We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”
Review of Domaine de Rhodes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domaine de Rhodes
Ranked #3 of 56 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This estate from the 16th century was beautifully renovated and offers a few rooms only, and usually booked in advance, but if you are lucky you may end up staying in one of the best places ever and most beautiful. If you ever go to travel in Provence, close to Avignon, and want to experience the real ancient outdoors stay, yet in full luxury, go to this estate. the rooms are large, clean, fine design,and hospitable owners who will share an amazing breakfast.

Room Tip: Book in advance, it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 470 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved this B & B. The setting is beautiful, so peaceful and picturesque. Francoise is a lovely hostess and provided a delicious breakfast each morning. The rooms were well furnished and comfortable and very inviting. This B & B is the type of place in which you want to spend more time. Also, conveniently located between Avignon and Villeneuve des Avignon it is perfect.
We would recommend this B & B without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaforth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was a perfect setting for a Spring break in Provence. We stayed for 4 nights but would have liked to stay longer.Avignon is a really lovely town and Domaine de Rhodes was conveniently positioned on the island in the river Rhone. Francoise and Paco, the hosts, couldn't have been more helpful.
The rooms were well furnished and comfortable. The whole house had been tastefully restored.There was a sitting room for guests' use and extensive grounds, including a swimming pool ( although this wasn't open when we were there, due to it being early May). The breakfast was excellent, with fresh fruit, wonderful pastries, home- made yoghurt and cereal.
I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaT191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Domaine de Rhodes is an incredible base for exploring Avignon and the surrounding area. The room was extremely comfortable and peaceful. The garden is beautiful and has seating and loungers. There is an outdoor kitchen where you can prepare your own food and drinks. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoebeth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights in April but wished we could have stayed longer. What a beautiful and elegant old house, so lovingly and tastefully restored. Our room was beautifully appointed and the bed marvellously comfortable. It even had the original door with the quaintest locking mechanism I've ever seen! Francoise and Paco were delightful hosts, taking the trouble to sit and chat to guests around a big breakfast table. Although the property is a 10 minute drive from Avignon, it is such a welcome oasis of calm and peace and with a beautiful shady garden and plenty of seating, it was a perfect place for a glass (or three) of wine and a simple picnic supper - even in April!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwosomeStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Francoise and Paco are marvelous hosts and very knowledgeable about the area. The house is magnificent as are the grounds. I would highly recommend that anyone going to Avignon stay here even though it is a little off the beaten track. We used the house as our base as we toured around. Bed was very comfortable and room tastefully decorated. We would stay there again if we were in the area.
Perfect start to our holiday in France.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 days at Domaine de Rhodes and it was beautiful. Our wonderful hosts, Francoise and Paco are knowledgeable and very helpful for what to explore in the region and they are fun with a good sense of humor. They have created a truly beautiful property and we loved our 'suite' on the 2nd floor with the beautiful big windows opening on to the courtyard and garden. We slept extremely well on the high quality linens and comfortable bed.
Each morning we had a delicious breakfast - juices from local produce, fruits, breads, croissants, coffee, assortment of teas and the best yoghurt made by Francoise .... and over the 5 days, it was served on 3 different sets of exquisite porcelain sets - what a treat!
We highly recommend Domaine de Rhodes as a fantastic place to use as a base for your Provence/Luberon experience. We hope to come back again some time and explore more of the region from this delightful B & B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyPAuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#12 of 68 in Avignon
917 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
839 reviews
2.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#4 of 68 in Avignon
1,654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 56 in Avignon
378 reviews
2 mi away
Aux Augustins
Aux Augustins
#2 of 56 in Avignon
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Rhodes

Address: 486 Chemin de Rhodes | La Barthelasse, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range: $112 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beneath the wall of the city, in the shade of centuries-old plane trees, the 16th century guesthouse is an oasis of peace and greenery. Accomodation : 5 rooms with shower or/and bath, a large living-room with fireplace, piano and library dedicated to guests, a 1 hectare park and a sunny swimming pool,out of sight. The hosts provide lovely generous breakfasts. Situation :on theBarthelasse Island, less than 10 minutes by car from the center city, less than 5 minutes from a free parking. With shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Domaine de Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Rhodes Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing