We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like staying in a friend's home”
Review of Mas Du Petit Grava

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas Du Petit Grava
Ranked #9 of 50 Arles B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had some problems to find the way to this place, but apart from that, everything was superb. Everything about the place is charming, but the little extra with this place is Ike, who runs the place. He really made us comfortable by taking his time to sit down and chat with us, bring coffee and give us some recommendations for dinner. Breakfast outside the next morning together with other guests was great. Unfortunately we couldn't stay more than one night since it was booked out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trallalao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Mas Du Petit Grava
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 197 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Provence was trying! It was summer, it was hot, it was busy, but in was also fascinating!! The Mas Du Petit Grava was just the escape we needed!. An idyllic and peaceful location 15 minutess from Arles with many attractions. The B&B was atmospheric and historic, offered great varied brekkies, interesting conversations with Ike / Jim and the guests, and gave tips for driving and walking tours (after a long 6 km walk - we got lost; luckily a Provence couple had pity on our exhausted family with 3 young boys and invited us for snacks and lemon squashes and ...many......liquers).
Later the kids played in the pool, soccer, ping pong, and played and fed Jim's dogs.
It really was a memorable holiday!!! Great value for money (this is France) and highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are on thge first floor, are historic, beautifully decorated and have large windows overlo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaiser6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our experience at Mas du Petit Grava B&B was very positive. We were treated to a complimentary and generous homemade breakfast every morning out on the spacious patio. A cozy common/library/music room was perfect for an evening beverage and end-of-day chat. The bedrooms were well appointed, many with antiques, and complete with updated bathrooms. Thank you so much to Ike, our proprietor, for ensuring our stay was restful, suggesting excellent local dining and interesting places to see in the area.

Room Tip: We had a very comfortable stay in the Orange and Yellow rooms on the second floor. There is a windy...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay here. We really didn't care for the cities in this region, so we were very pleased that we chose this place, which is a little outside of town. We never met Jim, but Ike was wonderful and fixed lovely breakfasts.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cmk1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent a week at the Mas du Petit Grava, using it as our base for exploring Arles and Provence. Ike was a gracious, friendly host who built a fire in the sitting room in the cool evening and offered us a glass of wine. He also provided excellent guidance on getting around Provence and choosing places to visit. Ike's breakfast was a wonderful start to the day, as all of the guests gathered around the table and discussed our plans and experiences of the previous day. Although the Mas is not in any town, Ike's directions were excellent, and we found it easily. We ate dinner in the local village, enjoying the opportunity to feel the rhythm of local life. The Mas has a lovely garden with a nice swimming pool, but it was too cool for swimming when we were there. The dogs added to the fun.
Anyone who has trouble sleeping would enjoy the darkness and quiet of the Mas, where the stars are bright in the night sky. We will remember Ike and the Mas fondly.

Room Tip: The blue and green rooms are accessed by a regular staircase. The other rooms are accessed by climb...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Mas in early October for 3 nights. It was a pleasant stay just like all the positive and complimentary reviews we read on the Trip Advisor. I will not repeat all the good comments instead below are my observations about the Mas.

1) A few reviews mentioned it was difficult to find the Mas. I input "Voie de Saint-Hippolyte, 13280 Arles" to my Garmin GPS and it provided correct directions except it was arriving destination about 300 feet too soon. This address was slightly different from the address that was in Mas' website under direction;

2) We drove to Camarge after we settled in the Mas. Camarge was about 25 min drive from the mas. It closed at 5 PM. We got there right before 5 PM and couldn't get in. It was disappointing that we just missed;

3) There were 4 bedrooms on the 2nd floor. The staircase was circular and narrow. Not suitable for people who had difficulty climbing stairs. Carrying big luggage through the staircase was a challenging task. My friend and his wife stayed in the Blue room which had lower ceiling than the Yellow room;

4) You need to be skillful to use the shower handle to avoid spraying water all over the bathroom when showering. I found it easier to shower sitting in the tub then standing;

5) We had breakfast in the dinning room all 3 days due to cool temperature. Ike used different table setting each day that was a good touch. Breakfast was delicious but it served at 9. We had to go out in the morning around 7 AM to capture sun rises then came back to the Mas for breakfast. Breakfast was served late all 3 days. We understood Ike was all by himself to get the breakfast ready. The mushroom omelet on the 1st day was great. 2nd day we had bacon, and 3rd day there was hard boiled egg in addition to fruit, bread and yogurt. We had high expectations on the breakfast based on the reviews and found only the mushroom omelet met our expectations;

6) We were planning to take the Van Gogh tour with Jim but he was not there during our stay. We ended up visiting all the spots ourselves. Even with maps and directions, it was quite a task to find all the spots where Van Gogh painted his painting;

7) Ike provided good input on restaurants at different price level;

8) We love their dogs. There are two 14-weeks old puppies. One is very active and likes to jump on you and lick you.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and appreciate Ike's hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FactReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

All I can do is confirm the excellence of The Mas. You are in the Provence countryside, but very close to Arles, Avignon, Baux de Provence, St. Remy, Camarge and the Mediterranean. With a car, this is a great central location for visiting much of the Provence area. With directions from Ike, we had no problem finding the location. Ike's breakfasts were delicious and filling. The talks around the breakfast table were among the best times we had in France! For dinner, you will find a good range of places to eat in Saint Martin de Crau, about 10 minutes to the east. (grocery stores for picnic dinner, pizza places, a Vietnamese restaurant, regular restaurants, and (for the desperate) a McDonald's) We spent several nights here, so we were glad to find a convenient laundromat in Saint Martin also. Like Bonnie, we stayed in the Blue Room and were very comfortable. The bed was fine (and my wife has to have a good bed for her back). WiFi and internet worked fine. The bedrooms are up one flight of spiral stairs; not difficult and Ike was quick to help carry luggage up when we arrived, but this would be hard for anyone with great difficulty climbing stairs.
You relax and have fun here. Enjoy walking around The Mas, play with the very friendly and loving dogs, watch the stars at night, sleep well, absorb the colors and atmosphere of Southern France, and (most importantly) get to know Ike. And you still can drive easily and quickly to all you want to see in this part of Provence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
3.4 mi away
Auberge du Mas de la Feniere
6.8 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
6.8 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Mas de la Chapelle
Mas de la Chapelle
#24 of 56 in Arles
324 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
372 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Du Petit Grava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Du Petit Grava

Address: Mas du petit Gravat, 13280, Arles, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Arles
Price Range: $120 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mas Du Petit Grava Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing