We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely French Pensions in Historic Arles”
Review of Hotel Du Musee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Du Musee
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I chose this hotel from Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. The only difficulty was that the booking agencies linked to your web page all said it was fully booked over 3 months before our holiday! Hence, I emailed them and had no problem. If you ring, they do speak English.
It was very easy to find, about 15 minutes walk from the railway station, within the old walls, so right in the historic district of the town. The hotel is on several levels, so the less able, should request a room with only flight of stairs; we had two flights.
Our room was large, light and airy with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was good and drinks (including wine) are available throughout the day/eve to drink in your room or on one of the pretty terraces.
The staff are very helpful about sightseeing and transport (if you don't have your own).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 379 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

Stayed three days at Hotel du Musee in May and were delighted with everything. Large comfortable rooms, lovely flower filled courtyards and very friendly service. Book a car parking(essential if you have a car) and Laurence will valet service the parking for you. Finally the best Wifi in France.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbCAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We agree with other reviewers about the charming quaint atmosphere of Hotel Musee. It is an excellent value (we paid 86 euro including breakfast). The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The hotel was very clean, no stench (and I am sensitive to dirt and odors). The wifi access worked in the upper and lower courtyard as well as in the breakfast room. As others have noted, the hotel is a challenge to find because of the winding streets (head for the ancient baths and art museum near the river); garage space is limited; there is no elevator (if you have issues with climbing stairs or hauling your bags up the stairs, ask for a room close to the ground floor). Arles is an excellent location to use as a base for day trips throughout Provence.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Hotel Du Musee has a lot going for it - a great central location on a beautiful, quiet street in Arles (which is closed off to most traffic during the day), a fantastic well-planted courtyard, clean / cute rooms and great rates (doubles from 55 euros as of May 2010). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

I traveled with my mother and we loved Arles the most out of the "major" towns in Provence - it felt more charming and "small-town" than Aix and Avignon. It was wonderful wandering around the small streets and not seeing an H&M sign pop up around the next block. It's also close to major sites - a quick 15 minute drive from Les Baux, and within 40-45 minutes of Aix and Avignon (even accounting for "getting lost" time). And we couldn't have found a better value + charm + location combination in Hotel Du Musee.

Our only quibble is that the service, while certainly efficient and well-managed, is not overly helpful or friendly. We didn't have many requests (just the occasional request for an electricity adapter or map) but we sometimes felt like we were bothering management by even asking. This however was a very minor detraction from an otherwise fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SF_intrepidwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

This hotel was beautiful in March and I can only imagine the courtyards make it even more amazing in the spring and summer. We really felt like we were staying somewhere special. The staff are very nice and helpful. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The location was great. We walked there in the evening from the train station. We did have some trouble finding it, even though there are several signs, I think it's just the way the streets are laid out -- a little confusing. The only thing we didn't like was that our room was right by the stairs and we heard everyone coming and going. We mentioned this to the staff and they offered to let us switch rooms on our 3rd night, which was nice, but we decided not to bother. Also, we were a little confused by the Air Conditioner. Some instructions in English would have been nice. Otherwise, this place was perfect and I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewEnglandWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The Hotel du Musee is converted from an old nunnery and built in the 1600's. It's a landmark in itself and the outside and inside is quaint and beautiful. The room was extremely large for a hotel room, and well equipped. The biggest disappointment in the room was that the hot water didn't work for more than 10 seconds at a time. It was nearly impossible to shower or bathe. We tried several times and in winter, it's not great taking a cold shower!

The husband & wife proprietors were very friendly and helpful in finding our way around town, making reservations for us, and scheduling our taxi back to the train station. The wife speaks fluent English, the husband does not.

We did not partake in the continental breakfast, which was 7euro per person.

For the price (55-80 euro a night) I would recommend this hotel (as long as you checked on the hot water situation!)

IMPORTANT TIPS:
* There are no elevators, so if you are like us and have heavy suitcases, prepare to haul them up several flights!
* Hot water didn't work well
* FREE WiFi, but it only works in the lobby, which has 2 chairs.
* Close to the Cafe Van Gogh that Vincent depicted in his famous painting. Nice for coffee/tea, but unusually expensive for the town. Eat somewhere else.
* You don't need a car in Arles, you can walk from one end of town to the other.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vleopatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Our family of four stayed in a quad room at this stunning old hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious- enormous bathroom. The hotel itself is just beautiful- very atmospheric with lovely sitting rooms and garden areas. It is close to all Arles main attractions- we walked everywhere from the hotel. The hotel staff were extremely helpful- printed our emailed train reservations for us with no charge. The price is unbelievable value- we paid 85 euros per night, by far the best value of anywhere we have stayed in Europe during our travels. Breakfast (7 euros ea) was also good value. Free Wifi in lounge , garden areas. This is the perfect place to stay in Arles.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolajaneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#9 of 56 in Arles
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#10 of 56 in Arles
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Musee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Musee

Address: 11 rue du grand Prieure, 13200, Arles, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Arles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#9 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range: $93 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Du Musee 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Du Musee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Musee Hotel
Du Musee Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing