We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet simple hotel from Avignon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L' Auberge Rognonaise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L' Auberge Rognonaise
Ranked #47 of 57 Avignon B&B and Inns
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet simple hotel from Avignon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at room #10 which faces the swimming pool.

The room was simple, considering the price of 2 nights (118 Euro) includes free wifi and swimming pool, and free parking on site.

We like the quietness in the neighborhood away from the tourist area in Avignon. The hotel is just 10 mins drive from the center of Avignon.

The breakfast costs 7 euro per person, which I thought was expensive. There was no egg at all and only baguette and croissant and jams, and coffee.

They have a restaurant here, and we were informed that if we want to have the dinner, we need to tell them in advance so they can be prepared.

The staff can speak English, but hard to keep the conversation going.

The toilet made me feel like from the 80s, very old and worn-out, but still good enough. The ceiling should be changed.

Room Tip: We stayed at room #10 which faces the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lundaboende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A great find for just what we needed: one night in a very reasonable, comfortable hotel for families. We stayed in the family room with 4 single beds which was perfect for our mom, dad, 4 yr old and 18-yr old combination... ground floor but with no one overhead, ideal! Foam rubber mattresses, but very comfortable. Big bathroom with open shower... I am guessing that this room would also be accessible for wheel chairs.
Very nice welcome from the owners. (but we speak fluent French, not sure how their English is). Breakfast nothing extraordinary but lots of fresh fruit. Very small swimming pool but since 4 yr old and 18 yr old had it to themselves, they had a blast.
A very important note about location... it was perfect for us because we wanted to be close to friends who have a home very near by. But Avignon is a significant driving distance away... be sure to map the hotel if your plan is to be visiting Avignon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marseille-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Auberge Rognonaise in June 2010 with our 2 teen boys (12 and 15). The room was small but quite sufficient: everything was clean and well maintained. The owners are friendly and keen to offer advice. The breakfast includes fresh fruit from the owners' property (in June it was cherries and apricots - delicious!) and 5 different homemade jams. The auberge is a traditional Provence house turned into a hotel and has authentic, homey charm. The small town is quiet even though it is a mere ten minutes from Avignon and other major sites. Sure, the owners are off on Wednesdays (are they not supposed to get a day off ??) but there is not much to complain about anyway!! we did not try the restaurant, so I can't comment. Even though we live in the US, we are both from Europe and found this place totally charming. It is not the Hilton, but it is not advertising itself as such. I certainly recommend staying there and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValMarie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

This is a good option for someone who needs a very quiet hotel a short drive away from Avignon. The hotel is clean, but could use a few simple updates. Great breakfast, but the restaurant is a little sad...

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archippus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#33 of 70 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Le Colbert
Hotel Le Colbert
#11 of 70 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Clos Saint Pierre de Fraisse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Appart'hotel Residella House
2.8 mi away
Mistral
Mistral
#50 of 57 in Avignon
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Bastide des Anges
La Bastide des Anges
#5 of 57 in Avignon
5.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L' Auberge Rognonaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L' Auberge Rognonaise

Property: L' Auberge Rognonaise
Address: 20 Boulevard des arenes, 13870, Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — L' Auberge Rognonaise 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your L' Auberge Rognonaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing