We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B in Provence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Bastide des Anges
Ranked #8 of 51 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincroft, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B in Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at La Bastide des Anges for a week from the end of March into April after reading wonderful reviews. If anything, these were understated. This outstanding B&B is less than 10 minutes from Avignon on the lovely little island of Barthelasse. It has gracefully landscaped grounds in a tranquil country setting full of interesting trees, flower beds and bushes. The house is remarkably beautiful with tasteful furnishings and ‘an angels watching over you’ theme throughout that is manifested by statues, paintings and other reminders that create a sense of peace and well being

The room we stayed in, Les Ocres, was perfect. It was large, well arranged and overlooked an inviting terrace. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom had dual sinks and a luxurious shower.

Beatrice, our hostess, is a kind, thoughtful, generous and intelligent woman. Our conversations with her gave us a deeper understanding of Provence and France in general. She offered excellent tactful advice about what to see and do in Provence. For example, she helped us arrange our itinerary to include beautiful villages such as Gordes and Fontaine de Vaucluse. She suggested an interesting street market in St-Remy. Also, she gave us tips on where to get traditional Provencal foods such as Calisson and where to park in busy places like Arles.

The breakfasts were varied and delicious with amazingly good breads, cheeses, farm fresh juices and homemade yogurt and preserves that were superb! The common areas were very large, warm and welcoming with a subtle beguiling scent of flowers.

It’s only been two weeks since we returned to our home in the U.S. but already we are dreaming of returning to this idyllic B&B. We can’t imagine a more perfect place to stay in Province.

Room Tip: We loved Les Ocres! It was really large, well arranged and comfy and had an adjoining lovely terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
184
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our family of four had a wonderful stay at La Bastide des Anges. Unfortunately we only stayed one night but that one night was wonderful (in a great family room with twin beds upstairs for the kids). The grounds of the B and B, just outside Avignon, are lovely. The building is wonderfully restored and decorated. The public spaces are comfortable and inviting. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests on the sunny terrace. We enjoyed Avignon and it was easy to drive there from La Bastide and easy to park. The highlight of the B and B is Beatrice and her amazing breakfast. Beatrice is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, her breakfasts are amazing -- homemade yogurt, homemade jams, incredible pastries, wonderful cheeses, fresh amazing juices, ....all you could want and more. A really wonderful place to stay. We will recommend to friends and hope to return ourselves one day soon for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family32606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at La Bastide des Anges in January 2013 for our honeymoon. This is absolutely the most wonderful place we had in our honeymoon in France. This B&B is beautiful and quiet, but also the location is perfect to visit Avignon and explore Provence. Beatrice is very kind, warm, and helpful. She gave us the suggestions where is worth to visit while we did not have any plan. She did listened to us every morning to talk about our wonderful visit that we had at the previous day. We had 3 B&B for our whole trip- La Bastide de Anges is the most perfect place for me. I wish I could come back to stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apple C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spent two nights at La Bastide des Anges and we were sad to leave. A wonderful location and we were surprised how easy it was to find. Béatrice was a great host and we enjoyed the other guests as well. Nice breakfasts with delicious homemade jams! Very relaxing in a beautiful countryside location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Charming and comfortable B&B in the country yet not far from things we wanted to visit. We were greeted at our car and shown around the facilities. Our host was very helpful when we were planning our siteseeing and provided a nice breakfast. Our suite was very clean and my son had his own room upstairs. I would highly recommend this B&B to travelers when visiting this area of France.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at La Bastide des Anges in August 2012 in a beautiful traditional caravan - La roulotte - and have already booked another two weeks for 2013! La roulotte is perfect for a relaxed holiday in beautiful and peaceful surroundings whilst still being close to Avignon - 5 minutes in the car and 20 minutes by bike. The owners, Beatrice and Florent are very welcoming and helpful. We had fresh bread delivered each day and there are plenty of local farmers in the area selling fresh vegetables and fruit. The swimming pool was relaxing and we enjoyed the lovely terrace outside the caravan watching shooting stars in the evening. In the heat of August, the air conditioning inside was refreshing. We would highly recommend La Bastide des Anges for a relaxing holiday in a tranquil and beautiful corner of Provence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A superb bed and breakfast run by Beatrice on the island near Avignon, on arrival we could not believe the grounds or the look of this house, even before we entered. We stayed for a total of three nights, nearly half the time we spent in France, and it was probably one of the best places we stayed. I would recommend Beatrice's hospitality and fine breakfasts to anyone that wants to explore Avignon. Stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are a total of five rooms available and only one without a shower, even that had a great bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_Met2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 51 in Avignon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.9 mi away
Autour du Petit Paradis
Autour du Petit Paradis
#7 of 51 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide des Anges

Property: La Bastide des Anges
Address: 1634 Chemin des Vignes | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Barthelasse island on the Rhône, la Bastide des Anges provides a private car park, an outdoor swimming pool, a terrace and a wonderful four acres garden. The air-conditioned guestrooms occupy a wing of Bastide and have an independent entrance. Uniquely decorated, each room features a 160cm x 200cm bed and a private bathroom with a walk-in shower and separate WC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Bastide des Anges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing