We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mas de la Chapelle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel des Granges(Arles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Le Regence(Arles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Le Rhone(Arles)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
137
70
59
40
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
70
59
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning gardensmin driveold houseantiquespleasuresprovencecamargue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 338 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We also were looking forward to a couple of nights at what appeared online to be a very charming inn on beautiful grounds outside of Arles. It was difficult to find and the instructions on their websie were inadequate but we finally made it, thankfully while still daylight. Room was lovely and breakfast was very nice. I would agree with other posts about the state of the upkeep--definitely a bit run down and the grounds were in need of a great deal of maintenance. We were off season for outdoor pleasures but the room was the most spacious by far of any we experienced in 2 weeks in France and Spain. Can't say I would stay there again, however.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanBNoblesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were excited about our stay at Mas de la Chapelle based on their website however what we experienced was something less. We were looking for "French country charm" and found French country missing some charm. The hotel is difficult to find even with GPS. When we thought we had located the hotel we found a large steel gate with a key pad and a post-it note on it to call to have the gate opened, thank goodness we had a cell phone. Once the gate opened we were greeted by 2 large German Shepard dogs which either wanted to play or eat you us and my wife wasn't sure their intent. Once we got checked in we wondered the property which at one time was beautiful but now is overgrown and needs a lot of TLC. The chapel and reception area unfortunately smelled of wet dogs since those 2 pesky Sheppards would jump in the ponds and then had the run of the first floor of the hotel. The room was large and very acceptable.
This hotel has so much potential but is either in financial problems for miss managed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

A Historic property - a farmhouse grafted on to a very old Chapel just outside Arles. Our room was superb - huge, charming, antiques galore and lovely old pictures. Grounds were peaceful : ponds, statues, gardens. Is it being restored or running down ? .......hard to tell. Quite untidy. Breakfast is offered but no food, coffee or seemingly anything else. No written information about hotel services to be found in the room or elsewhere and no offers of anything other than a map showing the best way into Arles. The Hotel was quite hard to find as there is a large road construction project blocking the signposted route to Hotel. You need a car to survive here.

In summary: if you want the feeling of being in someone's historic and beautiful home ( complete with large docile Alsatians) without being pestered this may be for you.
But I suspect that most people would prefer a bit more service and a warmer welcome. It could have been so much better when there's potentially quite a lot going for this property.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanford47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Perhaps, happily, there were few guests left at the time of our end-of-season stay, for we felt as though we almost had this fascinating and attractive auberge to ourselves. It was as if we were transported to another world in time and space-- near Arles, yet removed from the concerns of daily life. An eclectic array of furnishings and an exuberant garden await, as does the oasis of a pool in the sun. The feeling is one of opulence and leisure, slightly quirky... Unfortunately we only booked one night. We will correct this mistake on our next visit.

francophile21

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francophile21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Nice french "mas". But the service, the breakfast and the disponibility of the people is very very poor. And the train ... too close. Unfortunate because very beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deburlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews