmeltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    40
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This tiny place is off the beaten track in Avignon, but I would walk there on my knees to indulge in the dishes the chef turns out. My companion and I shared foie gras marinated in whiskey; immaculately fresh scallop carpaccio in truffled olive oil; snapper roasted with fresh thyme; guinea fowl stuffed with foie and served with tiny glazed vegetables---all cooked with complete assurance and finesse. Make an effort to find this cheerfully decorated little treasure; you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting décor, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Tiny place with interesting décor. Very small menu that in France pretty much assures that all ingredients are very fresh. Restaurant was recommended by B&B proprietor and located in a bit out of the touristy area, so you are unlikely to find it on your own.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank swetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always reliable, delicious and original”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a simple review. I invited a friend to lunch on her birthday. he Chef proposed a first course and main course (scallops, then lobster). After lunch my friend said: "This is the finest meal I have ever had in Avignon." What more needs to be saiad?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Davthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant find in Avignon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having trained down from 2 weeks in Paris where we ate at great bistros and spoilt ourselves on a meal at the George V and also lunch at Tour D'Argent (both pricey but excellent) we were amazed to stumble across this gem.
Joseph the owner is Michelin trained and qualified
Had meals there 3 nights out of 8 ..... We are addicted
Great wine by the glass
Perfectly paired with the best food we had on our 4 week trip.....bar none!
Cannot believe this restaurant is not booked a year in advance!!!
Tried to convince him to come back to Perth ....do not miss this. Wayne & Jan

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Perthboy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chapelier Toque also viewed

Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 
Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Le Chapelier Toque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing