We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Autour du Petit Paradis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Autour du Petit Paradis
Ranked #5 of 50 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in apartment 11 on the top floor (up 2 flights of stairs with no lift so it would not suit someone with impaired mobility) but there were also apartments on the lower floors. It was light and airy with a view over the very pleasant courtyard. The apartment was small but perfectly adequate for 2 people. It could accommodate 4 people with a sofa bed in the living room, but it would be cramped. The kitchenette was well equipped and we enjoyed buying provisions from Les Halles close by and preparing some meals ourselves, although you are spoilt for dining options. It is fully air conditioned - a big plus. It is well located for exploring the Old Town easily on foot, and to the station for exploring further afield (e.g Arles - well worthwhile). It can be accessed by taxi if you don't have your own car. Sabine and Patrick were helpful and, and gave us some good suggestions for sightseeing. It was clean, comfortable and convenient, and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    69
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
74
190
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Autour du Petit Paradis has two properties, and although we went to the former (Autour du Petit Paradis) to check in, Sabine told us we'd actually be staying in the sister property, the recently remodeled Aix Augustins a short walk away. She walked with us to help us find our way (we had taken the high-speed train to Avignon, then the shuttle bus to just inside the Avignon gates, and it really helped to have her direct us because it takes a little while to get your bearings with these curvy streets).

The property was just what we wanted: our own small, private apartment, with a bedroom (queen-size, comfortable bed), bathroom, lovely small private balcony, small kitchen area, living/dining area. Everything was clean and tidy, and the kitchen had dishes and utensils -- a perfect place to make coffee or warm something up after getting fresh croissants, bread, fruit, cheeses (I could go on and on) at any of several bakeries or shops on the street or just a few blocks away at Les Halles.

Our room was half a flight of stairs up from the courtyard. You would never know any of this existed as you walked down the street, which was part of the charm. The entire complex was behind a freshly painted gray door (very secure; Patrick gave us the code to get in). The building once housed a monastery, and the bell tower is still there. Maybe it's because I live in a USA suburb, but I never ceased to be charmed just walking down any of the streets.

There were two good restaurants just across the street. Our first night, we were treated to live music in two plazas -- one across the street (a jazz concert that gained a touch a latin music later), and a French rock/accordion group in the plaza by Les Halles.

The hotel's owners, Patrick and Sabine, were entirely unobtrusive. Patrick helped us when we asked with recommendations on things to do and restaurants.

With five nights and days and, for four of them, a rental car, we found ourselves having to make choices: Tour more ruins and Medieval towns, or more hillside villages with wineries and olive groves? We wound up favoring the latter, and discovered plenty of gorgeous, ancient churches and ruins in the Luberon hillside villages such as Lacoste. We were well-served by travel writer Rick Steves' book on France and the chapter on Provence, especially his recommended Cotes du Rhone wine villages driving tour. Our first stop before heading into the hills that day was the lovely town of Orange, where the owner of a gift and fabric store offered to make us a tablecloth when we could not find one in stock that had the right dimensions. Extremely affordable, and she told us to go walk around and visit the theatre across the street and she'd be done in 20 minutes. The theatre was, of course, an ancient Roman theatre.

These kinds of delights were to be found every day. I'd go back again, and highly recommend Autour du Petit Paradis-Aux Augustins.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We found this a lovely quiet apartment with all the bits and bobs we needed to make breakfast in the morning (great artisan baker 2 mins walk away near Les Halles) and close enough to all the good restaurants for an evening stroll. Our favourites were Fou de Fafa (best to book) and La Differente (just round the corner) but there is lots of choice. Sabine was very helpful in where to park the car (just unload outside then drive to Les Italiens which is a free car park then get the free shuttle back). We used it as a base to do all the Roman stuff - Orange, Arles and Nimes but would also recommend L'Isle sur la Sorgue for the ancient waterwheels and St Remy for a combination of Van Gogh walk and charming buildings. Ladies, no hairdryer in the room but you can borrow one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the upstairs studio apartment. Being over 60 the stairs were a bit of a challenge but nothing we couldn't manage & didn't stop us from taking advantage of the lovely courtyard in the evening. The apartment was clean & comfortable and as we were out all day & into the evening it was more than adequate for our needs. The location is great & within walking distance of all that the old part of Avignon has to offer. Sabine was very helpful & knows the area well & therefore offered good advice (We didn't get to meet Patrick).
There were some street noises, loud talking, cars etc but you get that in most tourist areas so it is no reflection on the accommodation. I am happy to recommend this property.

Room Tip: If you are a bit older perhaps request a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We loved our stay here - our first stop on a tour through Provence. It was the perfect place to start unwinding. It was easy to find and close to everything so we could walk everywhere. The rooms were immaculate and lovely, the beds very comfortable and the kitchenette well equipped - being very close to Les Halles where you can stock up on delicious food was an added benefit. After a busy day out it was lovely to go home to this quiet spot. We really appreciated the fact that it is a smoke-free establishment and that you could relax in a beautiful little courtyard. Sabine and Patrick were very welcoming and helpful hosts and had some great recommendations about what to do and restaurants to visit - in fact they were happy to help with anything they could. I recommend this place highly and will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annlerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We only stayed here 1night, and wished we had stayed longer. The previous reviews were spot on. Room was immaculately clean, roomy and very comfortable. Sabine was lovely and welcoming. Location was great, we were able to walk everywhere from here. We loved this place and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

These apartments are the perfect base for exploring Avignon and the surrounding area. Easily accessible by rail or car and just a few minutes walk from the centre of town. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the central courtyard is a lovely spot to wind down after a long day out. The kitchenette facilities were more than adequate for making meals and you are within a 5 minute walk of the most wonderful produce at Les Halles markets. What really makes this place stand out though is the owners, Sabine & Patrick, who make you feel welcome from the outset and whose knowledge of the town and surrounding areas will make your stay in Avignon and Provence an absolute delight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.5 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autour du Petit Paradis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autour du Petit Paradis

Property: Autour du Petit Paradis
Address: 5 rue Et place Noel Biret, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Autour du Petit Paradis 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Provence, right in the historical centre of Avignon, reputed for its Art and Culture, you will find the residence "Autour du Petit Paradis". This small haven of peace will seduce you with its sense of hospitality and with the quality and charm of its apartments situated in a magical setting. More than just a holiday rental, the residence offers you a refined location that will enable you to enjoy quality time in a comfortable environment, whilst discovering the art of living the Provencal way of life. Throughout the seasons, it is an ideal starting point for discovering the diversity and richness of the South of France.Our priority is the quality of your stay with us. That is why we propose apartments of character that are furnished with charm and maintained to exceptional standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Autour du Petit Paradis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autour Du Petit Paradis Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing