We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very quaint and quite hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Musee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Du Musee
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very quaint and quite hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A very cool and quaint hotel with winding halls and stairways, a great room with fireplace, couches and internet station and a lovely courtyard. Some walls looked to have been made of stone liberated from a Roman ruin. Room was a bit sparse but spacious by European standards and the bed and heating were good. Bath was the “open” style with a wand and no curtain and the Wi-Fi seemed to go off and on but was good when on. Continental breakfast was more than enough with fresh bread and croissants. Everything was as clean as a whistle. We enjoyed our stay and would do so again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmwooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    129
    26
    11
    1
See reviews for
49
187
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I visited Hotel du Musee, a 2 Star hotel in Arles, south east France, in mid September 2012. The hotel is located in the older, historic part of town within easy walking access to the local tourist spots and restaurant’s. The Rhone river which runs through Arles is a few minutes away and the Roman Amphitheatre is about a ten minute walk.
Hotel du Musee is about 300 years old 'so you guessed it' there is no elevator, so its a steep climb to the third floor. The Lobby area is small and clean and supported by helpful staff. I paid for a double bed room which for me alone was ok but for two people would be dreadfully small. On the plus side the room was clean and peacefully quiet at night. Breakfast which was included in my room rate was above average and served in either the cute courtyard or for me in the warmer dining room.
Overall I thought Hotel du Musee was a pleasant two day stay which I can recommend to other travellers

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rekrabn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband, my two teenage children and I stayed in a quad room at Hotel du Musee in August 2012. We were very pleased with the hotel. The courtyards and public rooms are charming and very clean. Our room was large with a huge closet and bathroom. The breakfast was a reasonable value and every afternoon we purchased table wine from the hotel for an absurdly low price and sat in the lovely courtyard relaxing. The location is quiet, the WiFi and AC worked well. The owners printed out tickets for us (for free) that we had purchased online. For 4 persons in a quad room, the price was a great value.

The location of this hotel is ideal, within easy walking distance of all major site and the train station. However, as mentioned by other reviewers, it is approximately 1 km from the train station so if you have a lot of luggage you might want to get a cab. In addition, there are many stairs in the hotel. This was not a problem for us but if you have trouble with stairs ... be forewarned.

Arles was one of our favorite stops on our trip and Hotel du Musee was part of our great experience there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel very much. It is in a great location for walking all over the old part of Arles, which we used to great advantage in the short time we had there. It is a little too far from the train station to walk with bags, so we took a cab for the short trip. The hotel itself is clean and nice, with well-appointed rooms, a good breakfast room and a lovely common room. Perhaps the most appealing part is the lovely courtyard. Our room was up some steep stairs, which could be a problem for those with any mobility issues. All in all, a lovely hotel at a reasonable price. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at Hotel Du Musee, and found the accommodations to be very nice. Our room looked out on the courtyard, which was a pleasant view. The location of the hotel made it easy to get to. We were travelling by train, so we walked everywhere, and were pleased with the location - plus it is close to several good restaurants. The room was quiet and clean. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet and Richa... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had high hopes for the Hotel Du Musee but were disappointed overall. The hotels courtyard is as beautiful as it looks on the website but the rooms are very standard accommodation. Rooms on the upper floors are reached by steep, narrow staircases so those with limited mobility may have difficulty with access. As advised in other reviews, there is an unpleasant smell at times.

The hotel is quite hard to find and situated in a narrow locked street (entry by residents code). Also the hotel advertises that it has secure parking, so if you are driving make sure your carpark is confirmed as there are only 4 parks available for the whole hotel. We also noted that there was only very limited public carparking in proximity to the hotel and most of this was metered.

On the upside, the town of Arles has an interesting history and the hotel is in walking distance to many of the sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Du Musee in Arles three nights..21-23 September. This family-owned hotel was great. Public spaces charming. Owners very helpful. Ample daily breakfast in/near an enclosed courtyard. First floor room had a nice courtyard view. Comfortable bed, good linens and nicely updated bath with all the amenities. Location is outstanding and a car really isn't necessary. So, we had them park our wheels in their garage. It disappeared after arrival and reappeared upon checkout! A bit challenging to find as it is on a restricted access pedestrian walkway. Just know that in advance, get the barrier code; punch it in and the barrier drops so you can drive right up to the door. Loved this historic property, the services and location. We would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#5 of 59 in Arles
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
0.2 mi away
Le Regence
Le Regence
#14 of 59 in Arles
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Musee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Musee

Property: Hotel Du Musee
Address: 11 rue du grand Prieure, 13200, Arles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Arles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#9 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Du Musee 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Du Musee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Musee Hotel
Du Musee Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing