We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
Review of Le Petit Bedon - CLOSED

Le Petit Bedon
Price range: $26 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: phone 04 90 82 33 98
York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was recommended by our hotel for our group. Slight problem in that it changed hands between booking and actually going, resulting in the booking getting lost, but luckily we checked ahead and all problems overcome! We were in upstairs room which they use for groups, very nice. Chose in advance special set meal including wine and coffee, enjoyed by all, good service. Would go again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank milbyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worst service of my life - stuck in the tourist ghetto”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have no idea how the food is - after two hours of waiting, we didn't get very much. Despite having reserved for a Saturday dinner, we were seated upstairs in what was apparently the "tourist ghetto" - very little French was being spoken. All of the French customers with reservations seemed to be seated downstairs. The menu sounded really good if a little pricy but my first clue should have been when it took over 30 minutes just to order the meal. After an hour and a half, the starters finally started showing up for the tables in this upstairs room. Our starters were OK, even warm, but nothing special. We noticed that none of the other tables upstairs had received main courses even as we finished our starters. The waiter was (reluctantly) apologetic and said he was waiting on the kitchen. Curious, I checked downstairs, where all of the customers had received or finished their main courses. At that point, none of the upstairs customers had yet received a main course (after 2 hours plus) and ultimately we joined a mass departure of almost all of the upstairs customers. I have no idea why this service was so bad and the staff made no attempt to explain the problem. I was ready to just walk out, but my wife insisted on paying for the wine (which we mostly didn't drink) and starters. So we spent 50 Euros and left very hungry. Too many better choices in Avignon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in France”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The food and service were grand! I went with 2 friends and it was a lovely evening.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great personable service”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The best meals we've had while in Provence; we paid 85 Euros for three people

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank DulceDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious but slightly pricey.”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I met a lovely Swedish elderly couple during our day trip around Provence. After sharing with them our unfortunate experience with food at Place d'Horloge, they recommended this restaurant to us.

Indeed it tasted lovely - 36 euros for a 3 course meal, and the house red was nice too. However the portions were slightly on the small side, and for this price I wasn't completely full by the end of the meal, though getting tipsy on the wine helped me forgot this!

The service was good; the manager was having fun chatting with a table of American tourists, and our waitress spoke perfect English.

The decor of the restaurant was sweet - many interesting trinkets, framed paintings, elegant lampshades and a funny wooden elephant on one of the tables.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DuchessElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Bedon also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing