We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adagio Access Avignon
Ranked #38 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This ‘aparthotel’ is convenient if you are arriving and departing via the Avignon TGV station, a short walk away – out the north exit of the station, then to the left down the boulevard. From outside the station (also north exit), one can take the navette (bus) into the city of Avignon. These navettes can also be taken from and to the Bonne Fleur stop near the hotel. Free internet with good speed, too.

Rooms are set back from the hallway, reducing noise; double-paned windows reduce most street noise and, thankfully, open for fresh air. Each room has a ‘kitchenette’, a two-hob stove, a microwave oven, and a refrigerator, with cooking and eating utensils provided. The hotel offers only breakfast and may be most suitable for those wishing to prepare some of their meals as there are few restaurants nearby – an Oh! Poivrier at the station and a pizza place attached to a nearby hotel. There is a small commercial area about a 10-minute walk away, though a bit tricky to reach, including a short walk along an access road. That commercial area has a large Carrefour, a pharmacy, two restaurants, a Quick fast-food outlet, and a boulangerie. It is also easy to eat in the city before taking the navette back to the hotel. I preferred the smaller Carrefour in the city to the ‘warehouse’one near the hotel. Plan ahead if staying on a Sunday as many of the above-mentioned ‘food’ places are closed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    148
    104
    34
    17
See reviews for
59
140
41
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in the Adagio Access Avignon hotel with my sister for 3 nights, the second day just found that our money and TGV train tickets all were stolen. Then we told to the manager, she was rude and said "it's impossible, you must forgot where you put on...". WTH, the manager didn't believe us and even said that's our fault. In addition, this hotel no any CCTV!!!!! so, travellers: DON'T BOOK IT!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avignon hotels

Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I don't understand why some people are complaining about this hotel. The point is, it's cheap - what do they expect? Four of us stayed there October 2012 for eight nights and found it fantastic for our purposes. No, it isn't a posh hotel with character in an attractive setting - you have to pay a lot more for that. But in many ways it's ideally situated. It's a five minute walk from the TVG station from Avis and Hertz car rental at the station and from a massive Carrefour supermarket with everything you could possibly need. Directly opposite there is a bus which takes you to the middle of Avignon, so you don't even have to have a car, as you can do loads of trips by train or bus. There is free, secure parking at the hotel.

As for the rooms, ours were spotlessly clean. There is air conditioning for if it's hot. The beds were extremely comfortable. I had taken my own pillow having read some of the bad reviews - the hotel's pillow was the most comfortable I have ever used - better than mine at home. The bathroom was all you could want or need. The kitchenette was very well equipped - much better than you get in Greek resorts, for example, with an efficient coffee maker, a fridge, a microwave, two halogen rings, pans, glasses, bowls, cutlery etc etc. We needed a wok which, not surprisingly, was not provided. So we bought a good one from Carrefour for less than £4.00. Another really good point is that you get free wi-fi in the room, whereas lots of places you have to pay up to £10 a day.

Furthermore, all the reception staff, contrary to several reviews, were LOVELY. We managed to lose our hotel key, our car key and the keys to our house on our first day, and they couldn't have been more helpful, kind and sympathetic - especially Sabrina, who stayed on long after she should have gone home, making phone calls for us.

So, you are asked to leave the kitchen clean and tidy and to empty your rubbish, and you have to go in the lift to the ground floor and walk a few yards inside the hotel to the rubbish room to do this - what's the big deal about that?

We didn't have the breakfast, but from what I could see, it looked fine. The only possible improvement might have been a mirror in the bedroom rather than just in the bathroom.

I would recommend this apartment hotel highly to anyone who is looking for a good base to stay in this area which doesn't cost a fortune and which provides facilities for self-catering. If you're a vegetarian in this part of France, you don't have a lot of option about that.

Room Tip: We had one room at the back and one room at the front. Some people have said that rooms at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you have to spend a night in Avignon before catching a morning TGV, this is the place for you. Otherwise avoid it. It is a backpacker's hostel in the middle of a mega-carpark. It is soul-less, it makes no attempt at decor, has no pictures on the walls, not even a television in my room. It is a 10 minute bus ride from the lovely city of Avignon, where there are much nicer hotels.

The only advantage is that it is cheap and the rooms have a little kitchen, so you can save even more money by cooking for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dene2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked several French Adagio properties for this year, not realising the Adagio Access was of a significantly lower standard - Ok for a night, but NOT for 4!!! Cramped, older, worn furnishings, dreadful thin bed mattress in bedroom, horrible divan-couch in living area,, poorly maintained cramped kitchenette with no kettle ( had a coffee machine but had to use a non functioning microwave to try to boil water)- had to step into cupboard to access mini fridge! We selected this property for its easy access to the TGV station. In hindsight, wished we had checked that it was an Adagio ACCESS and NOT the higher quality Adagio we thought we had booked ( my mistake). Stayed at other Adagios which were super. If it's a short stay and budget is the issue, then the Adagio Access is OK - just. Staff not very helpful or friendly and we were told you don't accrue Accor points at the Adagio Access properties.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in here principally because it was cheap and located near the TGV station.

The kitchenette is well funished with two hobs, microwave and coffee machine and plenty of cutlery and pots (no frying pan or sieve though which was irritating). There is also a fridge-freezer. It is also a 5 min walk from Carrefour which is very handy.

It is worth noting that the excentric nature of the Avignon bus system means that, if you don't have a car, most bus routes shut down at about 7PM, except the "TGV shuttle" (into the town centre and SNCF station) which goes on up to 10PM, and since the stop is just 100m away from the hotel, you get rather more freedom if you don't have a car.

WIFI is free in the lobby of the hotel (only), and there are ethernet cables in the rooms.

Overall, it isn't on the same level as the more palatial hotels, but it doesn't have their price tags either. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The reception knocks off quite early and after that there is no-one on the desk. Therefore, checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

As a base before an early TGV, this was absolutely perfect. We also had dinner in Avignon old town the night before and there is a quick and affordable bus which drops you right outside the hotel from the main Gare bus stop. We stayed in an apartment room which was very well appointed with a kitchenette and spacious bedroom and bathroom. It was clean and well presented. The one thing I'd criticise is that we drove past it 3 times before spotting it (sign was obscured by trees) and there was no parking available outside because it's a busy road for the TGV so all spots were filled - we had to abandon the car while we hauled our luggage up to our room and were fortunate not to get a ticket!

We didn't see much of the staff or partake of the breakfast but that all seemed adequate and the guy on the front desk was professional and polite.

Definitely worth it if you need to be by the TGV but if not, I'd take a room closer to town...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeOfShalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Courtine Gare
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Avignon Centre
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin
BEST WESTERN Le Lavarin
#11 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Avignon 2
B&B Hotel Avignon 2
#6 of 10 in Le Pontet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradou
1.7 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#16 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Access Avignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Access Avignon

Property: Adagio Access Avignon
Address: 6 avenue de la Gare, 84000, Avignon, France (Formerly Citea Avignon)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adagio Access Avignon 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adagio Access Avignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Access Avignon Hotel Avignon
Citea Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing