We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Bastide des Anges
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Acacia(Avignon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de l'Atelier(Villeneuve-les-Avignon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
297
15
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
15
6
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 318 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Bastide for only two nights in Les Olivades. The property is spectacular! Absolutely beautiful. All rooms are very nice so don't worry about which one you choose. Breakfast is delicious, all local or homemade (amazing homemade yogurt!). Only downside was that the there is a beautiful pool but was usually busy with the owners daughter and her friends - not sure if it is like this usually or we were just there at a strange time.

You definitely will want a car if you stay here. Avignon is not in walking distance. But I would recommend renting a car for your stay in Provence anyways - its the best way to see all the amazing villages in the area. We spent very little time in Avignon, and mostly just explored the countryside (highly recommend Gordes, les fontaine de vaucluse, st.remy de provence and baix de Provence).

Stay here! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie123go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days in early June. It was one if the highlights of our European vacation, a gem in the country but with easy access to Avignon. Mme Beatrice is a warm and friendly hostess who provides a wonderful breakfast. We stayed in the Festivale room which was very spacious. The bathroom was bigger than our entire hotel room in Paris! You won't find a better gites (b&b) and it is a steal price wise. A car is a must but what better way to explore Provence than to have this as your base handy to the old walled city of Avignon. We parked in the free huge carpark on the island and walked across the bridge ino the old city on most days. A wonderful experience which made Avignon the one place on our trip we would like to move to.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our 5 night stay at La Bastide des Anges was certainly a highlight of our trip to Provence. Beatrice, our flexible, helpful and knowledgeable hostess, has a great interest in local food and wine and makes every effort to provide a very high quality breakfast ( e.g. homemade yogurt, fresh fruit juices, croissants to die for) and advice on which local vineyards to visit.
We stayed in the Baiassieres room on the first floor. Lovely!. Lavendar décor, lavender growing outside the window, with views of Beatrice’s horse in the pasture.
La Bastide des Anges is a perfect location for Avignon and its environs. It’s on the Isle de Barthelasse in the Rhone, 5-10 minutes from Avignon center.
One gauge of the hospitality we received occurred when we learned that our electric power had been lost back home in Virginia due to the intense derecho storm that devastated the mid Atlantic states. Beatrice provided her phone and laptop so we could try to care for our cats and home from afar. This gesture was immensely appreciated. Beatrice has emailed us asking how we fared.
Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. If our travels take us to Provence again we will certainly look forward to our next stay at La Bastide des Anges.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A delightfully quiet romantic little inn Modestly priced
Location off the main stream, an island readily accessible to town by car or taxi
Excellent nearby restaurant
Beautifully renovated old building Modern conveniences
Attentive owners
Could not have asked for anything better; most enjoyable two night stay prior to embarkation for Rhone river cruise

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I must add to the praise of this exceptional B&B. Yes, it is located on the river just outside the old town and can be difficult to find, but what a find! We had a huge, period room ("La Festival") with quirky claw bath but what sets this B&B apart is the outstanding facilities - spacious communal lounge area with access to modern kitchen, attractive swimming pool plus an outside BBQ within a pool cabina kitchen which we used on our second night. It was like staying at a country club but with relatively easy access to the old town and Papal Palace, especially via the free ferry from the island.
The manager, Beatrice, provided helpful advice about local restuarants, transport etc.
Great value for the (low) price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: La Festival is the size of a small apartment.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews