We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Charm in Avignon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Bastide des Anges
Ranked #8 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our 5 night stay at La Bastide des Anges was certainly a highlight of our trip to Provence. Beatrice, our flexible, helpful and knowledgeable hostess, has a great interest in local food and wine and makes every effort to provide a very high quality breakfast ( e.g. homemade yogurt, fresh fruit juices, croissants to die for) and advice on which local vineyards to visit.
We stayed in the Baiassieres room on the first floor. Lovely!. Lavendar décor, lavender growing outside the window, with views of Beatrice’s horse in the pasture.
La Bastide des Anges is a perfect location for Avignon and its environs. It’s on the Isle de Barthelasse in the Rhone, 5-10 minutes from Avignon center.
One gauge of the hospitality we received occurred when we learned that our electric power had been lost back home in Virginia due to the intense derecho storm that devastated the mid Atlantic states. Beatrice provided her phone and laptop so we could try to care for our cats and home from afar. This gesture was immensely appreciated. Beatrice has emailed us asking how we fared.
Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. If our travels take us to Provence again we will certainly look forward to our next stay at La Bastide des Anges.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 319 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

A delightfully quiet romantic little inn Modestly priced
Location off the main stream, an island readily accessible to town by car or taxi
Excellent nearby restaurant
Beautifully renovated old building Modern conveniences
Attentive owners
Could not have asked for anything better; most enjoyable two night stay prior to embarkation for Rhone river cruise

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I must add to the praise of this exceptional B&B. Yes, it is located on the river just outside the old town and can be difficult to find, but what a find! We had a huge, period room ("La Festival") with quirky claw bath but what sets this B&B apart is the outstanding facilities - spacious communal lounge area with access to modern kitchen, attractive swimming pool plus an outside BBQ within a pool cabina kitchen which we used on our second night. It was like staying at a country club but with relatively easy access to the old town and Papal Palace, especially via the free ferry from the island.
The manager, Beatrice, provided helpful advice about local restuarants, transport etc.
Great value for the (low) price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: La Festival is the size of a small apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Trip Advisor comes through again! We could not have chosen a more relaxing place to stay while in Avignon. "La Bastide" means a country cottage. What we got was a country estate!

Beatrice, the owner, speaks perfect English and acted as our personal Concierge. She is familiar with every good restaurant in the area and knows every part of the surrounding countryside. When we told her that we were going to visit the Pont du Gard, she suggested that, afterwards, we drive another 15 minutes to visit Uzes. What a great side trip. It's a lovely little, walled city with numerous restaurants. You can walk everywhere in just a few hours.

La Bastide des Anges exceeded our expectations in every way. Each breakfast on the terrace just outside of our room was memorable. The rooms were all large, well appointed (huge bathroom) and air conditioned. (very important in the Provence summers) The pool and the grounds were impeccably maintained. We experienced calm, country living just a few minutes from the walls of Avignon. What a great contrast to the tourist overrun center of the city!

Yes, you will need a car to get there from Avignon. But, it only takes 10 minutes from the city center AND the money that you saved by staying outside the city will probably pay for your car rental. We arrived at the Avignon TGV Station and rented a car. From the Gare TGV to La Bastide des Anges took maybe 20 minutes. Having a GPS helped immensely. Don't drive in Europe without one! You can buy all the programs for Europe drectly from Garmin before you leave.

To get back into Avignon, you can park for free just outside the wall on the West side of the city, near the Pont Edouard Daladier. From the parking lot, it is a 10 minute walk to the Place de l'Horloge. Staying outside of the city, on a large island, allowed us much better access to Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Courthezon (for wineries).

If we get back to Provence, we will go back to La Bastide des Anges.

Room Tip: Every room is unique. Every room is well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcobett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

While in Avignon we actually stayed outside of the town at a place called Bastide des Anges, on an island created by the river, across from Avignon. Wonderful place, if you are traveling by car, especially since traffic in Avignon is crazy. Europe can have small rooms but at the Bastide rooms are of generous size with large bathrooms, with other amenities such as a wonderful common area living room, dining room and kitchen, fully and nicely outfitted. And then there's a lovely pool in the gardens, nearly a necessity in the summer to call off in the afternoons.. In the shared salon (with other guests), there's a full kitchen. We took advantage of this and toured Avignon in the morning, bought a few things for lunch and took them back to the hotel for a lunch poolside, in the shade. Had a swim, a siesta, and then we were ready to return to Avignon for more walking and dinner. BdesAnges is highly recommended. One of the other guests we spoke to said they have travelled extensively through the years in France and this is one of their best experiences. An older couple mentioned to us that they come back each year. Book early to be sure you can get a room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I were travelling for our anniversary and were delighted to have found this little gem in the countryside, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The b&b was quiet, safe, and very romantic, and the pool was very refreshing at the end of a long day sightseeing.

We stayed in the Baiassieres room and loved it! The room was tastefully decorated, and was incredibly spacious and comfortable. Beatrice was a delightful hostess and was very helpful and accommodating in every possible way! And the breakfast was delightful - we loved eating outside on the lovely terrace and meeting the other guests. The fresh pear juice was my favourite!

We didn't get a chance to use the outdoor kitchen, but it looked like it was very well equipped, and would be a great place to have dinner with a group of friends! We'll just have to go back again so we can try it out!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you are looking for a provence location where you can have country flair with Avignon city convience and a five star room for a three star price you have found it! This is a comfortable former farm, now run by beatrice who has put her special paris stamp on the interiors and other special touches....plus she has a knack for being the genuine perfect host!
beatrice also has great taste, her farm fresh breakfast makes your taste buds feel like they are french, her rooms she designed and decorated are all a treat with plenty of space and special but important touches....... big beautiful bathrooms, extra large beds and bedrooms, very private spaces everywhere and all are higher quality than a farm should be....but this is her farm and you will love it! feel like you are at home, make a meal in the outdoor summer kitchen reserved for the guests and fully stocked with style! or enjoy your own living room off the terrace.... take a dip in the garden pool...A gated french countryside estate, on an island with bike and walking paths which afford great views of avignon and the cardinals estate on the opposite bank....how much more provence can it get? don't worry about which room they are all special!
,

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank monalinda2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,615 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aux Augustins
Aux Augustins
#2 of 55 in Avignon
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Domaine de Rhodes
Domaine de Rhodes
#3 of 55 in Avignon
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 55 in Avignon
378 reviews
1.9 mi away
Autour du Petit Paradis
Autour du Petit Paradis
#4 of 55 in Avignon
384 reviews
2.0 mi away
Les Jardins de Baracane
Les Jardins de Baracane
#7 of 55 in Avignon
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide des Anges

Address: 1634 Chemin des Vignes | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range: $119 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Barthelasse island on the Rhône, la Bastide des Anges provides a private car park, an outdoor swimming pool, a terrace and a wonderful four acres garden. The air-conditioned guestrooms occupy a wing of Bastide and have an independent entrance. Uniquely decorated, each room features a 160cm x 200cm bed and a private bathroom with a walk-in shower and separate WC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Bastide des Anges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing