We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend enough...my favourite stay in France”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Bastide des Anges
Ranked #8 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend enough...my favourite stay in France”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

How to begin to do Bastide des Anges justice... it is such an amazing place. A girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights during a cross-France trip and sadly left wanting more of Bastide's country charm and relaxation.
The property is beautiful and the rooms are decorated in a charmingly 'provence' manner (very classy still though and well-appointed). There is a lovely sitting room and kitchen with common access, and free wi-fi. The pool is lovely, and there are bicycles available to ride around the countryside.
Our room, Les Olivades, had a rain shower head, two sinks, a good hairdryer, a big armoire for storage, separate door for the toilet, and a nice big window. The room also featured L'Occitane en Provence toilettries. Score!
Breakfast was wonderful, with delicious fruit juices and an assortment of preserves to go along with organic yogurt (along with the classic croissant and baguette). A piece of fresh fruit was also provided.
Beatrice is a magnificent hostess and greatly contributed to the enjoyment of our stay. She will do whatever she can to ensure you have a great trip, she even did a load of laundry for us at no charge. (we did hang it up and take it down ourselves, however, but we were still very grateful for the service).
I cannot wait to come back and in the meantime will be telling all of my friends and family to come here...seriously, don't look anywhere else, just stay at Bastide des Anges if there is availability.

*One caveat is that you need a car to stay here, it's a 5-10 minute car ride into town. To properly explore Avignon and the surrounding towns, I would highly recommend a car anyway.*

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-STARR_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
186
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Myself and two friends stayed for two nights recently and wished we could have stayed for longer. Bastides des Anges is in the most amazing location and, although difficult to find, was like being in the deep countryside but only 5 minutes away from Avignon. Beatrice is a wonderful host; welcoming, helpful and friendly.

The accommodation was spectacular. We had the Festival room which contained 3 single beds and a wonderful bathroom which I missed for the rest of France. It was enormous and had a glorious view from the large window. Consequently it was filled with light. The two basins made it easy for three women to spread out as did the table and chairs in the bedroom.

Everthing is beautiful from the colours to the furnishings. I especially loved the little touches in the corners even down to matching toilet paper. The breakfast is a feast with farm yoghurt and juices. Amazing pastries and delicious homemade jam and 2 types of delicious honey. Even the butter comes salted and unsalted all washed down with divine coffee.

Beatrice recommended the local village for a light meal in Villeneuve and it was gorgeous! So good to get away from the big tourist attractions. If you are driving I highly recommend driving to the bridge to get off the island and parking in the Free Parking place. There is a free bus which takes you to Avignon and, not only is it all free, it takes the worry out of trying to find a parking spot amongst all the traffic and narrow streets of Avignon. We also made use of the lovely kitchen which has everything and the enormous, comfortable lounge.

I will definately be back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celia_gall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyable 3 night stay in the family room. This room has two large bedrooms on two levels and a very nice bathroom. We also made use of a very nicely furnished communal living room and kitchen as well as an outdoor terrace. perfect for our family of four. Hosts were delightful, helping us with information and recommendations and conversing with us in English. Other positives were ample free parking, nice French breakfasts, good Internet and some friendly horses for the kids to pat. Location is terrific if you have a car - you get to stay in the peaceful countryside but can be in gorgeous old Avignon in 5 minutes. Highly recommend Avignon and this B&B for anyone touring Provence by car.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We were graciously welcomed by Beatrice, the hostess, who has lovingly restored this charming house. The bedroom was spacious and elegantly decorated with charming touches to make the stay comfortable. There is a great common area for the guests to share, with comfortable couches and chairs,and a full kitchen if you have an inkling to cook.

Beatrice was very helpful in directing us to medieval towns in the hills, places that we would not have otherwise visited, as they were not mentioned in our guidebooks. When I needed a computer, she very graciously offered me her personal computer to use. We spent two nights here, but wished we had more time as the place was so great!

Although we had a GPS, we had trouble finding it the first time, but any inconvenience was quickly forgotten when we saw our room.

Pam from Connecticut

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SojournerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

There are not enough wonderful things to say about La Bastide des Anges! A perfect location outside of Avignon and central for day-trips. The Bastide is everything and more than the pictures show. Our room was French cozy and more than we imagined with ample space and wonderful amenities ... lovely L'Occitane soaps, towel warmer and real lavendar in the armoir. Our host, Beatrice, excels at taking care of her guests. She will make you feel like you are at home, but only better! Our breakfasts were exceptional and filled with delicous surprises. Beatrice also answered our many questions, recommended beautiful markets and had tourist information to supply us with. We will definitely stay at Bastide de Anges again and recommended it 100% to anyone looking for a lovely B&B to stay at in the heart of Provence.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed at the charming BB for 4 nights in Oct 2010. Rooms are beautifully decorated, big, and clean with large bathroom. The breakfasts were superb and well selected by the owner. The hotel is very quiet for a good night sleep and easy to access by car with safe parking space

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjosejose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freethorpe, Norwich
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The stay for three nights in this delightfull B&B was the highlight of our whole holiday. It was just perfect- the room was wonderful, the garden and the terrace were very relaxing and beautiful and M et Mme Bourgeouis were very friendly and welcoming and helpful.. L'Isle de la Barthelasse is very close to the centre of Avignon but is a haven of peace. The free parking at the end of the Island is very convenient to explore Avignon and is connected by a free shuttle bus to the old city of Avignon itself.
Thank you for making us so welcome!
Nick and Ann Ireland. Freethorpe, Norwich

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickIreand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
778 reviews
2.1 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
945 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#6 of 69 in Avignon
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
2.4 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
1.0 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 55 in Avignon
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide des Anges

Property: La Bastide des Anges
Address: 1634 Chemin des Vignes | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Barthelasse island on the Rhône, la Bastide des Anges provides a private car park, an outdoor swimming pool, a terrace and a wonderful four acres garden. The air-conditioned guestrooms occupy a wing of Bastide and have an independent entrance. Uniquely decorated, each room features a 160cm x 200cm bed and a private bathroom with a walk-in shower and separate WC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Bastide des Anges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing