We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful place to stay-I would go back again in a heartbeat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Bastide des Anges
Ranked #8 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful place to stay-I would go back again in a heartbeat”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Bastide des Anges is a beautiful guesthouse set amidst French countryside on a little island near Avignon. The house itself is gorgeous, with a pool, orchard, terrace for breakfast and kitchen you can use to make food as well, which is handy.

The room we stayed in (La Festival) was huge and very well decorated (as is the whole place-every little touch you could imagine). The breakfasts were delicious, home made jams (we even took some home with us) and yogurts.

It was a perfect place to stay, you can walk to the free shuttle boat to Avignon in 40 mins along the river and Beatrice and her husband will also provide bikes if you wish.

Beatrice and her husband are wonderful hosts and you will feel looked after.

I would definitely recommend Bastide des Anges and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahVBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
186
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A beautiful, stylish and spacious french home, in a lovely rural setting. Spacious and tastefully decorated room. We were travelling by bicycle, so only 20 minute ride to the city mostly along the Rhone River.
A very spacious and beautifully decorated lounge and kitchen to share with the other guests. One night we cooked dinner here for ourselves. Another night had a nice dinner at a close restaurant on the banks of the Rhone.
The beautiful outside living area was a real bonus to this place.
Met lovely people staying here.
Beatrice was the perfect hostess. Extremely helpful (good english) and very friendly, with a lovely quiet nature. One of those people who are perfect for this job.
The best french breakfast we had out of many B&Bs in France!
Would definitely return and recommend this great place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

There is no need for me to repeat all the positives, charming host and best mattress I had in 2+ weeks during my trip. Booking was quick and easy.

If you use TomTom driving there, it is out of it's range by 1/2 mile. Road signs are not too heplful, especially at night. so do a on-line Google drive befor you go.

It's an old fram house, a lots wood beams, smells woodsy,

Room Tip: Les Olivades - perfect for a couple, newer bathroom spaces La Festival - older bathroom, a lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humbleinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Daunès
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I have just spent four days at La Bastide des Anges and I can't recommend it highly enough. Our room was spacious and comfortable (excellent shower), breakfast every morning was different and delicious. The garden was filled with white oleander, olive trees and waves of lavender. Our hostess, Béatrice, was absolutely charming - she seemed to have thought of everything that anyone could want for a picture perfect provencal holiday.

Room Tip: I am quite sure that all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciana_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our 3 day stay here could not have been improved. Firstly, the kindness and helpfulness of Beatrice, then the beautiful room and surrounding acres of grounds, and the not to be forgotten breakfasts on the patio. So peaceful, and yet so close to Avignon - without the parking hassles.

Room Tip: Choose any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at this B & B. It was great to wake up to a lovely breakfast prepared by Beatrice especially with her home-made yoghurt and a variety of juices. Although we did not have a car, Beatrice showed us the way to get to the city centre walking along the river. It is also lovely to walk within the grounds of the B&B which is truly a quiet & peaceful place. Overall a very charming location and a really relaxing and excellent stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor which was very convenient for us as it is close to the kitchen and lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytrippernumber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband stayed at this wonderful place for 3 nights and loved it. It is located outside of Avignon, but only a 5-10 car ride to the city. We parked at a free car park and just walked about 5 minutes and there we were!
Beatrice was a delight, her breakfasts were delicious (homemade jams, and yogurt), and she was quite helpful in telling us about some small villages to visit and things to do around Avignon (we had rented a car).
We were able to use her kitchen's refrigerator to keep our wine chilled and anything else we needed to keep cold.
We stayed in one of the upstairs bedrooms (The Festival) which was spacious and decorated lovely. I had never been in a bathroom so large! The bed was very comfortable.
We left quite early to catch our plane to Barcelona and she made us a chocolate croissant to take with us.
We were able to get internet access in the kitchen area and outside area as well.
We would definitely return to Beatrice's home!
Also, Beatrice recommended a restaurant 5 minutes from her place and it was so good, we went back there for a second time.

Room Tip: our room The Festival was beautiful. No elevators, so pack light! View out our window was just beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
788 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
1,515 reviews
2.1 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
1.9 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 55 in Avignon
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide des Anges

Property: La Bastide des Anges
Address: 1634 Chemin des Vignes | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Barthelasse island on the Rhône, la Bastide des Anges provides a private car park, an outdoor swimming pool, a terrace and a wonderful four acres garden. The air-conditioned guestrooms occupy a wing of Bastide and have an independent entrance. Uniquely decorated, each room features a 160cm x 200cm bed and a private bathroom with a walk-in shower and separate WC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Bastide des Anges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing